We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Notts
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Secret Escapes deal and were very impressed with the Afternoon Tea and Evening Dinner. Our room was a little disappointing on the house keeping front with a bit more than one day of dust on lamp bases and light shades and the carpet had bits on it. The bed linen was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom so I was prepared to overlook the dust. Breakfast order was taken but wasnt correct when it arrived so we just left what we didn't want. All staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is very quaint. Despite there being a wedding taking place we still felt well looked after. All in all a lovely stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NottsHappygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that despite some issues you were able to enjoy your stay.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    573
    366
    175
    115
See reviews for
190
871
36
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A weekend break in Harrogate was enjoyed by myself and wife prior to our golden wedding. The Old Swan Hotel was a very good choice. The room was a classic double and was excellent, very well presented and clean on arrival. The staff were very friendly. We ate out in the town and returned with a bottle of wine to enjoy while we caught up on the days papers and our books. Breakfast was very good and once again the staff were great. Would not hesitate on staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for sharing your comments and congratulations on your golden wedding anniversary! V impressive...

Glad you enjoyed your visit to Harrogate.

Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here on a Secret Escapes two night break last week. First impressions were of old world charm and elegance, with excellent car parking room considering the city centre location. The staff throughout were friendly, helpful and professional. We got off to a good start with afternoon tea being off a delightfully high standard with a tiered platter full of tasty goodies. (We would recommend hotel guests partake of this delight even if it is not part of one's package). Dinner and breakfast were served in a most impressive restaurant with a glass ceiling and the food and service were excellent. A slight criticism from my wife was the lack of chicken from anywhere in the varied menus on both evenings. (Our allotted menu allowance had only fish and beef as the main course). This said the fish and beef meals selected were delicious.
The Agatha Christie connection was intriguing, but one felt that the hotel could have made more of this obvious attraction (for instance, what room did the famous lady occupy?)
Other reviewers have alluded to the hotel being shabby in parts, but this does not take away from the enjoyment and character of the Old Swan. Our own room (141) was spacious and clean, with plenty of hot water for bathing etc.
Harrogate is a delightful city with superb shops and amenities and the Old Swan is ideally place to take advantage of these without the need to use one's car. We will definately go back and are planning a pre Xmas shopping expedition already.
Well done all at the Old Swan...

Room Tip: Room 141 on the first floor was quiet, but worth the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip.

Unfortunately due to a bomb dropping on the house where our archives were kept we do not know which room precisely Agatha stayed in although we do have our suspicions! Intriguing, eh?!

Thanks again

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights on the Secret Escapes deal which was excellent value. The added bonus of afternoon tea being included was total indulgence. However, the weekend was made by the friendly, very helpful and efficient staff, good food both at dinner and breakfast, good housekeeping, (because for being such a large and old hotel, the place was very clean), fresh, crisp, linen on both tables and beds, and large elegant displays of flowers around the hotel. It was such a relaxing weekend, the hotel remained calm and serene even though there was a wedding being held within the hotel. Staff were attentive and friendly throughout the weekend. Being so close to the amenities of the town was great, no need to use the car! There was plenty to do within the town without having to go any further. Large areas of gardens with beautiful flowers that were ablaze with colour, interesting shops, museums, lots of eating places and theatre too. Harrogate is an excellent choice for a weekend break or to be used as a base for venturing further with Yorkshire and so too is The Old Swan. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandALeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your informative view and I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Harrogate.

Hopefully you will be returning soon!

Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a delightful hotel which has all the classic wow factors that you hope for in a period hotel. It is perfect for exploring central Harrogate and walking distance to the Convention Centre. There is ample parking available. It has a timeless elegance which is first noticeable on arrival and in the Cocktail Bar and Restaurant. There are a few "snags" that just prevents a higher rating but nothing worthy of a mention.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobA161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your kind comments and apologies for the 'snags'. Thank you for not declaring them in your review and I trust they were resolved to your satisfaction? Please get in touch with me at the hotel if not.

Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We also went on the £99 deal to the Old Swan. 3 course, dinner, bed, breakfast & afternoon tea for TWO people included. How anybody can complain about anything is beyond my comprehension!! The hotel is gorgeous, the staff brilliant and the food nice. Our room was fairly small but clean and comfortable - great shower. I would not hesitate to stay here again. This is my 3rd stay in Harrogate & by far the best hotel yet. 5 mins walk into the heart of the town centre. Yes there is a bit of a hill, but this hotel was here long before all those modern town centre shops so give it a break please. I will always remember the enormous bouquet of fresh Lillie's by reception. So gorgeous I thought they were plastic except for the perfume. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank goldenlionCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your kind comments, I couldn't have said it better myself!!

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
269 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Friday via Secret Escapes- I had been concerned as I'd read to previous reviews though I nededn't have been.
This fabulous hotel is located within minutes of Harrogate town centre.
There is ample parking available also. Entrance into the hotel is via an old Victorian revolving door.
Check in was swift and the receptionist was very smiley.
As part of our deal we had afternoon tea but as we arrived a minute after 5pm we were too late to take it- we were offered the opportunity for the following day at 1pm but we had other commitments. I did feel it would have been better if we had been given a voucher for the afternoon tea to use on a different occasion but this was not an option and we were told we'd have to lose it. ( a bit frustrating when we had bought it in our package and if timescales were mentioned for the tea it must have been in the small print)
The hotel has a fabulous old lift that runs through the centre of the hotel in a wrought iron cage and was great to see.
Our room was on the 1st floor- long corridors veering off in different directions-,I do feel the whole look would be improved by new fire doors as the exsisting ones do give an old hospital feel to the place.
We didn't have much of a view out of our room but not every room can but the room was spacious with mahogany furniture and rich bedding- very nice- the bed we would discover was very comfortable and the bathroom was great with a lovely powerful shower with piping hot water.
Dinner was served in a grand hall with a glass roof. The food was delicious - I had duck terrine with pickled veg- followed by chicken in cream sauce with dauphinois potatoes- yummy- have to mention the cheese board- brought to you on a big silver domed trolley with various cheeses chutney biscuits fruit to choose from! Fabulous.
Service was attentive polite and efficient- no complaints at all!
Breakfast in the morning was delicious too.
This hotel certainly has a lot to offer and I would be happy to come again- I couldn't really imagine anyone not enjoying the overall experience this hotel has to give.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lou Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your constructive comments and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing