We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St George Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed for one night. £102 and some pennies for room, inc £5 for reserved car spot.

Room very basic, and drab. Hallways chipped, drab. Pool and gym, drab, smelled of stale sweat throughout - wife had to get someone to find her a locker that actually worked.

Aside from the reception area, the whole place is terribly run down and depressing really.

Wife was kept awake by people out the back of the hotel talking - suspect they were smokers.

Wouldn't stay there again but would book a boutique apartment (we had one the night before) - wonderful and just over half the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank oxacuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay, our leisure club boasts over 400 happy members so I am very surprised it did not meet your expectations. After spending over two million pounds so far on an extensive maintenance programme I am saddened you describe us as ‘run down’. Good luck in your future travels.

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    340
    223
    141
    114
See reviews for
139
464
61
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Travelled here for a four day break was quite amazed how big the hotel is on entering the hotel it was lovely set out and a quick booking in and straight in for dinner I have no complaints with the food it was piping hot every night and staff especially rosie and lidia were very attentive breakfast was also good..Are room was very large and the beds were lovely and comfy bathroom lovely and clean and loads of shops in Harrogate better than york... A very rest full break Thank you

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank candyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
I have passed your comments onto both Rosie and Lidia who are delighted that you took the time to post a review.
Thank you for the positive feedback and we hope you will return some time in the future!

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Excellent hotel - best of the Shearings/Coast and Country hotels we have stayed in so far.
Huge, luxurious room (admittedly we paid a little extra for it).
Food and location excellent.
A gem and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying the little extra for a Superior Room. Although we were at the front of the Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
I am happy you thought that the room upgrades were worth that little bit extra. They are indeed large and luxurious with all the comforts of home. The kitchen staff are delighted with your comments and wanted me to thank you for posting the review.

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Hotel and bedroom clean and tidy But overall in need of updating.
Ate on the first night only but food was disappointing, breakfast was ok.
Our room was large, we had a problem with the heating, you could not turn it off.
We reported it to reception and it was sorted out as soon as possible.
No atmosphere in the hotel but great location right in the centre of town.
Also had on site parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliscarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
I’m sorry you were disappointed with the food at £14.95 for a three course meal with tea and coffee we try to promote real value for money. There is very little I can do to rectify your dining experience when a complaint was not made at the time, I hope you will take comfort in the fact that your comments have been taken on board with the aim of improving standards.
Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely awful conditions. The St George hotel offers little more than a safe place to stay in the centre of the city. The bathroom felt generally dirty (old Lino on the floor, peeling off in places, warped wood around the bath tub and sink from years of taking water), my shower gel and shampoo bottles were half empty, and there was no hot water in the morning. The bed was clean but the rest of the room with stains on the ceiling and cracking walls did not make for a three star stay at all. I stayed in the single room, maybe other are better. Got the room on offer for £50 which is an absolute minimum it is worth. Breakfast of course was not included...

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Justyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Some bathrooms are in need of refurbishment however are spotlessly clean. We price our rooms to remain competitive within the local market and feel we offer real value for money, I am sorry you felt otherwise. I wonder if you requested a room move at the time?, If you do wish to return do not hesitate to telephone in advance and request a refurbished room. Your comments have been noted and the maintenance team have dealt with the issues you raised.

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had been to Harrogate a few times but the hotel we normally stay in was full so due to where this hotel is situated we decided to book up for the weekend. Personally I think charging customers who are staying in the hotel £5 per night for parking is unfair. When we walked in our room we noticed the most overpowering nasty smell. However, the staff were wonderful and moved us straight away into a much better room. To be honest even without the smell I'd have been disappointed. The initial room was no better than a travel lodge. I can't fault the staff they are so friendly and helpful and I can't fault the spa facilities. The food was nice with plenty of choice, especially the breakfast menu, and having self service hot breakfast is a great idea. The only problem we had with the location was that on the sat night we had a really disrupted sleep due to the clubs across the road. I also think the hotel could do with some updating with regards to furniture as many of the chairs etc in the bars are really worn out.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emheth1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Some of the furniture in the bar is indeed worn although not very old at all, we have ordered replacement furniture which is due for delivery shortly. Thank you for you kind comments regarding our staff, food and facilities. These will be passed on at the next staff meeting. We hope you return to us in the future.

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here.A great location in Harrogate across the road from the baths and 5 minutes walk from a great choice of pubs and restaurants.
The room was a good size,recently refurbished and with everything that you could need (as with most U.K. hotels no toothbrush or toothpaste supplied)
The quality of food and choice for breakfast and dinner was good.The wine was a little on the expensive side...but the choice as good.
The hotel offers free Wi-Fi via icloud and guests can use the leisure facilities ( pool and jacuzzi overlooked by a small fitness gym)
The only slight negatives are:
1. The public areas are in need of a refurbishment
2. Some of the ensuite bathrooms have loud extractor fans and could do with an upgrade
3.The car park is very busy so tell the hotel you want a space when you book...£5 per night
4. This hotel is not in its own grounds...the park in the photos is across the road

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank aichii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your comments we are happy you were pleased with most aspects of your break. All of the public areas have been upgraded to a modern yet contemporary design and I am disappointed that this has gone unnoticed. The bathrooms should not have loud extractor fans and are indeed repaired when this is so. It is indeed recommended to book your parking at the hotel and at £5 a night is a very competitive price.

Kind Regards
Edwina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Property: The St George Hotel
Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing