We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St George Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An enjoyable weekend!”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We booked through Shearings on a self drive weekend. What good value for money!! The room was adequate although the TV reception was terrible. The Wi Fi which was advertised throughout the Hotel was not available, when we enquired we were told you got only recieve in certain areas. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive. We were totally blocked in on the carpark and could not use the car on the friday evening, not too pleased about that! The next day we blocked two cars in and went to reception to tell them we were available at any time to move the car, they insisted that we take it from the car park! There was a vehicle already on there blocking at least 6 other cars with no intention of moving. But did enjoy our stay and will return but maybe on a coach next time as they are even better value for money!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary and Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thanks for your review Shearings do certainly offer some fantastic value breaks to wonderful locations around the UK. I'm sorry you had problems with the TV and WIFI connections, the TV's are all due to be replaced very soon and unfortunately the WIFI is occasionally intermittent in certain areas of the hotel. We do have limited space in the car park, my reception team will happily direct guests to alternative free parking on the surrounding roads or there is parking at the local NCP which is just a few minutes walk away but is chargeable. Shearings Coach holidays certainly solve any parking issues that we may have at the hotel and are also extremely good value.

Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    356
    236
    153
    121
See reviews for
148
494
63
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

advertised as having on site parking but arrived to find car park full and had to park on the street. reception area looked lovely but the corridors to rooms in a very poor state of decor. room was smallest double ever been in, and cold when arrived. went for a nice warm shower to find after a minute there was no hot water at all and had to wash hair in cold water in sink. Next morning there was still no hot water. breakfast limited, only english, no continental, and the juice was out in jugs on a table all morning unchilled. Queried a refund on checking out in view of the lack of hot water, but the girl there couldn't do it and took my contact details. 6 days later still waiting for a call from head office or a manager having now called them twice since I left the hotel. Would never go again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
I'm concerned to read your review and sorry that your experience means you won't visit us again. I can assure you and any other trip advisor readers that should anyone experience such problems with their room, hot water or breakfast, my management team will be able to resolve most issues if they are made aware at the time, I'm sure that you can appreciate we cannot rectify these comments since you have checked out of the hotel. With regards to the breakfast, every morning we offer a buffet style full English, buffet style continental items such as cold meats, cheeses, variety of cereal , yogurts, fruit, toast, pastries and juices (which are in large jugs with a chilled ice column in the centre of the jug).

Kind Regards
Edwina Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We booked hotel via shearrings 4 day weekend break. After along trip via coach the staff could not have been more helpful on arrival. Bags were taken to our room by staff promptly. Reception staff very helpful and kind throughtout our stay.

Room quality very clean good decor but the bathroom very cold and we could not get our towel rail to work. Bathroom needs updating interestingly no photos of bathrooms availble on internet I now understand why. Due to disabillity I need a warm shower everyday to get moving so this was a real disapointment. Our room 109 was on first floor and faced the very busy road which is the main road to join M1 north from Harrogate due to the one way system so the road busy right through the night.

We new this may be the case and for the price we paid for the four day break did not complain. As we didnot want anything to spoil are well earned weekend away.

What I was not prepared for was noise from residents standing outside the front of the hotel day and night smoking and chatting! Which kept us awake most of friday night. It really gives a negative image to the hotel and the noise is not far on other guests trying to sleep.

On a possitive note each morning we booked our evening meal time to suit. The staff in the restaurant were very polite and helpful in particulary the restaurant manager who worked really hard to make sure all guests where happy and there needs met. The food was the best part of the stay each evening we had various courses on the fixed menu. They also provided different choices for a additional fee. The food was excellent quality and really enjoyable. Breakfast was typically English self service. But plenty for everyones taste. Shearings guests didnot have to sit together and we had our own table each night.

The swimming pool had to be reached by a flight of stars and is smaller than the photos portray, some treatments only availble on specific days of the week. Also open to non residents. But it was warm and enjoyable.

The hotels central location is ideal for Harrogate opposite is the tourist centre office and baths. It faces the Royal Hall, Internation Centre. ideal for concerts and shows. The booking office is now based in centre of Harrogate at the Harrogate theatre. We specifically combined our stay with a show which made our weekend very special. We managed to see Alfie Boe in concert and a big thanks to staff and the theatre box office for help with this. Near by is the Harrogate avenue walk to RHS Harlow Carr which was a real treat.

The hotel could be excellent and with a little effort could be sorted out by staff and management which is why it is a real shame. I know they are working hard to resolve these issues and updating rooms decor.

We will be back in Harogate at Easter if I book the St George Hotel again I will upgrade my room and request one at back or far side to reduce the noise levels.

It is excellent value for money as we travelled and booked via Shearings which included a trip to York. Booking hotel directly it seems is more expensive.

So on the whole (very good) shame as could be excellent!

Room Tip: Request room on upper floors at side or back. Not facing main road. Upgrade room for more comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Harrogate, Shearings Coach Holidays really do offer excellent value for money. As you pointed out the rooms at the front of the hotel do experience some road traffic noise, as the front bedrooms overlook the main A61 which is the main road that runs between Leeds and Ripon. We are still working on improving areas of the hotel and this does include the bathrooms, if you do stay with us again at Easter you may be interested in upgrading to one of our Premier or Superior rooms which have brand new bathroom suites. Your kind comments regarding the restaurant and standard of food are wonderful to read and will be passed on to my staff. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind Regards
Edwina

Regards
Edwina Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a couple of nights here while attending the flower show. The car park was far to small for the size of the hotel and the day we were leaving I was blocked in as the hotel was having some sort of indoor car boot so the cramped car park was a nightmare. The bar area was quite nice but the room we had, especially the bathroom was very tired and in need of updating. Unfortunately if we attend the Flower show again we will choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmlmlmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Interestingly I'm not aware of any indoor car boot's that we have had at the hotel?. The car parking is limited and free of charge to guests on a first come first serve basis. As I have commented in other reviews we are still working on improving areas of the hotel and this does include our bathrooms.

Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This hotel has its own small car park which is useful. The bar area looked spacious and recently renovated, but we never used it as only there a short time. Receptionists polite, helpful & efficient. The room itself was spacious but the traffic was noisy, the TV signal was grainy and the bathroom was clean but very dated. The bathroom fan was also very squeaky and noisy and we were woken by next door's fan at which sounded like a car cam belt.

Good central location but wouldn't bother going for a romantic break.

Oh and we missed breakfast as it ended at 9:00am (but, to be fair, it did say this in the information leaflet) but 9 seems a little early.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's not next to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us, I would be interested to know which room you stayed in and if you reported the fan noise to reception as this is something that can easily be rectified when we are informed. The TV's are all due to be replaced very soon. Our breakfast is served at a time to suit guests needs and during the week most guests are up and out by 9am! on a weekend however we do serve breakfast until 10am giving that extra time to relax.

Kind Regards
Edwina Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is the third year we have visited the St George Hotel at Harrogate, in January. As you will now anticipate we really enjoy our visits there!
Yes, certain areas of the hotel are in need of some tlc but we feel the refurbishment already carried out in the public areas is excellent.
The BEST part of this hotel is the food, absolutely first class. Lots of imaginative dishes which are beautifully presented and served by the most helpful and polite staff.
The staff in all areas of the hotel were polite and very well trained to help their guests.
We will be going back again next year. By the way Harrogate is a beautiful town.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the Royal Hall and the Baths are south facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Wonderful! thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review, I really look forward to welcoming you back. I will make sure the chef and the rest of the hotel team are aware of your comments. Please feel free to give us a call directly at the hotel if you have any preferences regarding your next booking.

Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We've just had a weekend at the St. George Hotel. The food was good and our rooms were clean. The pianist on Saturday night in the entrance areal was a nice touch.

However, we had been to the St George when it was a Swallow Hotel and we were a little disappointed. The furnishings in the entrance had obviously recently been replaced but the huge orange lights were horrible and did not go with the furnishings. It was a cold weekend and with people in/out it was very cold to sit in the area near the door - nothing to stop any drafts blowing in.

Our room was adequate but was in need of redecorating but the bedding was lovely and clean. The beds were very soft (not good when you have a bad back).

We have been in other Coast and Country Hotels and the St George did not really come up to scratch. The staff were not particularly helpful and the young lady on reception when we arrived appeared to have a problem understanding us.

Room Tip: We had a view over the car park and there appeared to be air condition (or similar) which started up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENNYScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
I'm sorry that the refurbishment of the lounge and the lighting in this area is not to your taste, the designers worked hard to keep the hotel features traditional whilst implementing a contemporary edge. During the recent cold spell we have put additional heating in the lounge and bar area as they are so spacious and can become chilly.
My staff work tirelessly to help guests and ensure they enjoy their stay with us, I have one receptionist within my team who does not speak English as her first language however I can assure you she has a great understanding. A visit to Harrogate in the Summer is a totally different experience, perhaps you may wish to take advantage of one of Shearings many fantastic deals and visit us again.

Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Property: The St George Hotel
Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing