We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a two night mid week break in March and the sun came out for us! Harrogate is lovely and York is only a short drive away. The hotel is a very short walk from the centre and there are a lot of quality shops for a good retail experience.

The hotel is a nice 19th century building kept spotlessly clean and with good parking. The service is very good with the right balance of professional friendliness. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was excellent. The chef is talented and created a very interesting menu, cooked to perfection. The scallops and prawns were particularly good and the puddings - suspend the diet!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your grest feedback, chef appreciates the name check!

Hope to see you back in Harrogate soon.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    583
    385
    182
    121
See reviews for
197
899
37
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Imposing building on elevated site close to town centre.
A step back in time but a good one,it is an old building that has retained it character,you expect Poirot to round the next corner.
Long coridors, slow old lift,floors sloping right and left,all adds to its charm.
But everything immaculate
Room was very large with a beautiful modern ensuite.
Bed exceptionally comfortable.
Imposing Dining Room for breakfast which offered a good Full English.
Car parking free
If you expect your hotel to be modern,minimalist with a cheap self service breakfast..you better stay in a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Walkerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thanks for the feedback and really pleased you enjoyed your break. David Suchet did stay with us earlier this year, unfortunately Poirot is no more but who knows next time you might meet the real thing!!

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just back from our annual visit to the Old Swan. We love this place, being a tradiitonal Harrogate hotel with big ceilings and lots of space. Excellent room with separate lounge - worth the small extra. Wonderul huge dining room with excellent food and very helpful and pleasant staff. Great value too using the winter half board package offer. And this year we were treated to Afternoon Tea by our daughter. A bit light on the sandwiches but lots of superb cakes - the Belgian chocolate meringues were "to die for!" A well run place and very welcoming. We'll be back - maybe before next year!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive Room. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review - shame its only once a year!

Happy to make a few more sandwiches on request!

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

a lot of hotels try to do things right but fail,
we booked afternoon tea it was perfect the table was set with cloths, napkins and silver cutlery
and the food was served on a traditional tea tower.
The evening meal was booked in the restaurant again it was a lovely setting.
the three course meal was excellent
Breakfast was really good as well. The last time we stayed at the old swan it was all buffet,
it is now table served. over all good food served right!
staff very good
The bed room was perfect. room 353
thank you to all the staff a lovely night stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zakwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear reviewer,

So do we!...... Thank you for your constructive comments, they have given the whole team a lift!

See you soon

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just arrived home from an overnight stay at the Old Swan. Whilst the location is great (just around the corner from the town centre), I am disappointed with the hotel itself. The communal areas and rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment. The whole place is tired and a bit shabby looking.....not what I would expect from a 4star listed establishment!

We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. Whilst the evening meal was enjoyable, breakfast the following morning was really not good. None of our party managed to eat it. The rooms were all unbearably hot (radiators on full and unable to turn them down) making it an uncomfortable sleep. All in all, not a place I shall be returning to. Overpriced considering the quality provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review although I am very disappointed that it was not satisfactory.

We have just completed painting all of our corridors, meeting rooms & public areas and we continue to maintain the hotel in the best condition we can. We also have plans to introduce new bed sets and refurbish our heating system.

I sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your stay and hope that in time you may give us another chance to redeem ourselves, please contact me directly if you should change your mind.

Kind regards

David Ritson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have just returned home after what has been one of the best breaks we have enjoyed for a long time.
When we arrived we were greeted by well trained very friendly staff.
Our room was on the second floor and was very quiet as we had requested,we were given a very large double with a king bed & superb bathroom.
Although there was a wedding yesterday and a chess tournament, we were not at all disturbed as everything was dealt with so smoothly.
The food in the dining room was superb as was the afternoon tea (all home made) by their 1st class chef.
The staff in all areas was extremely well trained & friendly.
We will certainly re-visit.

Room Tip: We were in room 246 on the second floor, we looked onto the garden at the back so we had no traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your helpful review, glad you enjoyed your visit to Harrogate and we look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Here is a hotel which has great potential with it's links to Agatha Christie and with a 4* rating from the AA. I get why it has this rating but really for me it just misses out on being well worth the rating. I can only say that I'm glad I didn't pay the hotel rate but got the room at half price, I would have been quite disappointed otherwise! The first room we were shown was not very nice but the hotel had no issue with moving us and offered a choice of bedrooms and arranged for our cases etc to be moved to the new room. And whilst this was a better room in our view it was still rather tired in the decor of the main room and not too clean (dust on light fittings, bits on carpet/didn't look as though the furniture had been moved to clean around in some time), the bathroom was nicely decorated and very clean (always a must in my book) although there were a couple of quirky things such as a toilet seat askew. The service from staff whilst generally pleasant could be a bit hit and miss on information for example at breakfast on our first morning, having never stayed in this hotel before, we were greeted by a young man in an ill-fitting suit who barely managed to take us to a table before heading back. He did not bother to explain what would happen with regard to getting/being served as it is a combination in this hotel - tea/coffee, toast and cooked breakfast are taken by order and served by the waiting staff. The cold items are in the centre of the room and are self-service. The waiting staff in the restaurant (I had only breakfast there) were very good, pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. I'm glad I have stayed here but would be very unlikely ever to stay again there are just too many more hotels with much better standard. I so wanted to love this hotel but it left wondering why it didn't hit the heights I anticipated. It is a large building with 130+ rooms over three floors in quirky layout of corridors and I'm sure it takes a lot to maintain but come on surely it would be worth really getting it up to the excellent standards of decor, cleaning and service which would truly underpin the current rating and perhaps even head it upwards. At the moment I would certainly not recommend to others, I could see that many would have a pleasant stay here as indeed I did but remain somehow disappointed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tauri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your comments and I apolgise that you were disappointed.

I have been trying to investigate your comments but with limited informstion I am unable to complete this, please get in touch with me at the hotel in order that we can resolve this matter.

Kind regards

David Ritson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,767 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing