We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Welford Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pulborough
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Many years ago we lived in Harrogate and on our way to Durham for a wedding we stayed overnight in the town to catch up with friends. The service at the Welford was fabulous, the breakfast excellent in true Yorkshire tradition and the room very comfortable with all mod cons. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RackhamWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    27
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
133
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

A friendly welcome will wait you at the Welford. The rooms are not huge however the whole experience from the first welcome at the door to the final good-bye really makes you feel special.
The breakfast is comprehensive with lots of choice including fresh fruit and locally sourced sausages and bacon. (The owner's husband is a local butcher famed for his pork pies.)
We were there at the Rotary conference and consider that we made an excellent choice in our accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank widewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferryhill
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed at this b&b for 1 night mid week. Found the whole experience very pleasing.
Upon arriving we were greeted by Judy who i can only say made the expereice extra special. She helped us with our car parking needs as well as providing a great knowledge of local eateries. We visited one of her reccomendations and we were not dissapointed. We actually ate there for dinner and tea as it was that good.
The room was spotless and the hotel was warm throughout.
The breakfast on the morning of check out was of 5* standard. A wide selection available, ranging from your traditional breakfast, thru to fresh fruit and youghurts.
I would definantly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is a really great place to stay, Judy and Richard are so welcoming nothing was too much trouble, Ideal location and provided us with a parking permit as soon as we arrived.
Really lovely breakfast, great room and such a warm welcoming feeling in the house.
Looking forward to returning, thanks for a brilliant time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

When I arrived, there was no parking space outside. The lady in charge immediately moved one of her cars so that I could park. I received such a warm welcome, it was more like seeing an old friend again. Nothing was too much trouble. I slept really well, and the room was immaculate. The en-suite was very clean and functional. Breakfast was fabulous, whether you were looking for luxury yoghurts, fresh fruit, beautiful fry-up or freshly made piping hot tea and toast. They had everything, and I was very impressed at what you get for the money. Will definitely recommend to anyone. Well done all!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Just enjoyed a really nice overnight stay.The hosts Judy&Richard are so welcoming and friendly.The en-suite room was very clean and comfortable.The breakfast was truly FAB-loads of choice plus excellent sausages (be nice to Judy and you might get an extra one!!)This B&B is in an ideal location being only a 5 minute walk to the town centre.would highly recommend this place to family and friends.thanks guys..Andy,Angela,Betty&the one and only ALAN xx

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

The Hotel is Bed and Breakfast, the room was very nicely decorated, clean, tidy, comfortable with tea making facilities and en suite shower/toilet with a nice view out of a large bay window. We got a very nice friendly arrival from Judy the proprietor who was very helpful. The B@B is in a very good location - quiet but very close to the town centre and amenities. Parking is street parking outside the hotel in a restricted area but the hotel provides parking permits free. The breakfast was very good with good portions of everything and very hot as it is cooked fresh on request.The hotel has a very friendly atmosphere. I loved Harrowgate and would love to see it in the spring/summer. We enjoyed our stay there and if we do return (very likely) then we will stay at the Welford again.

Room Tip: We had room at front with a pleasant street view from bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billfr0mSc0tland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn
#12 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#5 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welford Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welford Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Welford Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Welford Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welford is a small family owned and run guest house in the heart of Harrogate. Our rooms are not enormous but have all been recently re-furbished to a high standard and cleanliness and guests comfort is paramount to us. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts and all our products are locally sourced, our sausages are homemade, our bacon is dry cured and our eggs are free-range from a small local farm. All rooms have hospitality trays, flat screen TVs, Hair-dryers, complimentary toiletries and Towels. We have free Wi-Fi, free parking permits for guests, and we are also pet friendly. 5 Minutes walk from rail and bus station and a 2 minutes walk from the Harrogate International Conference Centre. Judy & Richard take great pride in offering a home from home atmosphere. Please book early to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Welford Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Welford Bed & Breakfast Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing