We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St George Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dissappointing.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We often travel with Shearings and have previously stayed in the Bay Hotels. We thought we would upgrade to Coast and Country, better quality room, better food etc. Wrong on all counts. On entering the hotel we were impressed, that is until we were told we could not have our room til 3pm, a wait of nearly 3hrs! We had set off at 6:30 and spent hours at the interchange, to say we were ready to relax would be an understatement. Then to have to register our credit card in order to get the £25 each in-house spend was ridiculous! Why couldn't there be a voucher system? We didn't get a receipt when we spent anything and if we hadn't kept our own record it would have been easy to overspend. As it was, the bottled beers were about £4 each and the cheapest wine was £15:75 a bottle.
Our room was warm but definitely tired and in need of refurbishment, no way resembling the standard rooms on the website and the bathroom was shabby and had the fire exit in it. Was the bathroom once a corridor?
Breakfast was self service and quite good but dinner was horrible. The chef's specialities were to be avoided at all costs. Steak and kidney pudding with raw ( I complained) suet. The gravy that accompanied the pork tasted of sour apple, was expecting it to be more subtle, roast potatoes that were raw inside. I thought the puddings were all ready made and the custard out of a packet!
The wine waiter ( ha ha) took our order at the beginning of one meal and brought it just when we were about to start our pud! The couple at the next table asked why water was not on the table and were told that they were not allowed to put it out but had to sell the bottles instead! You had to specifically ask for a glass of water. The waitress who served us was run off her feet while at one sitting I counted at least 3 assistant managers just showing people to tables.
The standard of Coast and Country was not what I expected and not, in my opinion, as good as Bay holidays.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
I'm sorry you weren't satisfied with your recent holiday.
My team make every effort to let as many guests in as early as possible prior to check-in at 3pm, its certainly not our intention to leave guests waiting when you have had a long day of travel.
I receive hundreds of positive comments a week regarding our food at the hotel, however I am sorry that it didn't suit your taste, thank you though for giving us the opportunity to makes things right during your stay.
The standards between Bay Hotels and Coast and Country Hotels are very different, as an Area Manager of a group of Bay Hotels I do hope that I'll be able to welcome you again to one of our Bay Hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    356
    236
    153
    121
See reviews for
148
494
63
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were back at the St George for our annual stay during the Knitting and Stitching show. Hotel is very handy for the exhibition hall, literally just across the road. We went on an excellent package with Shearings Coast and Country for five days, very reasonable which included dinner and vouchers to spend inhouse. We had a lovely big room, with a double bed and a single bed which was in a sort of alcove which gave privacy to the other person. Usual amenities, nice and clean and very comfortable beds. Before we have always stayed at front of the hotel which gives a nice view of the road but can be very noisy. This time we had a view of the fire exit and the car park but it was very quiet. Evening meals were plentiful and offered a reasonable choice, and you could upgrade to a la carte if you so wished for any course. Dinner is waiter service and breakfast is buffet. The dining room staff are so attentive and make you feel very welcome but don't expect fast food service, dining here is a leisurely experience to be enjoyed.The dining room is a delight of Edwardian splendour as is much of the hotel. It may be a little tired here and there but it is a very old hotel and there were obvious signs of tasteful refurbishment in many areas since our last visit. The foyer is great for relaxing, lots of comfy armchairs or you can spend the evening in the bar but be prepared to pay hotel prices for your drinks. On the other hand the hotel offers a good range of bar lunches at quite reasonable prices. the hotel health suite is free for guests to use, as well as a small gym there is a small swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Perhaps best of all, is the lovely relaxed atmosphere, both the building and the staff make you feel so comfortable. the St George is also a superb base for exploring Harrogate as it is bang in the centre of the town. Space in the small car park has to be booked in advance. This is a recent change of policy which many guests clearly haven't come to terms with given the number of disgruntled and disappointed people trying to check in when we arrived. Fortunately, having had the same experience the year before, we'd paid to book our space in advance. It seems expensive at £5 a day but more and more hotels are now charging for car parking and at least you have that space reserved for the duration of your trip. We enjoyed our stay very much and will be back again. People may find things to criticise but for the price you pay the St George is amazing value and has found ways to compete in the current market while maintaining the overall service and atmosphere of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting onto Ripon Road can be very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skemjazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Excellent honest and frank review, thanks for taking the time to write.
I hope many of our future guests read this, I agree with your room tips too.
Coast and Country Hotels have some fantastic holidays available and I look forward to welcoming you back again, please feel free to mention your room requests at the time of booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Awful room, dull and depressing, wrinkled worn out carpet, lumpy bed. Food beyond belief- DON'T eat here. In fact Don't stay here! Whole place needs gutting and the chef should go- he/she simply did not produce palatable food! Breakfast choice limited, no pastries, a bowl of tinned grapefruit cereals open for the world to cough on. Everything tasted "Value Range" and done on the cheap- every expense spared. Poor waitress, who was lovely looked embarrassed to serve it! No-one asked if everything was ok- probably because they knew it wasn't and many plates went back barely touched! Such a waste!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HelenStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
All guest comments are greatly appreciated, however I do feel that yours maybe ever so slightly unjust.
We understand we can't please everyone, but would have liked the opportunity to discuss your thoughts whilst you were still at the hotel.
I would have been interested to know what room you had stayed in and when you had breakfast.
Incidentally, whilst we are not a budget hotel, we also do not profess to been 5 star luxury. I whole heartedly believe that our customers receive excellent value what they pay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stunning hotel the building has original features. We stayed B&B only but got an upgrade to a large room. The breakfast was very good quality & plenty of it (self serve) Lovely swimming pool. All the staff we spoke to were very friendly & helpful. The hotel is in a great area & only 5 minuets walk from the centre.
The only problem was the bathroom,it needs some updating & was a bit run down & looked grubby. The same has to be said for the showers in the pool area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine-Sweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we appreciate your comments and will pass these on to our maintenance team. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Public areas of this hotel are fine. Breakfast was good as is location. However, I do feel in this day and age that no hotel should let the rooms get so run down. It was very clean but squeaky floorboards, bathroom door wouldn't shut properly, shower was rubbish, no heating in bathroom apart from towel rail and the flooring belongs back in the 60s! As mentionned by other reviewers car park was tiny. We pre booked a space but this hadn't been allocated - we did get given one fortunately. We have disabled parking badge and its disgraceful that hotel won't allocate their spaces. None of the cars parked in the disabled parking had badges. Disappointing. As was the receptionist who told us we could find disabled parking in the town and walk back to the hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to give me your feedback, it is unfortunate that we do indeed have limited car parking for our guests but do try to accommodate disabled guests whenever possible. We are in the process of replacing the older bathrooms and hopefully on your next visit to Harrogate you will come and stay and give us your valued opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Excellent staff. Food ok. In Great position for shopping but not for sleeping too many night clubs nearby and rowdy at 3am in a morning. Thanks to Agnes on reception wh sorted our problem out quickly and to our satisfaction.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wombat_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Your comments are much appreciated and will go someway in our quest to have Harrogate Council investigate the clubs you mention, with a view to reducing noise for our guests and neighbouring Hotels guests too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Humberside
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Went to The George Hotel for a relaxing weekend to celebrate my partners birthday. What a good choice. Our room overlooked the busy A61 and therefore we did not sleep well on the first night due to the noise. Next morning we told the receptionist, who was most helpful and after a couple of phone calls found us a pleasant room in a much quieter part of the hotel. The outside of the hotel is a bit dated but as soon as you step inside you find a spacious lounge area and reception. All of the staff are polite and courteous and go out of their way to give the best of service. We ate in the restaurant and were very happy with the choice and quality of food on the menu, that was served in very pleasant surrounding. The hotel also boasts a health spar, including a gym, small swimming pool, sauna and steam room, all of which we used during our stay. Our only disappointment was that as it was a weekend and we had not booked in advance, we were unable to have a massage or beauty treatments as they were fully booked.

Room Tip: If you want beauty treatment/s book them when making you reservation. Ask for a room at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I am so pleased to hear the team helped make your stay an enjoyable one and I will certainly pass on your comments in my next team meeting. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Property: The St George Hotel
Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing