We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Lovely looking main hotel, room and bathroom were a nice size but in need of re-decoration. Bedroom had low level lighting which wasn't sufficient to read by or put on make-up. Hotel has a small car park that you have to pay extra for and pre-book. We arrived on a Saturday night and were able to park on the street outside free after 6pm and all day Sunday. Rooms have VERY squeaky floor boards and we were woken up Sunday morning by the squeaking from the room above. Breakfast was nice and the staff were very friendly. All-in-all we weren't very impressed for the price paid though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jobenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We have replaced or repaired a lot of the older creaky floorboards but in a building which is over 100 years old some creaks are inevitable, however if this woke you it is unacceptable. Please contact me and let me know which room you were in and I will have my maintenance team investigate and rectify this matter to avoid future disturbances. I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast and found the staff friendly.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

I only stayed one night here booked via laterooms, at that price the room was Ok but a lot smaller than a Travelinn. Here's the pros and cons

Pros

Nice looking hotel with friendly staff
Free wifi
Centrally located in Harrogate

Cons

Limited parking that has to be reserved before hand
Various minor problems in the room (one tap missing the H logo, shower would only point at 45 degrees across the bath, heated towel rail didn't work)

Overall at £50 it was OK but I certainly wouldn't pay the full room rate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our central location, the appearance of the hotel, our friendly staff and the free WiFi throughout the hotel.
I will speak with my housekeeping team to ensure these minor room problems are fixed as soon as possible as I know how little things can be niggling. All the towel rails do work, there is an illuminated switch outside the bathroom which switches them on for two hours at a time. I hope you have not been put off staying with us again in the future.


Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the 20th - 22nd of july.
First impressions of the hotel was a wow. A big, old, full of history, standing out building,
untill you drive around the back to the car park.
It seems a little un fair that they charge £5 per day to park in the spaces reserved, and then there are 15 spaces on a first come first served basis which are free.
The reception area and public areas are very well kept, nicely decorated with alot of the old elements kept as features.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the gentleman who was in the breakfast hall organising every ones seating as you walked in.
The breakfast was great, i have to say, one of the best i've had in a hotel, food was hot and topped up regular. alot of choice.
The room was quite a dissapointment though, we were told is was a recently refurbished room,
although more like a new coat of paint. ok for a 3* i suppose.
But i felt i had been way over charged for this room!.
would stay again if they sorted the pricing out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chloe q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were not happy with the car parking arrangements, we no longer have any free spaces except for disabled guests. All parking is now reserved at a cost of £5.00 per night. I am pleased to read that you found the refurbishment of the public areas tasteful and well thought out, that the staff were excellent and the breakfast was great. I would be interested to know exactly what areas of the refurbished room you were unhappy with and would welcome you to contact me directly about this. We have some fantastic offers available through the hotel or central reservations, keep an eye for special offers on the Coast and Country website.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The St George Hotel is a lovely Hotel with great food and clean bedrooms, the staff were great, very helpful and polite, the Dining Room waiters in the Hotel deserve a special mention, well done guys all had smart clean uniforms and served the meals promptly. I would definatley stay at this Hotel again.

Room Tip: we travelled as a group, all the rooms we had were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidUK_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

It is lovely to read such a positive review. I will pass your kind comments on to all the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Pleasant hotel but the food very disappointing. Good position but in need of an update. The car park is not big enough to cater for residents. Bedrooms are clean and beds very comfortable,however the plumbing can be very noisy. The atmosphere is friendly but very old fashioned. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theshannons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

I am a little puzzled to read you were not happy with the food during your stay, we usually receive praise for the restaurant and kitchen. I am pleased however to read that you found the hotel pleasant on the whole and hope you would choose us if you are visiting Harrogate again in future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just arrived home from a weekend break at this hotel and would like to share our opinions. This hotel looks nice from the common areas, but as soon as you enter into the corridors everything changes, very poor decoration, peeling paintwork and old carpets. Although the rooms have been updated which are adequate, the bathroom in our room was an old pink suite, which definitely needs changing and this could have been done at the same time as the bedroom update. The windows in the bathroom were painted over so you could not open them. The TV had a poor reception and there was a large cobweb in the corner. The dining room was grand and the food was ok. Reserved parking is advisable. Location of hotel is good, within walking distance to town centre, shops, bars, and restaurants. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and stay in a room which over looks car park, which is quiet with no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THDDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

I am sorry to read you were not happy with your stay with us. As you correctly state the public areas and bedrooms have been fully refurbished in the past two years. The hotel corridors will also be painted and have new carpets in due course however the emphasis was to spend time and money on refurbishing the public areas and bedrooms as these are the places guests spend most time. Whilst a few of the bathrooms do have older suites I trust you found them to be spotlessly clean and well maintained. A completely new television system is being installed next month including new flat screen televisions. I am pleased you enjoyed our fantastic central location and hope you will perhaps re-consider your decision not to stay here again.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Nice clean hotel, our room was lovely, 105, and a good size. The only down side was the size of the bed for such large room the bed was too small.
Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly.
We emailed ahead twice to ask for a parking space there was no reply and no space in the car park, there was plenty of free parking just up the hill from the hotel so not a problem.
The road outside was abit noisey but that was to be expected with such a central location.
On the first day we went to the Turkish baths, just over the road, that was nice. On the second day we went to the spa in the hotel it was compact but everything was there.
We would recoment this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dd55dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

It's great to read your comments regarding the hotel, I'm sorry you didn't receive a response to your email reference parking and assure you I will look into this to ensure it doesn't happen again. We are certainly in a wonderful position for shopping and leisure in Harrogate.
Hope to see you again.
Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,529 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £51 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Atrapalo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing