We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with how children are treated”
Review of The Darley Mill Centre - CLOSED

The Darley Mill Centre
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have been here many times because we live only 13 mile away and a nice place to go for lunch and a little shopping trip . The food as always been very good and still is BUT the attitude towards children i do not like one bit . My grandson went to get the activity colouring book and could not see any crayons so i said something to the waitress and she drought some to use and said £1.99 please . Well i could not believe this and asked why they were charging for children's things to play with when we were dinning , she told me because of hygiene so they had to take them home and no other child could use them . I informed her that in all restaurants we have dinned in with our children we have always been given a sheet of colouring paper and a small box of crayons that they take home with them with them . She informed me only the chain dinners do that , I was really not happy and told her her top boss was a money grabbing so and so . She then went away and came back with a waitress pad and two pens for the children to use and they were very happy to then sit and wright and draw . We will not go to this restaurant to eat again .Just be aware if you take your children to this place . They don't even put it on the box that the colouring book was displayed in that they are £1.99 it is in the menu ,not good .Just because mainly older clientele dine at this establishment dose not mean you should treat little ones in this way .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire L, Public Relations Manager at The Darley Mill Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

I am sorry your visit to us at The Darley Mill Centre was a disappointment on this particular occasion, this is not the experience that we strive to achieve, having contacted the appropriate people this review/complaint has been dealt with on a personal level - we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Unexpectedly called in while going to Pately bridge, should is pleasant to look around, building itself and the water wheel all very interesting. Decided to try the café/restaurant, plenty of seats today, we sat out side and decided on afternoon tea for two for £15.

All the servers were pleasant enough and the food was plentiful and very tasty, too much to eat in one sitting ! so we took some cakes away.

The only point was we couldn't decide if we were supposed to order inside ourselves or if someone would come....perhaps a notice on the tables ?

Other than that, highly recommended as a stop off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wazza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire L, Public Relations Manager at The Darley Mill Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your comments - I have taken on board your comments re ordering when seated outside and will pass this information onto the head of staff concerned so that they can address the issue & make it clearer so that the customer knows what is expected of them.

Overall I note that you had a pleasant experience during your time at the Darley Mill Centre & I hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We chanced upon Darley Mill on our way to Pately Bridge and decided to stop for lunch. The restaurant was busy but the staff were friendly and polite. The meals we ordered were hot and delicious. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mumov2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire L, Public Relations Manager at The Darley Mill Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your recent visit to us, we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

visited on the16 april for afternoon .tea with a Tea for Two half price voucher.my friend and I were greeted warmly by a young waitress and shown to our reserved table.i requested green tea with lemon and was told it was fine .we had sandwiches, scones with butter, jam and clotted cream and a selection of cream cakes .Delicious all. the price 7.50 for two.i would highly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire L, Public Relations Manager at The Darley Mill Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments - We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We took my Mother-in-Law and her husband to Darley Mill for a Mother's Day treat, and we ordered the Traditional afternoon tea. We were grudgingly shown to a table after they searched for a while to find a free one, and we placed our order. The tea came quickly enough, and a very surly waitress came and out with some cutlery for us, she was so unfriendly and rude we were actually a little scared of her, and I noticed she was extremely rude to several other customers as well. We had a very long wait before the food arrived and when it did it was OK, but not what we expected for the price; dry sandwiches with no sauce and the crusts still on, DIY scones with everything in plastic sealed packs and some attractive, but very dry cakes. All in all a very disappointing visit, and not at all the treat we were hoping it would be, which was embarrassing. I think the 'scary' waitress ruined it mostly, the food was OK, but we certainly won't be going again, or recommending it, such a pity as the venue is gorgeous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WetherbyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire L, Public Relations Manager at The Darley Mill Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

I am sorry your visit to us at The Darley Mill Centre was a disappointment on this particular occasion, this is not the experience that we strive to achieve, having contacted the appropriate people this review/complaint has been dealt with on a personal level - we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Darley Mill Centre also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
North Rigton, Harrogate
Brearton, Harrogate
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing