We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm, quirky and nice to stay in but overpriced”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old charm, quirky and nice to stay in but overpriced”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for one night which was fine as we were just attending a function so didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. We checked in fine, and were given the 'Agatha' room as we had asked and paid for an executive room which included 2 small bottles of water, robes, slippers and a tiny box of 6 chocolates on the bed for the cost of £138.

The room was nice and very spacious, large walk in wardrobe and reasonable size tv that you could still see from the bed. Large bathroom with over bath shower.

There were a few things not quite right - the bin in the bathroom had not been emptied from the previous guest, the lamp on one of the bedsides didn't work. In the morning, there was a lot of noise outside the window, which turned out to be the luggage and delivery bay. A large coach sat with its engine running for about 15 minutes which meant we couldnt hear the TV at all until it finally filled up with people and left. They said that the executive room faced outwards, but ours just faced the tail end of the overflow carpark and the loading bay which was not a nice view at all. The fact that we had the 'agatha' room was quite nice but again, not worth the price given the noise and lack of pleasant view.

When we went for breakfast at 9.45 (finished at 10.30) we got given very lukewarm chewy sausages and bacon that could have soled a shoe. My poached egg came with a scoop of water which then soaked into my fried bread, rendering it white and soggy underneath. The egg itself was the best part of the breakfast. I am sure that if we had gone for breakfast at 8.30 it would have been absolutely fine.

The staff at the hotel were lovely and helpful and could not be faulted. I would recommend this hotel but wouldnt go for an executive room again as the price difference really not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BattyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    579
    375
    178
    116
See reviews for
193
882
37
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 5 & our table for afternoon tea was ready. We had sandwiches, scones, cakes & Jelly Pimms - very nice. As the hotel was a 5 min walk in to Harrogate, we ventured into town to walk our tea off. Both evening meal & breakfast were also part of our 1 night stay offer of a twin room £129- they were delicious. Staff were polite & attentive. I have no complaints- it was a lovely night stay. Rooms were clean,spacious & there was a box of chocolates as a welcome gift.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A beautiful building from the outside in a great location. However, the room that we stayed in was dark and in need of updating. There were cobwebs in the bathroom and the window sills were filthy. Afternoon tea was good although the service was poor. The restaurant was quite grubby, the chairs were dirty as were the glasses on the table. Reception staff tried to charge me £15 for extras that I had not had on departure. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Sandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here recently with my family and work colleagues/friends, the first thing you notice is that it is such a fantastic building in a cracking location in the middle of town. The service on reception throughout the stay was prompt and extremely friendly and they were always happy to help. Service at breakfast varied wildly from prompt to intolerably slow, although the actual quality of the food was spot on. The same speed of service was notable in the bar and the restaurant, but once again, the friendliness of the staff was faultless and the food was excellent. The room itself was clean and equipped with the ameneties you would expect, but the bathroom was in need of some serious TLC to remove the significant amount of mould and mildew on the tiles and grouting. The toilet(s) on the floor above made horrific noises varying from that of a diesel engine, to a long drawn out groan, which was obviously appreciated by two small children at 2am!!!! The bed was comfortable enough, but the pillows were wafer thin and there were no extra ones in the wardrobe as you would normally expect. The quality of the food and friendliness of staff would normally have gained this hotel a 4 rating, but the speed of service combined with the quality of sleep and finishing touches to the room have dropped my rating to a 3.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pesky_Peche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend in August. Hotel is in a prime location just outside the main part of town so very peaceful but only a 5 minute walk into the main part of town. Hotel is lovely slightly dated but suits it well, room was quite big and lovely and overall couldn't fault the hotel. Breakfast each morning was great and staff very prompt and courteous! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have just returned from a 2 night dinner bed and breakfast with afternoon tea midweek break. The room was a little shabby in places but it had everything you needed, good hairdryer big wardrobe, bed, chair, large tv, coffee and tea with real milk and biscuits in the room. The bathroom was small but modern and the rain shower was excellent. Afternoon tea was beautiful, the sandwiches were fresh and delicious , as were the scones and cakes. The evening meal had good choice from the menu and all three courses were excellent . Breakfast each morning was also delicious with a choice of fruits and cereals etc. A selection of toast was offered and the full yorkshire breakfast was very good. Lastly the location is excellent , you can walk down the road into the town centre within minutes. The hotel is a little shabby in places but they were decorating parts while we were there and honestly it didnt bother us as it is a beautiful old building and there are some beautiful rooms and features. I would thoroughly recommend staying and also recommend the dinner bed and breakfast deals they are excellent value

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j2ules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We attended a family wedding here and had a great time. The check in process was quick and painless and when we arrived in our room we were suitably impressed. We paid £140 for a superior double and £110 for a twin if my memory is correct. I saw this as fair value for this type of hotel and location. The hotel was beautiful and well appointed and a lovely wedding venue. The food during the reception was nice and served hot to our table (this is not always the case in my experience). Now the gripes. The bar was very expensive, this is to be expected to a certain extent, however I believe it went over the acceptable limit. The waitresses handing out canapés during the early evening seemed bored and inattentive, on more than one occasion I saw them leave with half full plates rather than make another round of the guests. The breakfast was all a bit "Butlin's" for our tastes, the room being enormous and needing the benefit of something to break the eyeline and give the impression of a bit more intimacy. The self service containers had heavy metal roll back lids that constantly escaped the control of diners making a terrible gonging sound, which echoed around the dining area.

I would be more than happy to return here and maybe see a little of Harrogate in the future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing