We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disapointed to find place closed but understand”
Review of Yoko's Teppenyaki - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yoko's Teppenyaki
Price range: US$13 - US$30
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disapointed to find place closed but understand”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We had read the reviews but decided to go and try this place as we love japanese cuisine on walking across to the place it is below an awful looking house, we ventured closer and it was closed. There was an awful smell coming from the place so perhaps it has been closed a while.

Place was very shabby

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctmazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    0
    0
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Truly Awful - Avoid”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We attending Yoko's as part of a business trip. We were the only people in the place, so very little atmosphere. The inside was not particulary pleasant - dog hairs on the grubby carpet, toilets smelling of cats, greasy plates etc. It took a long time for the food to arrive and it was very low quality as Japanese's go. It cost £60 per head, which is way over priced for the food and ambience. Once we'd finished, the English mastiff put in an appearance, and although probably a lovely dog, it's not quite etiquette. The real problem came the following day, when three of us were struck down by food poisoning. Would not recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N0rthernM0nkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

It was our first time to try teppanyaki and we enjoy it. Chef I think was new but he cook infront of us and made great food,specially the rice and the meat. It will be better if there was attention from waiter. If you want to try something different just go and enjoy even bit expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A real mixed bag !”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Shabby looking interior with a carpet that could have done with a good clean. Eccentric but friendly service - the waitress also did the prep and cooking ! Food very good but the experience was spoiled when they took my card details because their card machine was not working and then put through a charge for £89 more than the bill they gave me

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzaleaHarrogate, Manager at Yoko's Teppenyaki, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you very much for coming to Yoko's Teppanyaki. I do apologise for a calculation mistake and the inconvenient. I only charge for one seafood £27 instead of four. I try to contact you but the telephone number i have may be is wrong. You will probably receive copy of letter from your bank. I would like just to tell you that I'm not waitress, I'm original chef and owner as well. Thank you for the good comment for nice experience and hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Mrs Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meols, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We enjoyed a fantastic meal prepared in front of us by the lovely Yoko. By the time we left, we felt like old friends and we also enjoyed the great company of a couple from Sunderland who shared our table. The rice, fish and meat were to die for and on leaving, Yoko saw us out tot the taxi and helped my Father in law in.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank VMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzaleaHarrogate, Owner at Yoko's Teppenyaki, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you very much for this nice comment.Hope to see you again.

Best regards

Mrs Y Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yoko's Teppenyaki also viewed

North Rigton, Harrogate
Brearton, Harrogate
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing