We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas - Four night break 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Sevenoaks
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas - Four night break 2012”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

For a three star hotel we found the choice and quality of the food excellent. The staff were always very helpful and cheerful. Our room and beds were clean and well appointed.
The hotel has a lot of character and the architecture in the dining room is impressive.
The downside was that the hot water had air in the system. T have a shower we had to run the water in to the bath and once running hot, the shower was fine. A waste of water!
The quality of the decorating in places was poor. Although it had obviously been recently painted in our corridor, the finish could have been a lot better. The management should not have accepted it. The upside is that the building is kept very clean.
This was our third visit in four years.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeCKemsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, it's good to hear that you enjoyed your break with us.

Happy New Year
Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    351
    231
    149
    118
See reviews for
143
486
62
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We have just returned from a four day Christmas Break which was a huge disappointment & and let down. On checking the room on arrival the bed sheets were stained and had to be changed which should have told us something but looking forward to our break we went with it. The Hotel has some wonderfull features but is lacking in care - the paintwork is chipped and sadly in the whole place needs a great deal of paint & paper as well as a deep clean. Our bedroom & bathroom doors had dirty fingerprints and lost of dust & dirt on the skirting boards.
Wosre yet to come - THE FOOD - I hardly ate anything over the whole period. My Christmas dinner was salmon - it came covered in sauce which was congelled on the plate, new potates which were full of "black eyes" and soggy veg. Another meal was goats cheese & beetroot tart with potatoes or scampy & chips - I asked if I could have the tart with chips (after my experirence with the potates) and was told yes but there was a supplement!! The pool was out of action too.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel suggest the back but really save your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chalky30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
I am very surprised to read your review, firstly let me apologige for problem with your room on arrival. It is very unfair and untrue to suggest the hotel is dirty as we pride ourselves on our housekeeping standards. Yes there are areas of the hotel that need redecorating however many areas have been recently refurbished to a very high standard. I have just read comment cards completed by guests on the same break as yourselves, they praise both the food and the service during the Christmas break. I'm sorry you do not feel the same.
Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Keighley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Have stayed here a few times when attending work social events rather than drive home, most recently for Christmas party (which was at the Holiday Inn, Harrogate). This hotel is very nice and comfortable, rooms are nicely decorated, quiet at the back overlooking the car park, probably noisier at the front overlooking the road and right in the centre of town. Staff are friendly and helpful, haven't eaten in the hotel so can't comment on the food. The spa is small but clean and free to residents and has steam room and sauna, small gym and weights room and small pool, very nice for just chilling. Book and pay for car parking in advance - car park is very small - or get there early.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, look forward to welcoming you back to the St George Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I cannot fault this hotel. We had our wedding here on 21st December and from start to finish it was amazing. The staff are so helpfull and friendly and Lynn the wedding organiser put herself out on numerous occasions to make our lives a lot easier. The food was very tasty and very generous portions. I would not hesitate to reccomend this to people for a wedding or a general trip. We had an amazing time and that was not only because we fell in love with the look of the hotel but the people made our day and night. They even let us have another room to allow for a childrens entertainment room.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quieter than others when a function are on so do ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
It's great to read your wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased that Lynn and the team played such a special part in making your day perfect. The room looked amazing with it's Christmas theme. I would like to wish you happiness for your future together. It would be great to see you for a family celebration in the future.
Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Booked this hotel as part of a Shearings 5 day break. As other reviews have said, it is very conveniently situated, we had no disturbance other than the bin lorries on the last morning (we were at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park) and thought the food was very good, although limited on the Table d'Hote menu.
The big downside was the heating. We had none in our room and the waft of freezing air as we entered was not very welcoming on a cold December night. Reception told us it would come on within 30 minutes, but nothing had happened after 2 hours. They did eventually fix it later that night, but several other guests had the same problem - even after they had figured out the complicated system with a dial on the wall (not to mention the odd towel heater, where the green light by the bathroom has to be off for the rail to heat up - and then turns itself off after a period, so you wake in the middle of the night to a bright green light in the room!). As Shearings does rather specialise in tours for the more senior traveller, a warm room is the least one would expect, but, yet again, this does not seem to be a priority (we have experienced this problem at other Shearings hotels).
The leisure centre was a bonus for my husband, but the changing room facilities were very poor with broken lockers and non-functioning showers. The restauarnt served nice food, but the staffing was chaotic on most nights with no-one seemimg to be responsible for specific tables or tasks. At one point, fisticuffs were on the cards as guests were kept waiting for over 30 mins after their starter for their main courses. Big bonus for us was the £50 in house credit to be spent on whatever we wanted. As I do not drink, an all inclusive is a waste of time for me, but this offer meant my husband could have wine with dinner and we had sufficient to purchase packed lunches for our return journey; well done Shearings for this alternative, it is much appreciated.
All in all we had a very good time for a very reasonable price, but PLEASE, fix the heating for everyone!!

Room Tip: Old hotel, built on side of a hill with rooms on many levels. One small lift, so lower floor would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheValients
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
I apologise for the problem with your heating but assure you it was rectified as soon as possible. I'm unsure what you mean with regards to the Restaurant service as there is always a Manager in charge, we also received great comments regarding servive from the same break. I'm glad that you enjoyed your break overall.

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I stayed in this hotel while attending a conference at the conference centre.
The hotel is literally across the road from the conference centre, so couldn't be better placed for it and the whole of Harrogate.

It has a small car park which you have to pay for and pre-book. I would definitely advise this as there didn't seem anywhere else to park in Harrogate very easily.

The room was small and the bathroom was very old fashioned - I guess it was installed in the 1970s judging by the style.

However the bed was comfortable, the shower was wet and hot, the TV worked - for the location and price I was very happy to stay there. It had free wifi which worked very well.

The public rooms were nicely decorated and the staff very helpful and friendly.

I used the gym, which was small but had a rowing machine, running machines, bikes, weights - so quite well equipped really. There was a pool which looked nice although I didn't use it.

Overall - if you want a hotel this central in Harrogate, with good amenities and parking for a reasonable price I would highly recommend it.

The room I was in was at best, functional - but more than made up by the positives above

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickgg37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
The St George Hotel & Spa as you say couldn’t be better placed for Conferences or generally visiting and exploring Harrogate.
I’m pleased to read you enjoyed the amenities and services of the hotel. When you visit us again, why not book direct with hotel reservations and look into upgrading your standard room to one of our Premier or Superior rooms, which have all being fully refurbished including the bathrooms.
I look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We booked this 3 night stay, knowing the location could be noisy, not from internal functions but from nearby clubs and also a take away. This area has an abundance of hotels and residences that pay council tax they shouldn't have to put up with this noise pollution and Harrogate council should step in and limit opening hours until 03;00 am. The hotel is kept in good condition with some wear and tear due to the fact it is consistently fully booked. The food at breakfast and evening meal was much better than we expected over the 3 nights, buffet breakfast was always hot and should met most peoples needs the toaster was very fast, no queues. The staff were brilliant often overworked by the volume of people but were always friendly, polite and attentive. the evening meals were also very good value for money, with plenty of fresh vegetables and no small portions. The dining room was in good decorative order overlooking square situated at the bottom end of the shopping centre. We will stay again at this hotel and recommend it as great value for money. a bonus was the pool and Spa so don't forget your costumes. The massabe our friend has was also VERY GOOD.

Room Tip: A room at the rear would be quitter with no view. If I stay again I will probably upgrade as rooms l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Wonderful – it’s great to read that we exceeded your expectations. It’s very true that rooms at the back are quieter although as you point out are overlooking the car park.
Unfortunately our fantastic town centre location does suffer some noise pollution, however rest assured we are working with environmental services to try and remedy this.
I have a great team of staff who work exceptionally well together as a team and all work very hard, I’ll ensure that they are all aware of your praise.
The pool & spa are a lovely added extra which guests can use free of charge, there is only us and 1 other hotel in Harrogate with leisure facilities on site - so a definite bonus for our guests. Unwind Beauty also situated in the Leisure Club offers various packages and deals all of which are very reasonable, I have to personally agree the massages are an excellent way to ‘unwind’ after long days exploring the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,716 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Property: The St George Hotel
Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing