We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
68
30
19
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
30
19
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee machine newly refurbished hotel drawing room lovely hotel mushy peas other hotels in the area towel rail small lift portion size hotel is centrally located night porter gorgeous room good sized bathroom iron and ironing board coach parties lovely decor parking is limited
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Stylish in a Country Living magazine kind of way. Lovely if you are a fan of muted greys. Comfortable, clean with a new feel but only likely to thrive by coach parties and conference trade. There is certainly lots of space and the place is light and airy but, as a result, it lacks a bit of charm. This is especially so in the dining room that appears too impersonal for a comfortable evening dining experience. We went out. Apparently Harrogate has over 360 eating places so there is plenty of choice.

The big challenge will be to keep the designer look. Some niggles and teething problems as one would expect with a new hotel but all sorted out with efficiency when we were there. Good base to explore Harrogate and the surrounding area.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HappyandBana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlaudiaK3806, Front Office Manager at Country Living St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear HappyandBana,

Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to write a review following your experience.
We do get a variety of guests due to the location of the hotel.
We are very disappointed that you feel the hotel lacks its charm and that the dining room appears too impersonal, we continue to strive at improving. However, I was delighted to read that the issues you had encountered were dealt with efficiently.

I do hope you will decide to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Klaudia Kovacs
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We specifically booked the hotel because it advertised parking on site. We arrived at 2.30pm so there were only a couple of cars in the car park. To our horror we found all the free spaces were reserved. The woman on reception told us we had to park in a side street up the road. There were no parking spaces there either and we ended up in the car park near the Premiere Inn. I loved getting up at 7am on Sat and Sunday to put more money in the machine. Won't be staying at this hotel again - oh and the lukewarm showers weren't great either. Very poor.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank psychobob2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlaudiaK3806, Front Office Manager at Country Living St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear psychobob2017,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.
We do advertise on our own and third party websites that private parking is possible on site and a reservation is needed. I am sorry you didn't make a reservation and our car park was full on the day. We do normally recommend parking up the road for free in the residential area as it is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. There's plenty secured car parks around the hotel where you just drive in and pay when you leave.
I am sorry you had lukewarm showers, I will share your feedback with our maintenance team for their immediate action.
Despite the above mentioned issues, I do hope you reconsider your decision and you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Klaudia Kovacs
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We were on a Coast and Country weekend break through Shearings. This was probably the worst experience of all our Shearings type breaks although the most expensive. On this particular break we only had 3 choices from the menu on both nights and this apparently was same menu all the time according to the waitress. Breakfast was best meal although inconsistent. Our room was classed as a superior room but poorly lit , Luke warm shower. To finish everything off there was a wedding on Saturday night which destroyed quiet friendly atmosphere as advertised.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sanelauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlaudiaK3806, Front Office Manager at Country Living St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Sanelauk,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.
I am sorry to learn you found the dinner menu to be limited, most of our guests are happy with the variety of dishes on the menu.
I will share your feedback regarding the brightness of the room and the luke warm shower with the team so that we can make any necessary improvements.
Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and I do hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Klaudia Kovacs
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Well this was a treat! Beautiful hotel with welcoming stylishly dressed staff. Nice comfortable room, huge bed, tea coffee and biscuits. Breakfast was excellent and things were refilled without asking. Literally 2 minute walk from shops pubs and restaurants. Really had a super weekend.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JoanneH320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlaudiaK3806, Front Office Manager at Country Living St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Joanne H,

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your visit and had appreciated the great location in Harrogate, close to many famous sights and attractions. Thank you for highlighting our Friendly staff and delicious breakfast.

I am pleased that you had a memorable experience and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Wishes,
Klaudia Kovacs
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Not as good as we had expected.
Room was small although we knew that would be the case. Shower lukewarm. Towel radiator didn’t work so bathroom was pretty chilly. Phone in room didn’t work. Staff didn’t seem overly interested in the above. Breakfast was very good. Plenty of hot drinks and freshly cooked breakfast rather than buffet.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KlaudiaK3806, Front Office Manager at Country Living St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear Brendan B,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear that we didn't quite meet your expectations on this occasion but I am happy you enjoyed our fantastic breakfast offering.
Despite the above issues, I do hope you give us another chance so we can show you that this was just a one off and next time around we exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Klaudia Kovacs
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews