We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Deano's graze & grill
Ranked #7 of 441 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$51
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Sharing Plates & Steaks
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had a lovely meal here, we took the advice of the waiter and picked 5 dishes to share. Which was plenty. Food was beautifully presented and hot!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoydSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grazegrill, Owner at Deano's graze & grill, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us a lovely review - really pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,010
    207
    47
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A much better meal than the obvious places in Harrogate”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Spurred on by Tripadvisor reviews we booked lunch and to be honest we otherwise probably wouldn't have eaten here as the outside is fairly uninspiring. The restaurant is iup a set of stairs above a baby shop and something of a hidden gem.
What can I say? Service was excellent, friendly and quick. Food out of this world! The mixed seafood sharing platter had a range of grazing dishes available on the main menu, Great food, imaginatively cooked and very tasty.
Although quiet when we went in at 12.15, Deano's soon filled up with obviously satisfied customers. The food kept coming, all looked great and I even imagined myself eating one of the bespoke Burgers (though I normally wouldn't touch one).
We would definitely go back. I certainly wouldn't waste time queueing for a table elsewhere with food and drink of this quality available just around the corner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petertheclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grazegrill, Owner at Deano's graze & grill, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review - it all helps to highlight our ' hidden gem'. Hope to see you back to sample a burger soon !

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find ....”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped off at Deanos graze and grill tonight and had the Monday special 'cow night' - tapas style starter and a steak with choice of sauce and a glass of wine or San Miguel for £18.95 each.

We had the seabass, chorizo and new potato graze plate with the king prawns in sweet chilli sauce, both were well presented and very tasty, the steaks came with a very large pile of homemade chips, and mushrooms with sundries tomatoes the steaks were beautifully cooked and seasoned. We ordered a house salad which was delicious - not your usual mixed salad, it came with olives sundries tomatoes and beetroot.
The restaurant is small with an open kitchen and has a lovely atmosphere, for a Monday it was busy although we were seated straight away.

All in all a great night for under £60 including additional drinks .....

Helpful?
Thank Zavarony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grazegrill, Owner at Deano's graze & grill, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks very much for the lovely review - really pleased you found us. You certainly can't beat Monday night 'Cow Night' for good value.

Hope to see you again next time you are in the area.

Sarah Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

An amazing meal, friendly staff and a great atmosphere! I have eaten at Deano's on several occasions and always enjoy the experience. Apologies to the couple who did not enjoy their experience. It was my birthday/wedding celebration and we tried our best to keep our voices as quiet as possible so as not to upset other diners.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grazegrill, Owner at Deano's graze & grill, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed your evening. Thanks for your review and for your continued custom - hope you had a lovely wedding.

See you again soon.

Sarah Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

First time to try this restaurant as often difficult to book at a weekend as very popular. Had the chef's selection. Reasonable, abundant but basic food and good value although only a few items seemed freshly prepared.
Midway through the meal disconcerted to find literally half the restaurant furniture being rearranged for a hen party of 20 young women complete with decorations, balloons etc. Not unreasonably they were soon making a lot of noise and normal conversation impossible. We finished up and left as soon as possible. Waiting staff apologised etc. but what could they do? I blame the restaurant management who must know that this will likely affect the other diners on a Saturday night but seem not to care. Would have welcomed a warning when booking or when they called to confirm and the opportunity to go elsewhere that night!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Doc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grazegrill, Owner at Deano's graze & grill, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks for your review. Further to contacting you directly, I would like to extend my regret that you didn't enjoy your experience. Having read your other reviews of restaurants in Harrogate, it is clear that you enjoy a quieter, more intimate experience. Unfortunately Deano's is not this type of restaurant. Our reviewer below hits the nail on the head 'Fun & Full'. We our regularly very busy and describe the restaurant as having a buzz....

Your comments regarding the food are disappointing. Everything we serve is homemade, freshly prepared and yes served in decent sized portions. Our chefs prep like crazy every day to meet demand therefore I can assure you everything is fresh.

We categorically do not accept hen or stag party bookings. We have had our fingers burned in the past and have learnt our lesson. The booking was from one of our most regular customers celebrating a birthday. This customer has booked numerous large groups in the past couple of years and brings great custom to the restaurant. In her forties, she will be delighted to be called a 'young lady.' I believe one lady in the party was due to be married the following week and someone had given her a 'bride to be' balloon. My assistant manager thought it churlish to ask her to remove it.

Your comments regarding the management of the restaurant couldn't be more wrong. We were absolutely devastated to read this review whilst on holiday. As you can see it is unusual for us to receive such negative feedback and this is a testament to how much we care about our restaurant and it's patrons. We have given our large party policy a lot of thought in the past and we agreed that the maximum party size we take on a weekend is 22. This fits neatly down the side wall of the restaurant without having to divide the party onto 2 tables. We feel this doesn't impact on the other diners experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deano's graze & grill also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Deano's graze & grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing