We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St George Harrogate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A lovely building with friendly ,welcoming staff .Spa and swiming pool ,although small was clean and tidy.A little treat to relax in.I had 2 rooms.Single and twin ,both were lovely and clean with iron and board.The twin was a large room with views over the garden and squirrels .The single had a coloured bath suite which made a change from white .I had window open all night with no problem with noise .Staff were very helpful with information on market days ,directions and bus routes to other villages .The menu was varied every night and the food was lovely.Waiters were polite with humour .I reserved a space in the carpark which was well laid out for easy parking. We stayed 4 nights and would stay here again .Ideally placed for shops etc for the 2 elderly ladies walking.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delta1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

It is lovely to read such an honest and positive review, thank you. I am glad you found some time to relax in our lovely spa during your stay. I will pass your kind comments on to the whole team and the kitchen in particular. I am pleased to hear that you didn't suffer any noise problems despite sleeping with your windows open! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked a low-cost dinner bed and breakfast break and were very surprised at the high quality of the accommodation (room 228 overlooking the front), the variety and quality of the meals. Choice from four starters, five mains and five deserts were on offer. No repeats on any of the five nights plus additional options at minimal extra cost.The staff were very very helpful in every way and are to be commended. The leisure facilities were fully operational, clean and operated by knowledgable staff. We enjoyed our four night mid-week break so much that we extended over Friday night as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the opportunity to spend an extra night. It was a pleasure chatting with you on Wednesday evening after dinner. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Hotel staff were excellent, food also very good, BUT the hotel is in need of a great deal of refurbishment, especially the bedrooms. Our bathroom had mould. We asked for a "quiet room" as had read previous Trip Advisor reviews which said front bedrooms were noisey as there was a nightclub opposite the hotel. We had a room at the back but couldn't have our window open as all we could here all night was the "humming" of the air conditioning system outside our room. Also or room (224) overlooked other rooms which meant we had to keep our curtains shut for privacy. The pool and gym however was an added bonus and much appreciated after a long days walking. To summarise, the St. George hotel was really well located for sightseeing, the staff were excellent, food good: such a pity about the mouldy bathroom and dismal bedroom. Booking a daily car parking spot was the best thing we could have done. Harrogate is lovely and a good base for exploring. Don't forget to have tea at Betty's just up the road from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a quite room as hotel is on a very busy road and front bedrooms would be very noisey. Pack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I apologise for any problems you encountered in your bathroom with mould, the recent damp weather has not helped matters for us as the building is very old in parts. I am pleased to read that you found the staff excellent and the food very good. The hotel does indeed have an envious location in the centre of town which is why some guests suffer with noise, I am sorry the boiler unit bothered you at the back of the hotel however it does switch of in the late evening until morning.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

What can i say, other than a very big Thankyou! We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, The receptionist was lovely & very helpful.The barman was polite & very respectful.The staff member in the gym was called Jack, He was extremely polite & very helpful.Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious! Staff once again very helpful & polite
.We had our two teenage sons with us & we all said we would love to come again. Result!
Thankyou

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Your review is an absolute pleasure to read! I look forward to passing your kind comments and praise on to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just returned from weekend at this hotel was all that we expected good food friendly staff clean rooms although they could do with a coat of paint but on the whole really good. Emma on reception was very helpful smiley and efficient,all the staff were friendly nothing too much trouble, would reccomend to anyone Harrogate is very nice great parks shops pubs end restaurants.

Room Tip: High floor a syou get better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djvccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review of your stay with us. We are continually updating bedrooms and redecorating as required and I apologise if your room needed a touch up in some areas. I am pleased that the staff were so helpful and efficient, Emma is an asset to our reception team and was overjoyed to be mentioned by name. Harrogate is indeed a beautiful town and after three years I still feel lucky to be able to live in such a nice place.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

i recently stayed at this hotel the noise from the disco on saturday 16th june was awful went on to nearly 1 o clock the bedroom was shabby the bathroom in need of refurbishment i was booked in for 7 nights and left after 4 nights

Room Tip: stay at the old swan hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank malcolm g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

I am sorry to read that you were troubled by noise from the Viper Lounge across the gardens. We are still in discussions with the local licensing authority and police with regard to this and some measures have been put in place to reduce any noise suffered by some guests. It is however unacceptable that you felt you needed to leave three days early due to this or indeed the condition of your bedroom. I can only assume that you did not raise your concerns with any of my team or spoke to a Duty Manager during your stay as we would have done everything possible to rectify matters and could easily have moved you to a different, quieter room.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

it is a lovely place, very clean with helpful staff, food was lovely if overpriced as was the drinks in the bar also.
we were the youngest in the place it seemed (apart from the staff) by about 30 odd years it did feel like a pensionors outing! but we weren't bothered as we weren't there to go clubbing.

Room Tip: if your are going by car phone ahaead and book a space, as when we got there there was 1 space left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianmason33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am surprised to read that you found the bar and food prices expensive – our bar drinks are cheaper than most of the local pubs at £3.50 for a pint of Carling. A pot of Tea in the lounge is £1.90 which is far cheaper than any other hotel in Harrogate. We offer a range of bar snacks with prices ranging from £4.25 for sandwiches up to £7.95 for Scampi, Fish and Chips, and Pizza’s.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,531 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £50 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Atrapalo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing