We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Deano's Graze & Grill
Ranked #10 of 384 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$53
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sharing Plates & Steaks
Reviewed 19 February 2014

What a fantastic idea to provide tapas style dining with dishes we identify with more traditional UK restaurants. I visited with my wife and we selected 5 dishes to share. The sequence of each dish had been thought out to make sure there was no conflict in tastes. The food was well cooked, with the right about of seasoning, and well presented. The service was excellent, even though the restaurant was full, and the whole evening was highly enjoyable. I would also add this is probably the best organised restaurant I have ever visited.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Oric94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 790 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Myself and fiance visited here for my birthday as she had reserved a table.

The choice of meals available was superb and there was definitely something for everyone on the menu.

We started with the salt and pepper prawns which tasted amazing and the portion size was great!

We then both had the 8oz rump which was also fantastic, also the service was excellent, as all staff were friendly and helpful, the food arrived very promptly which all in all made for an excellent evening.

We shall both definitely be returning!!

Thank AMT1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This restaurant really is a hidden gem, excuse the cliché. They serve their food with a unique flare – grazing platters. Which give you, in just the right portions, a variety of dishes – all beautifully presented. We stopped by for lunch and had the Seafood Board and everything on it was delicious. Followed by gigantic portions of desserts – these could have been half the size and still ample. Highly recommended and worth seeking out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daniinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Having visited last year and been blown away by the Sunday Lunch Menu we were back in Harrogate and it had to be Deano's for lunch. Special Lunch of 2 dishes plus a side each at £11/person. In other words 2 of us shared 4 dishes with sides of Deano's salad & Piri piri chips.

We had Duck confit, Haddock & chips, Jerky Chicken & Falafal. All as superb as previously. The sides were excellent especially Deano's salad.

The service was freindly & excellent even as it filled up. 1 food waitress & 1 drinks waitress.

This place really is an absolute gem. Note - Atmosphere was marked down only because it was a lunchtime. I imagine it will really buzz in an evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RickRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I love steak blue, in an establishment that has 'Grill' in it's name and shouts about steaks I expect much more!
We were very excited having read all the reviews and had tried on a number of occasions but always been closed as doesn't open very early.
The Prawn starter had the best tempura style batter I have had in years, really very good.
The Salmon and Creme Fraiche dish not very good, as a toasted dish you would not expect it to be so cold in the middle, smoked salmon quality very poor too - the type that has smoked flavour infused rather than actually smoked properly.
My ribeye was a joke though - I asked for it Black n Blue, even saying to the staff on arrival that that would be my choice so if the chef wanted to get it to room temp he had plenty of time - that turned out to be a long time as we waited about 15 mins to actually get a drink, when our main courses arrived I was staggered that it was so overcooked, I can accept the occasional medium rare but this was medium well. Totally unacceptable and to top it off the service and fashion by which this was addressed was terrible.
Very surprised that they have the reviews they do considering the basic lack of service and cooking skills we witnessed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Simon_Oe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grazegrill, Owner at Deano's Graze & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We do prefer to deal with issues such as these directly rather than via tripadvisor and we thought the issue of the overcooked steak had been dealt with on the night, therefore saddened to see this review pop up yesterday.

We completely hold our hands up – the steak was overcooked. It was an oversight, a mistake, not because ‘we can’t cook steaks’. However, we will point out that it is almost impossible to have a Rib eye cooked ‘ Black & Blue’ – this method of cooking, also known as the ‘ Pittsburgh Rare’ is charred and crispy on the outside and cool /raw on the inside. The Steel workers in Pittsburgh would cook their lunchtime steak on a cooling piece of steel and the effect was burnt on the outside/ cold on the inside. The Char grill needs to be heated to crazy temperatures - way higher than our char grill will ever go and the steak should be a thicker piece of meat such as Rump or fillet rather than Ribeye which is thinner and marbled with fat.

Perhaps we could have discussed this more with you on the evening. Moving forward, we could perhaps learn from this and discuss the choice of a ‘blue’ steak in more detail with the customer.

We don’t really agree with the other points made :-( To clarify:

• We open every evening at 5.30pm ( except Sunday) – these are our set open times – they don’t alter

• our locally sourced SMOKED salmon is delicious, as is the dish in which it is served

• We thought we dealt with the issue in an obvious manner on the evening– admitted fault, apologised profusely, replaced with a freshly cooked steak and checked you were happy with it - you said you were.

• You walked into a busy restaurant, without a booking and had your drinks and your order taken within 15 minutes.

It always really upsets us to read that someone didn’t enjoy their experience. They say you need to be thick skinned to work in this industry but it never gets any easier to read such a review of your own restaurant – we just try to learn from any mistakes and focus on the positive reviews which we are very grateful for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deano's Graze & Grill also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Deano's Graze & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing