We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The St George Hotel
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Short Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

This is a really good value for money hotel if you go on a 3 or 4 day out of season break. Half board - good buffet breakfast and three course dinner with coffee. Excellent prompt service in the dining room. A grand building set in a very convenient location for walking around this delightful Victorian spa town, but if you go by car be sure to book a parking space. The public areas of the hotel have been freshly refurbished but the bedroom - and especially the en-suite bathroom looked tired and in need of renovation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
You're exactly right Harrogate is a beautiful town with plenty of shops and scenic walks. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff who get great pleasure from positive reviews.

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    338
    219
    140
    113
See reviews for
137
459
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

My husband and I have had a 3 day break at the St George. The staff are super, obviously very hard working, and always happy to help.
Our bedroom was very clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a front facing room which I have to say was a little noisy in the small hours,luckily we sleep well so not too much of a problem. Breakfast excellent and dinner good value for money.

Overall a nice hotel and good location for a weekend in Harrogate.

Room Tip: Quieter room to the back of Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stirling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thanks for your review, it's great to hear that you were comfortable and found us good value for money. I will pass on your comments to the team.

Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Top Hotel we had a 3 night stay with Shearing's, the location of the Hotel is great. The food was well presented, great Menes we would recommend this Hotel and we will be back for another short break.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
What a lovely review of our hotel, I'm so thrilled to read that you would recommend us and plan to return to the St George.

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Having just returned from a weekend break at the St George we found the hotel although a little dated, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful in all area's and were pleased to assist. Our room was rather small and the bathroom on the cool side (room 230). The food starting with breakfast was excellent a good choice of fruit juice, cereals, cooked buffet (English), croissants and toast, dinner had choice and was presented well.
One thing to note if you are travelling by car, book your car parking when booking your room as space in the private car park was at a premium on our visit.
Recommend this hotel for a short break, one of the better Shearings we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
I'm glad that you enjoyed your weekend break in Harrogate and found the hotel to be both clean and comfortable. As you say it gives peace of mind if you reserve a parking space for the duration of your stay.
Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and having stayed at the Morecambe, Durham and Pitlochry hotels over the last two years, have to say that this is the best Shearings hotel yet -each one just gets better and better!
Food is well cooked and beautifully presented, served politely and professionally. Great to see the self sevice breakfast introduced, after all, most good hotels do this now don't they? The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, public areas, bedrooms and leisure club alike. All staff we encountered were smart, polite and friendly, especially the small, blond Duty Manager (Angela?)
Only downfall for us was that on the side of the hotel (facing the Royal Baths) it could be a little noisy during the night, as I suspect they're not allowed to double glaze this building. However, Superdrug do a good line in foam earplugs which helped a lot.
Harrogate itself tends to be young, lively and pricey food and drinkwise, and this of course is reflected in the hotel bar prices, but hey, it was a weekend away and well worth it.
Keep up the evolution Shearings!

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room if you're a light sleeper and don't want a view, as front and sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottie88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Wow what an excellent review, Angela is delighted to receive a special mention. We are in contact with the local council regarding the noise levels at the night club, however you are correct that the back facing bedrooms are quieter.
Come back and see us soon.
Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Messingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the St George hotel , and although the hotel is tired and in need of a lick of paint and new carpets, we were impressed with the overall cleanliness. Because it is an old building I must admit I was expecting some areas to smell of damp and be musty, but there was none of that in the areas that I went. My impression was that the staff have a caring attitude. I was even pleasantly surprised to see one of the cleaners, cleaning the small panes of glass in the corridor doors. This was attention to detail and the management are to complimented. The food was mostly good and service always came with a smile. Value was excellent as is location on the edge of the town.
Would I stay again ? If I wanted another break in Harrogate - yes.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BasBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
What a kind review, thank you. Some areas of the hotel are a bit tired, we are constantly spending money to address this on a regular basis.
We hope to welcome you back to the St George soon.

Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

When booking online I was encouraged by pictures of bright and well decorated rooms and a central location at £89 for a double room for one night I was looking forward to a pleasant hotel and a well appointed room.

However, on arrival the staff were not very welcoming or knowledgeable and did not provide us with even the basic information of check out times, meal times etc.

The interior was somewhat of a contradiction between newly decorated areas which were pleasant, and other very dated and dilapidated areas, especially the leisure club. Cleanliness was also an issue in the pool where I found a soiled piece of toilet paper on the surround of the jacuzzi, when i pointed this out to a staff member i was not offered an apology and he went off in a sulk. Overall the leisure facilities were very tired and in dire need of refurbishment.

The room was comfortable and well furnished but was badly let down by the bathroom which was poorly fitted out and cold.

Overall, I was very disappointed and will not be rushing back or recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmcd1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and wish that you had spoken to me or a member of my Management team at the time. As you can see from other reviews the staff are constantly praised for their friendliness, so I find it hard to believe they were not welcoming.

Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#14 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Property: The St George Hotel
Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing