We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Car Parking not available as it was when I booked” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The St George Hotel
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Car Parking not available as it was when I booked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I booked this hotel through booking.com in January for a stay 17th to 20th August for me and a friend. The booking information clearly said that free on site parking was available. What no body told us in advance was that this was changed in May, and that car parking has to be booked and I think there was a charge of about £5 per night, (but not 100% sure on that one). So, on arrival last Friday, we had to unload the car, then move the car up to Duchy Street then walk back to the hotel. It wasn't that far, but it was a bit of a pain.
However, our room was fine, a very good size with a table and two chairs and we overlooked The Royal Baths, so a lovely view. A good sized bathroom, but the shower was inconsistant, hot, then cold and no power in it. However, we also had a bath, which I made use of this morning. One of the windows in the bathroom wouldn't stay open, so we had to wedge it with empty drinks bottles. The room was hot, but the beds were comfy. A major downside, with it being a weekend was the noise from the all night revellers at the local night clubs. We couldn't shut the windows because it would have been too hot, but the revellers were still at it at 6 am! So if you can't stand noise, ask for a quiet room at the back somewhere. There was a wedding party in on the Saturday and that didn't disturb us at all.
They also ran out of bottles of sparkling mineral water!
The breakfast was good; cereals, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, toast, rolls to go with the cooked breakfast, which was very nice; only thing missing for me was mushrooms! The service with the tea/coffee at breakfast was a bit slow at times, but there was plenty of juice.
The pictures of the front of the hotel and the pool area are a bit misleading, but then most are.
Would I stay here again, probably yes, although I might look for something more in a back street.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night, ask for a room away from the main streets. Also, the spa area is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole despite having a few problems. The parking is indeed £5.00 per night for a reserved space in our car park, there is ample free parking within a short distance of the hotel which you were directed to. It is nice to read that you found your bedroom to be a good size and well furnished. I am sorry if there were problems with hot and cold water pressure during your stay, I have not had anyone else mention this to me. I am also sorry to read you were disturbed by revellers in the town centre, our central location does mean there may be some noise on occasions. I have recently been in contact with the local environmental health officers who are speaking with bar owners to minimise noise disruptions. It is difficult to police people behaviour once they have left venues and are rowdy in the street, we do report any serious disturbances to the police at the time so that officers can attend to the revellers. As you mention a room at the back of the hotel does eliminate any noise problems and these can be requested in advance of arrival or at check in subject to availability.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    338
    219
    140
    113
See reviews for
137
459
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-Upon-Tweed, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Had a brilliant weekend break. Centrally located so your in to the town and attractions with in minutes.Fantastatic individual shops in the centre, with lots of choice of places to eat or drink.Had a great couple of hours in the leasure part of the hotel using the hot tub, steam room sauna and swimming pool.Highly recommended Italian eatery next door to the hotel. Had a great night out around the bars especially bar19 which had a great age range of people and music which was kicking. Overall great all round weekend and a hearty yorkshire breakfast to see us off.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
I am so pleased to read that you had a brilliant break in Harrogate and the hotel clearly facilitated this. Harrogate really is a beautiful town and a fantastic place to live or visit. I am glad you found time to make use of our leisure facilities during your stay.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Lovely looking main hotel, room and bathroom were a nice size but in need of re-decoration. Bedroom had low level lighting which wasn't sufficient to read by or put on make-up. Hotel has a small car park that you have to pay extra for and pre-book. We arrived on a Saturday night and were able to park on the street outside free after 6pm and all day Sunday. Rooms have VERY squeaky floor boards and we were woken up Sunday morning by the squeaking from the room above. Breakfast was nice and the staff were very friendly. All-in-all we weren't very impressed for the price paid though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jobenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We have replaced or repaired a lot of the older creaky floorboards but in a building which is over 100 years old some creaks are inevitable, however if this woke you it is unacceptable. Please contact me and let me know which room you were in and I will have my maintenance team investigate and rectify this matter to avoid future disturbances. I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast and found the staff friendly.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I only stayed one night here booked via laterooms, at that price the room was Ok but a lot smaller than a Travelinn. Here's the pros and cons

Pros

Nice looking hotel with friendly staff
Free wifi
Centrally located in Harrogate

Cons

Limited parking that has to be reserved before hand
Various minor problems in the room (one tap missing the H logo, shower would only point at 45 degrees across the bath, heated towel rail didn't work)

Overall at £50 it was OK but I certainly wouldn't pay the full room rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our central location, the appearance of the hotel, our friendly staff and the free WiFi throughout the hotel.
I will speak with my housekeeping team to ensure these minor room problems are fixed as soon as possible as I know how little things can be niggling. All the towel rails do work, there is an illuminated switch outside the bathroom which switches them on for two hours at a time. I hope you have not been put off staying with us again in the future.


Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the 20th - 22nd of july.
First impressions of the hotel was a wow. A big, old, full of history, standing out building,
untill you drive around the back to the car park.
It seems a little un fair that they charge £5 per day to park in the spaces reserved, and then there are 15 spaces on a first come first served basis which are free.
The reception area and public areas are very well kept, nicely decorated with alot of the old elements kept as features.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the gentleman who was in the breakfast hall organising every ones seating as you walked in.
The breakfast was great, i have to say, one of the best i've had in a hotel, food was hot and topped up regular. alot of choice.
The room was quite a dissapointment though, we were told is was a recently refurbished room,
although more like a new coat of paint. ok for a 3* i suppose.
But i felt i had been way over charged for this room!.
would stay again if they sorted the pricing out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloe q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were not happy with the car parking arrangements, we no longer have any free spaces except for disabled guests. All parking is now reserved at a cost of £5.00 per night. I am pleased to read that you found the refurbishment of the public areas tasteful and well thought out, that the staff were excellent and the breakfast was great. I would be interested to know exactly what areas of the refurbished room you were unhappy with and would welcome you to contact me directly about this. We have some fantastic offers available through the hotel or central reservations, keep an eye for special offers on the Coast and Country website.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The St George Hotel is a lovely Hotel with great food and clean bedrooms, the staff were great, very helpful and polite, the Dining Room waiters in the Hotel deserve a special mention, well done guys all had smart clean uniforms and served the meals promptly. I would definatley stay at this Hotel again.

Room Tip: we travelled as a group, all the rooms we had were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidUK_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
It is lovely to read such a positive review. I will pass your kind comments on to all the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Pleasant hotel but the food very disappointing. Good position but in need of an update. The car park is not big enough to cater for residents. Bedrooms are clean and beds very comfortable,however the plumbing can be very noisy. The atmosphere is friendly but very old fashioned. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theshannons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
I am a little puzzled to read you were not happy with the food during your stay, we usually receive praise for the restaurant and kitchen. I am pleased however to read that you found the hotel pleasant on the whole and hope you would choose us if you are visiting Harrogate again in future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#14 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Property: The St George Hotel
Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing