We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was booked as a surprise birthday gift and we were truly disappointed with room. It was small and very dark, it was at the back of the hotel and you certainly felt that way as you walked thru the corridors and doors to get there. The view was of an old very dirty tin roof with holes in it, with chip cartons and looked very much like a dirty nappy bag on it. The noise thru the night was horrendous with what sounded like a generator running for hours and wheelie bins being banged around, this started again at about 6am with addition of people talking/sneezing, when we complained upon check out we were told our room (no 149) was above the kitchen!!! They were apologetic but could not offer any kind of recompense as we had booked and paid for thru an agent!
I had requested a garden view and obviously you know that requests cannot always be catered for but you couldn't have got any further away from a view!!
On the plus side it was very clean and the hotel is in a very good location for the town centre ,breakfast was excellent with excellent service and the hotel has much grandeur about it. Would we stay here again..... not sure, value for money......no!
ps: Tea/coffee facility are bit on the sparing side........

Room Tip: Don't stay in 149 and would think 150,151 will be much the same as they on the same little bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0nnielad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear reviewer, thank you for your comments and apologies that your stay was not entirely satisfactory.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just had a two night stay with Guardian Escapes....included Breakfasts, Evening meals and One Afternoon tea......all excellent with no complaints. All the staff were friendly, helpful and polite. Our room was smallish but very clean with a good ensuite shower etc. The bed was only normal double size but comfortable, pillows were a little hard for me but fine for my wife. Wifi was chargeable which is a bit much for the 21st century....TV was good with a quality picture and plenty of channel choice. Tea and coffee making gear all present and was used with no issues. Oddly there was trouser press....do people still use these things?.....the hotel itself is a charming period piece, full of nostalgia for a bygone era.....quite a change from some bland modern building. Location for the centre of Harrogate is excellent with only a short walk into town and the superb Valley Gardens which shouldn't be missed.
Overall then pretty good and it gets my recommendation.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Valves4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear reviwer

Thank you for your review and for highlighting that everyone is different - lots of our guests love a pair of freshly pressed trousers!

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel is not the most modern,it's the history of the hotel that makes it cosy and charming,myself&wife had a wonderful stay here it is warm cosy and friendly the staff were great always smiling,it was our first visit to Harrogate we will be going back &twill be going back to to the old swan so thank-you old swan and Harrogate for a great stay...

Room Tip: Front rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jowhit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Harrogate!

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My son and I had two great nights at the old swan.
The clue is in the name.
Yes the hotel is old, but very well preserved.
The bedrooms were very clean and had been nicely furnished
The staff were most helpful, and although the kitchen staff didn't seem to be in tune with the waiting staff and so we gad to wait a while.
It didn't detract from a lovely stay.
I will defiantly return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Siggyclarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your review and I agree - she is!

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Although we'd booked months ago at a higher rate, we found the hotel had improved its offer and included an afternoon tea to boot, without asking, they changed our booking without any prompting. We found the hotel and staff to be both friendly and comfy. Everything was to our satisfaction. The afternoon tea was terrific and superb value even if you had to pay full price compared to other establishments. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the town centre, ideally located,close enough to the town but far enough away from any noise. We would definitely consider staying here again if visiting the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a town view, no intrusive noise was heard with the windows ajar even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear reviewer

Thanks for your positive review, glad you enjoyed your break and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Was attending a conference at Harrogate International Centre and this hotel was very convenient. Check In was efficient and fast but a smile would not have gone amiss. The single room was a good size and well equipped with particularly efficient castors on the bed which moved every time it was brushed against meaning that the bed had to be put back in place often. The bathroom was clean with a full size bath and an amazing shower, but quite small with the gap between the bath and wall narrowing to about 18 inches at one point. The hotel advertises tea and coffee in each room. The facilities were there-kettle, teapot, cup, saucer and spoon, but alas not tea or coffee. I left a note for housekeeping requesting tea and coffee but unfortunately none was forthcoming. There is a wide selection of food for breakfast and the waiting staff are efficient and food is delivered quickly. According to the website the rooms have been re-furbishes and indeed the room I was allocated was very pleasant, but the public corridors upstairs still need a little attention. Did not use the hotel for dinner so am unable to comment. Would probably stay here again to give it another try.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Pukeko54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I apologise for the issue with the tea & coffee service which I have noted.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is the perfect place if you want to catch a feel for a time long past. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the shower worked really well. All the main bases covered in other words. it was disappointing that you have to pay extra for Internet access though. In my view, no hotel with respect for their customers should charge extra for that in 2014. Breakfast was however included and was ok. You have to order your hot dishes and can help yourself to breakfast cereals, fruit and juice. In other words simple, nothing fancy, but ok.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kropell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear reviewer

Thank you for your recommendation - we understand your view regarding cost of WiFi and are currently investigating our options.

Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.8 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,384 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £78 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing