We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hardest working staff in Town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St George Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Norfolk, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The hardest working staff in Town!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for the Tour de France weekend and were very happy with both the room and the service we received; the team running the hotel are all young and they worked unbelieveably hard during the busiest weekend they will ever have.
The room was fine, recently redecorated, bed very comfortable, clean, etc.
Big buffet breakfast, bar food food very reasonably priced and very nice.
All in all, excellent!

Room Tip: Noisier rooms on the road, quieter ones at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADNaturephotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Its wonderful to read your 5 star review and very much appreciated. My team worked amazingly hard over the weekend and in preparation for it too. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel, perhaps if you decide to cycle some of the Yorkshire Grand Depart, you will always be welcome with your bikes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    351
    231
    149
    118
See reviews for
143
486
62
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A very pleasant surprise on arrival. Having read previous reviews, after booking, we were not expecting much. But we were greeted by very friendly helpful staff and allowed to take our bikes to our room for security. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the facilities were as you'd expect from any quality hotel. The breakfast was excellent and plenty of it. We relaxed, slept very well, ate great food and enjoyed the surrounding..... What more would you want????? The price was very reasonable and we would definitely stay again. Yes, the rooms looked a bit in need of updating, but more 'shabby chic' is a better way to describe its present condition.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeeboff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for the review. I am so proud of my staff’s efforts during Le Tour, they all worked tirelessly to ensure guest satisfaction and I am so pleased this came across to the guests. I will pass your comments on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have never stayed in a hotel where the floor sloped to one side of the room, that is until now and we were on the second floor. The car park is small so I would advise booking with your room. We stayed for the Tour de France weekend so traffic noise outside that has been mentioned by previous guest was not a problem as the roads through Harrogate were closed, the noise from the nightclub across the road did disturb our sleep but only for a short while. The rooms are small and the beds are sized to accommodate anybody under 5ft and the one we had sloped with the room. The breakfast was plentiful if basic. Where this hotel may have scored 4 instead of a 3 if they had not increased their bar prices as the TDF was in town, if you want to eat or have a drink there is a very reasonably priced Wetherspoons within easy walking distance which I would recommend. I would stay again but it's the hotels location more than anything else that makes me say this

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
The hotel is from the 16th century and was once an Inn and three terraced houses. I like to think of old buildings like this as full of charm, character and soaked in history. Buildings of this age are bound to have their own little ‘quirks’ which all add to the stay. The car park has 35 spaces and you’re correct in advising people to book. The rooms are all differently sized and the beds are all standard size. We have no problem with people requesting larger rooms upon booking as we always do our best to please. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently stayed here for 4 nights while my wife attended a conference.The room was spacious clean and comfortable.Breakfast was plentiful but not spectacular.Staff were all courteous and helpful.Where this Hotel really scores is its location.It is walking distance from great shops ,restaurants,bus and train station.The spa is well kept and well staffed.It is an ideal base from which to explore this jewel of Yorkshire.I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for the review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Excellent location for shops and restaurants. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Food very good with ample choice of menu. spa was really good a bonus that the spa bath was working on our 2nd day. If using this hotel use their carpark as its very expensive to park in Harrogate with no 24 hour parking available that we saw. We had a refurbished room (209) and this was excellent very spacious bathroom was modern.

Room Tip: quieter rooms on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
I am pleased you found our car park excellent value for money as you are correct in saying that it is much better value than others in this location. We do also have free, on street parking within walking distance, details of which can be given from our friendly reception team. I have passed your comments onto my team who are delighted that you took time to place a review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

hotel photo very deceiving not in countryside but in the middle of busy town centre.Hotel reception area and bar looks the part and the dining room.But the bed rooms and bathrooms were disgraceful for what we payed damp out dated.The food was awful.The staff acted as if they didn't want to be there depressing no entertainment no free tokens.The only thing what saved us was the trip to York we went twice and Witherspoons is a must see.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We are advertised as a town centre hotel with no entertainment however I am sorry that you did not see this. Almost all bedrooms have been upgraded and we are currently upgrading the bathrooms. My team were saddened to hear your comments regarding the service as they work extremely hard for guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A good hotel but shabby in places. The car park is very tight and rather small so book your place ahead. Biggest problem for me is the very late breakfast at the weekends (it starts at 8.30) by which time there was a massive queue to get to the self service buffet. There is a great pool and spa which is under used so nice and quiet. I will go again but please start the breakfasts at 8.00 so we can make the most of the day.

Room Tip: A single room is a single room no double bed and best rooms are at the back where there is less nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Breakfast is served later on the weekends however as advertised all guests are welcome to book an early breakfast which can be served in the lounge. We would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future and do not hesitate to speak to the reception team who will arrange an early breakfast for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,721 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Property: The St George Hotel
Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing