We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Stayed for 4 nights as part of a holiday touring North Yorkshire. This hotel is in a great location, especially if you want to explore Harrogate on foot for a day or two. The hotel isn't very fancy, I would say it is more functional and was fine as we weren't going to use it for anything more than B&B. The Wedgewood Restaurant where breakfast is served is nice, but could be much more charming if some money was spent on it. The full english breakfast was adequate but the black pudding was overcooked everyday for some reason which is a shame as according to the menu, they were using good quality produce.
We had booked an executive room and were lucky enough to get a large 4 poster room in a quiet corner which appeared to have been recently renovated. We did see the size of the standard rooms (called "classic") and they were hardly bigger than the double bed so I wouldn't haven't been very happy with that as there wouldn't even had been space for our luggage.
All in all, our stay met our purposes but can't say if I would stay here again. Maybe the great location would sell it to me.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TannadiceTerrors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    573
    366
    175
    115
See reviews for
190
871
36
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
160 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

The Old Swan is ideally situated for exploring the town of Harrogate. A couple of minutes walk fron the town, set in mature grounds with stunning views across Harrogate from the front.

Check in was efficient in a fairly grand entrance hall, staff were friendly. The route to my room on the third floor took me through some corridors with very tiered decor with a lot of ugly fire doors that could be sympathetically improved.

The room was small and dated, basic but clean. If the age of the tv was anything tho go by, it was last refreshed about 20 years ago. It definately did not live up to the claim on the banner in reception that rooms were 'contemporary and luxurious'. Bathroom was clean and modern. Through my 3 night stay the small tubes of shower gell were not refreshed - had to ask daily.

Breakfast was good - hot food was prepared in the kitchen. The dining room was beautiful, staff were friendly and happy - service was very good. Another ridiculous marketing claim though stated 'From dawn until dusk we are constantly on the search for only the best produce available'. There was no particular need to eat dinner in the hotel as there is a great choice of restaurants in the town centre.

Other public areas were ornate and well maintained. My comments to the duty managers were handled in an honest and friendly manner. They were however unable to change the tv system to show the local content.

In all, I thought the room was overpriced at £159 per night. It was refreshing that you weren't obliged to pay a pay a service charge.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alister C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

It's hard to know where to start with describing how poor this hotel was. I found it hard to believe that such lousy accommodation is still available in this day and age. The food was appalling, the staff ludicrously ill-informed (ordering room service took half an hour of them calling me/me calling them and this was just for drinks).

The room itself was reminiscent of a scene from Fawlty Towers. The bed wasn't attached to the wall/a headboard so shot across the room whenever I sat/lay down. The bathroom sink was tiny making even the simplest of ablutions a feat and even the lock on the door to the room was shoddy.

If you can get past the fact that the decor was last updated circa the 1940's and the fact that there seems to be no heating whatsoever (other than the free standing heater that was brought to my room after my having requested some form of heating twice) then you may still struggle with the shocking lack of comfort and how much they charge for the privilege.

Utter waste of money and a disgrace that they get away with such low standards.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheyenne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

HERTS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Room was good value, need to have more choice for breakfast as it wasn't cheap. Perfect location for walking to the shops, sights and restaurants and lots of parking. Room was clean but hot, bit on the small side as we had to have a cot in there as well but you could fit the whole family in the bathroom and still have loads of room.
Drinks from the bar were expensive and reception was not that helpful, as this was a b-day present to me and my husband all paid and when we checked out they argued with us as they thought it hadn't been paid and there mistake it had.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REDCAR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Nice hotel but some rooms not worth paying over £100
Plenty of car parking a bonus and easy walk to town centre
had evening meal elsewhere
Breakfast ok

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGONREDCAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazza84
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

We stayed here as it was the venue of our friend's wedding. It is absolutely beautiful and in an amazing location a very very short walk to parks, town restaurants etc! The front lawns with the blossom trees were gorgeous! We checked in, and although the receptionist was a little short, the rest of the staff were polite, friendly, helpful and funny throughout our stay! Our room was a fantastic size! We booked through late rooms and so got an executive room for cheaper than it was to book a normal room through the hotel. The bathroom was spotless and modern, the bed comfy (although it wasn't kingsize) and there was plenty of room to relax. We didn't get breakfast, this was around £13 extra, so we went to the Wetherspoons, which is literally down the road and a fraction of the price!
It you have a wedding or other function coming up at this hotel, I definitely recommend that you stay here! Book on late rooms or a similar website and the cost will significantly reduce. We were tempted to book another cheaper hotel, but are very pleased now that we didn't. Also, if you're looking for somewhere to hold your wedding then this hotel would be a fantastic option! The function rooms are clean and nicely decorated and the staff lovely. Plus, your photos would be gorgeous!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazza84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balsall Common
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

The hotel was bright,clean and welcoming. Parking was right outside the entrance and we were offered help with our bags to the room. The room was large with a double bed (might have expected a king size but not a problem). The bathroom was nice with bath and shower over. We had breakfast in the dining room which was a beautiful room and the food was fine. The only negatives with our stay was the heat in the room which we could not control, it was too hot but it was not cold outside and my wife said the pillows were too hard. Overall I would recommend this hotel as it is in a very convenient location near the centre of Harrogate.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andycarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing