We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super B&B recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Super B&B recommended”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The Hotel is Bed and Breakfast, the room was very nicely decorated, clean, tidy, comfortable with tea making facilities and en suite shower/toilet with a nice view out of a large bay window. We got a very nice friendly arrival from Judy the proprietor who was very helpful. The B@B is in a very good location - quiet but very close to the town centre and amenities. Parking is street parking outside the hotel in a restricted area but the hotel provides parking permits free. The breakfast was very good with good portions of everything and very hot as it is cooked fresh on request.The hotel has a very friendly atmosphere. I loved Harrowgate and would love to see it in the spring/summer. We enjoyed our stay there and if we do return (very likely) then we will stay at the Welford again.

Room Tip: We had room at front with a pleasant street view from bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billfr0mSc0tland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    28
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
144
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Spent an evening here for my anniversary.As always Richard and Judy were lovely and made us feel welcome.If you travel with dogs I would also recommend the Welford.Thank you for a lovely stay and will be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianwakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed at The Welford for one night during the Christmas Market at the end of November. The owners Judy and Richard were very friendly and helpful. Our room (no 7) was very comfortable with everything we needed. Parking was no problem as Judy gave us a parking permit and we left the car outside for the whole visit. The Welford is in an excellent location only 5 mins walk from the centre of Harrogate. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moviefan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

A friend and I stayed for three nights in November. This was the second time I have used the Welford. Judy and Richard look after us very well. I had a lovely room which had everything I needed for a good stay. I think you would find it hard to find somewhere nicer

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rushton england
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed for 2 nights recently and really enjoyed it. Judy and Richard were perfect hosts and did what they could to make the stay comfortable. Its close to town - 5 mins walk and parking is on street, with permit provided.
Breakfast was excellent, fruit, cereal, cooked breakfast, omelettes etc, all great quality with more toast and drinks if required.
Sleep was a bit interrupted by guests children but you cant blame that on the hosts !

Great stay, will certainly go again when in Harrogate.

Room Tip: Doesnt matter on room choice - all in a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martandvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We chose The Welford for it's excellent location, just minutes walk from the main shopping centre and the conference centre. You can park on the street, Judy & Richard will give you a parking permit which is very handy.
Our room was nicely decorated & had a clean, modern en-suite shower.
Breakfast was great, served by a very good host.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Welford on Saturday 13th October 2012 for a girlie weekend, We had a lovely warm welcome from Judy who gave us tips on were to go in town, the room was lovely, clean and had everything you needed. Breakfast was wonderful withfriendly chat from Richard.

All in in a lovely B&B ran by two lovely people would totally recommend.

Susan

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,727 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#7 of 99 in Harrogate
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welford Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welford Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Welford Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Welford Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welford is a small family owned and run guest house in the heart of Harrogate. Our rooms are not enormous but have all been recently re-furbished to a high standard and cleanliness and guests comfort is paramount to us. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts and all our products are locally sourced, our sausages are homemade, our bacon is dry cured and our eggs are free-range from a small local farm. All rooms have hospitality trays, flat screen TVs, Hair-dryers, complimentary toiletries and Towels. We have free Wi-Fi, free parking permits for guests, and we are also pet friendly. 5 Minutes walk from rail and bus station and a 2 minutes walk from the Harrogate International Conference Centre. Judy & Richard take great pride in offering a home from home atmosphere. Please book early to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Welford Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Welford Bed & Breakfast Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing