We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in a nice location for a nice price”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Notts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in a nice location for a nice price”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Took a weekend break through a Travelzoo offer. The hotel standard is fine, the food was very good, the service was first class. In all, we found it all very good value and would happily repeat it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2010
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your positive review I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    579
    375
    178
    116
See reviews for
193
882
37
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

I stayed at this lovely hotel in the first weekend in January where I had booked 2 nights to celebrate my birthday. My husband informed the hotel before our arrival that it was my birthday and we were booked into a large executive suite with living room, large bedroom, large bathroom and 2 inner halls. The management also left a birthday card for me.

The hotel is lovely. It is charming, full of history and is within walking distance of all the shops, bars, restaurants and sights of Harrogate. 2 nights here was simply not long enough. We ate in the hotel and the quality of the food was superb.

We arrived on Friday and left Sunday morning. Unfortuanately when we got up on Saturday morning it was absolutely freezing. We soon found out that all the heating in the hotel wasn't working because of a small fire. We had to eat our breakfast with our coats and scarves on and spent the most of the day out of the hotel because it was simply too cold to stay inside.

The heating came back on again some time in the afternoon and it took several hours before a comfortable temperature was achieved. Because of the cold we simply could not take advantage of our executive room and I was forced to go shopping instead!

Anyway, whilst I appreciate accidents like small fires can't be anticipated the heating problem did spoil my break, particularly as Saturday was my birthday. The staff at hotel were very apologetic and helpful. We made our feelings known about the heating problem before leaving the hotel and would have been more than happy with the offer of a discounted break to return to the hotel as compensation.

I have been in touch with the hotel a couple of times since and but although the manager said they would offer us a deal we are still waiting. Despite the lovely, accomodating hotel I feel slightly let down by the poor after care service.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guiseley, UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

A quick break to celebrate my wifes birthday. Great room over looking the front gardens. Only downside room to hot overnight. Lovely old world ambiance without being to down at heel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stw1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We had a truly wonderful time at the Old swan, it's a charming hotel full of character. We loved the setting and all the period features, we could almost imagine Hercule Poirot wondering into dinner!
We arrived a little early to check in. The receptionist was so friendly and when she heard we were having a bithday break without our 4 young children she upgraded us to a beautiful suite. The room was stunning a views great. We enjoyed the champagne afternoon tea and a fabulous dinner. The staff were helpful and attentive but not in overbearing. Food was delicious and well presented. The breakfasts were stunning- so much choice. We would recomend this hotel highly, its not glizty but stately with class and a real sense of it's history

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2010
Dear reviewer

Many thanks for reviewing your stay, I was delighted to read your comments and hope you return soon for another enjoyable break.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

a lovely clean, bright hotel. Friendly staff, lovely room, lovely food. Had a wonderful stay, the only complaint i would be able to have is that their was absolutely no view out of the window and it looked out onto what looked like the cooling vents or something, there was absolutely no view at all ,which was a real shame, as it was the executive suite and would have expected more from it. would definitely stay again though.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelseypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2010
Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit, sorry that your room did not meet expectation but I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

The Old Swan is a lovely large building, characterful and grand. Lovely atmosphere throughout.
Rosie on reception, is a real asset to the hotel and went beyond the call of duty to make our stay happy, comfortable and memorable.
We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and my fiance was very pleased with his meal. However, my steak was not warm enough, even for the garlic butter it came with to melt on! A suggestion to the hotel would be to turn up the volume of the soft background music, particularly when the very large restaurant is not full, to improve the ambiance of the room. Gerenally, restaurant staff were very good, but a young girl who served the breads was constantly giggling at a private joke with a colleague, and also rather unfriendly.
All of the staff we encountered apart from this were extremely helpful and friendly.
Spent an evening relaxing in front of a lovely open fire in the bar, very relaxing and cosy.
Hotel is well situated for the town centre.
Room service was prompt and efficient.
Our suite was very warm, a little too much for me so I kept 1 window open through the night.
We booked our room at the last minute and when we arrived, a friend had called the hotel to advise that it was a 'big' bitrthday for me. As a result, they had upgraded us to the best suite in the hotel! We were delighted - how generous! A large dining room, large living room, large bedroom and large bathroom all connected by a very large hall - delightful. All rooms very clean and well presented. Another lovely touch was a card from the hotel wishing me a happy birthday. All of this really made the trip special. Courtesy bathrobes and slippers and a really wonderful powerful shower.
Can't wait to go back :) A big thank you to the Old Swan :)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pebblegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2010
Dear reviewer

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I was disappointed to hear that your stay was not entirely satisfactory, I have noted your comments and will ensure we use them to improve the quality of our hospitality.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Stayed one night on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. Our room was lovely, food at dinner and breakfast very good. A nice comfortable hotel, nicely refurbished within easy distance of the centre of Harrogate. Good free parking which was a bonus.

Staff all very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRGM, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2010
Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
593 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing