We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding!”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We got married at the Swan in June 2014. What can I say from the moment that I booked our wedding up until the day we got married everything was great. Any problems we had on the lead up to the wedding were resolved quickly and efficiently.

Both Helen and Jessica did an amazing job helping with the planning! I would like to thank Helen who helped us make our decision on choosing The Swan for our wedding venue!

The day for perfect! There wasn't any issues, everything went smoothly, Paul who ran the wedding was great, from helping me unpack my car to helping with my nerves! (we even got sunshine)

The food was faultless, I haven't had one compliant about the day and great it was!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone deciding on a wedding venue!

Will miss going to The Swan. Can not fault anything!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Holidaylover084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a wonderful time and everyone commented on how well the hotel and staff catered and delivered excellent service to everyone during the day.

Excellent food, service and support from start to finish.

Highly recomended

Room Tip: Try to aoid higher levels and those at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Rates were doubled during the Tour de France and while the professional staff were outstanding, the room and bed were poor. The bathroom was nicely updated, but I could not stand up straight in the shower. Great walkable location near town.

Room Tip: Choose room near the center for best egress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lmb237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here Sunday night after the Tour de France visit had finished . The hotel , which is an old building , has a very spacious feel to the public rooms and they come across well compared to modern hotels .
We received a warm , friendly welcome from reception and were quickly issued with out pass cards .
We had a room at the back overlooking nearby gardens and it was clean , well equipped and well laid out .
We dined out so cannot comment on the restaurant at night .
The bar was busy and , to be quite honest , the lads serving tried hard but did not seem that organised .
The breakfast was excellent - its a buffet plus waiter/waitress service for the cooked part - and the cooked breakfast was hot , well presented and very tasty . The buffet table was well stocked and a careful eye was kept on it by the staff to keep it replenished .
I cannot really comment on the checkout procedure as we had paid in advance but , sitting in the area between the bar and reception , I was able to observe that no one seemed to wait very long to pay .
There are some parts of the hotel that could do with a paint job , the ceiling leaks in one part of the breakfast room and parts of the car park are more bomb site than tarmac . In addition it could do with another lift .
All in all a very pleasant stay in a hotel that is very handy for central Harrogate .

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back as its quieter ( the one side of the front overlooks an outside area u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here on numerous occasions now and can honestly say each time has been worse than the previous , the last time myself and my co worker stayed here the receptionist was nothing short of rude the rooms are definitely sub standard for the price the breakfast is really the hotels only redeeming feature and the parking is quite good, however we will definitely not be staying there again.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Houston2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear reviewer, thanks for your review although obviously I am sorry that your stay was unsatisfactory.
Please contact me on gm.oldswan@classiclodges.co.uk in order that I can understand what went wrong during your stays.
Thanks
David Ritson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Old Swan as we were attending a family wedding nearby. The building itself is grand and old and has an old fashioned, classic atmosphere (in a good way). However..... the hotel is 4 star and charges accordingly but I am afraid it just did not live up to this billing. We had a large executive room which was nice enough but only had one window so was a little dark and uninviting. There was an issue with cleanliness as we found spots of blood on our duvet, as it was late (and our 2 month old son was asleep) we didnt bother reporting to staff at the time thinking it would be resolved when the room was made up the next day as it was clearly visible, we were wrong and it was still there the next day. The hotel is OK but for the prices they charge it should be better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the middle of Sunday afternoon and the hotel was heaving with guests. The receptionist was very pleasant and efficient and the downstairs public rooms were excellent.... You could almost imagine Miss Marple sitting in the lounge or the library. The room was basic but clean with lovely duvets and a good size bed. There was plenty of space.... We had room 244 which overlooked the back so was very quiet. The bathroom needed some attention mainly due to the fact it was old and had been used frequently, nothing sinister - a court of paint would be enough. Breakfast service was a little slow and the tables were not really cleaned properly between uses but the staff were running around trying their best and the cooked breakfast was very nice and hot.....much better than a buffet! All in all a good stay, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ang1968ela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,357 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £77 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing