We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brief stop over for some relaxation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A brief stop over for some relaxation.”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I decided to book a night in Harrogate because I was driving London-Edinburgh and needed a half way point to stop. I chose the St George Hotel because it had spa facilities and good ratings, I was intending to spend the my time relaxing in the spa.
Parking wasn't available when I booked, but I arrived on a Sunday, so I could park anywhere anyway. First impressions were good, lovely foyer and seating areas, friendly staff.
I booked into a single room, the room looked out onto the Royal Hall. It was clean, and a good size, the heating was easy to control and the bed was really comfortable. Some aspects of the bathroom were very worn, some exposed plumbing, mismatched suite and badly finished, I've never seen so many shades of white in one room! It could do with being refreshed.

The spa was good, sauna, steam room, pool and jacuzzi, it's not luxurious but good enough to enjoy.

I had dinner in the bar, not the restaurant, that night and that was the only thing that was disappointing. The food was expensive and below par, it had definitely just come out of a freezer and blasted in a microwave.

I had paid the £5 for breakfast and it was definitely worth it. Good selection of food in a nice environment.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Royal Hall can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
I’m pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and the facilities in the hotel. As we have mentioned on other replies we are continuing with our improvement programme and we will shortly be replacing several bathroom suites completely.
Its good to read that you enjoyed the breakfast, however I’m sorry that you felt that way about the bar food, I would have being interested to hear your comments at the time and have being able to rectify them for you.
I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    340
    228
    142
    116
See reviews for
141
470
61
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed Monday to Frida, the hotel is spotless all the staff we're excellent the food of a high quality, we didn't upgrade our food as the menu had a good selection all waiting staff were very attentive. Our room had a squeaky floor but you can expect it in an older hotel. We had no hot water one evening but we were assured that it would be fixed as soon as poss, at dinner we were offered a complementary glass of wine which I found a nice gesture and the hot water was ok in the morning. The hotel in the centre of Harrogate. The spa was a great bonus. Would definitely recommend. Mr Mrs Stancombe

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you, Mr & Mrs Stancombe, for taking the time to share your thoughts. We did indeed have a problem with the hot water one evening and again apologise, we hope it didn’t cause too much inconvenience. Shearings Holidays have some fantastic holidays & offers and I hope you find the time to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel well worth a visit in the centre of harogate comfortable and clean staff helpful and polite. Breakfast really good evening meals slightly less so but above average. Pool and sauna wonderful. Very relaxing reasonably priced rooms clean bright and airy.

Room Tip: No Evening entertainment so take some of your own however town so close not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
It’s lovely to read your review and that you enjoyed your recent break. I hope to be able to welcome you back again and will pass your kind comments on to my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Just on the way back home after spending the night at this hotel! Thought we were in for a treat; a lovely relaxing break, but I was very wrong! The pool is tiny, but ok. There were a couple of children playing in the pool which didn't make it a very relaxing experience with it being so small. I think they were the children of someone who worked there because their mum who was in the pool with them for some of the time was behind the counter when we left. The steam room and sauna were good. A special mention has to go to the two young men who work behind the bar because they were both lovely and a credit to the hotel.
Bad bits now - we were awake ALL night because of the relentless noise from a nearby night club. It actually sounds as though it's in the hotel. When we spoke to the receptionist this morning she advised us to complain to the council!! She said that room 220 didn't usually get noise pollution, but when we looked from the outside, it is actually very close to the offending nightclub! So we felt fobbed off and not at all listened to. We're both absolutely shattered! The general state of the hotel is tired to say the least! In the bar, there are a few threadbare sofas and chairs amongst really tidy ones!
Wish we'd have spent a little more and stayed at a much nicer place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sukimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
In the world of trip advisor it’s very clear we can’t please everyone, however I can assure you that we always listen to our guests comments and opinions and act on where possible. I’m sorry that you felt you didn’t have the relaxing break that you had intended. I would like to point out that our Leisure Club is family friendly and by no means for adults only. We are also a town centre hotel and do have several bars within close proximity, as my reception team advised, the late night noise pollution is something we are working on with the local council but for now I personally apologise to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights with my in-laws. The first night was truly awful. Terrible food in the restaurant and the sort of service that wouldn't be out of place in a sitcom. My wife complained while we were there and the second night, both food and service were really good (we had a different waiter!). The noise from outside goes on all night - there are night clubs nearby and people seemed to be leaving them all the time until around 5 am. The windows in the rooms are sash windows and don't really stop any noise. Beware the pictures showing the nice gardens - these are public gardens and are separated from the hotel by a road.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are quieter - avoid the rooms on the east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
I am pleased to hear that the food and service in the restaurant improved on your second night and I am sorry to hear that you felt the need to complain in the first place. We are currently discussing the noise issues with the local council however upon request we can allocate quiet bedrooms.

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

After just having spent 4 lovely days in a hotel in north wales, much cheaper than this one, we were very disappointed with this hotel. There was barely enough hot water the first night for a bath, next morning there was no hot water at all, so no shower, on arriving back at the hotel that night still no hot water in our room even though it was working in all the others. My husband insisted on another room, but was told they were full up, in the end we did get one, albeit very small, but lots of hot water. the staff were unhelpful, and we were made to feel as though we were complaining about nothing. bathroom in first room very shabby and the shower would hardly turn anyway as it was so old.
Wont be rushing back

Room Tip: avoid room 217
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
I am concerned to read your review regarding the staff being unhelpful they usually do all they can to try and help our guests. I believe on the Saturday of your stay you moved to another room due to the problem with the shower however I believe there was hot water in the bath. The shower had been checked at different times throughout the day after initially being reported by you and the water temperature was found to be hot. The room you were moved to is as you say a bit small however as explained this was the only double room we had available.

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great Shearings holiday! I had a fantastic weekend break, the hotel was very imposing and in a great position in the middle of town. The bedroom was very comfortable and considering the size of some single rooms I've been in was a good size. The reception staff were efficient & helpful but the restaurant staff could have been a bit more friendly! The food was good and as it was "help yourself" you didn't get a great big plateful which ended up being wasted. The Spa was the cherry on the cake as far as I was concerned - very nice pool & steam room. There is a sauna but it wasn't working when I was there. There was no entertainment but I understand there usually is. Trip to York was good, well worth a visit. All in all it was a very enjoyable value for money break.

Room Tip: As far as I saw all the rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
I am pleased to read that all in all you enjoyed your break here with us and that you felt it was value for money. I am surprised to read your comments regarding the restaurant staff not being friendly we usually receive excellent comments regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of all our staff. The chef will be pleased to read your comments regarding the food. The leisure facilities as you say are the cherry on the cake and I am pleased to hear that you made full use of them. Unfortunately due to essential maintenance I am sorry that the sauna was out of use for part of your stay.

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Property: The St George Hotel
Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing