We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were given a very warm welcome on arrival. The room was spotlessly clean, the shower excellent and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast included a great selection of cereals and fresh fruit and a choice of cooked options - the omelette was very good. If we go back to Harrogate we know where we want to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    27
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
136
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here last weekend and loved our stay from start to finish. We were greeted by the owner Judy who couldn't have been more welcoming, it set things up for a great weekend and made us feel at home.

The rooms were lovely - not overly big but with enough room to relax, the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was nice and modern. We slept well and the breakfast the next morning was brilliant. We had cereal, fruit and full English which were all great, especially the sausages which we couldn't wait for after finding out Richard was a local butcher.

All in all a brilliant place to stay which was made by Judy and Richard who are so easy to get along with and down to earth, you couldn't wish for better owners. We'll definitely be back and anyone wanting a trip to Harrogate should stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodObsessive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Many years ago we lived in Harrogate and on our way to Durham for a wedding we stayed overnight in the town to catch up with friends. The service at the Welford was fabulous, the breakfast excellent in true Yorkshire tradition and the room very comfortable with all mod cons. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RackhamWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

A friendly welcome will wait you at the Welford. The rooms are not huge however the whole experience from the first welcome at the door to the final good-bye really makes you feel special.
The breakfast is comprehensive with lots of choice including fresh fruit and locally sourced sausages and bacon. (The owner's husband is a local butcher famed for his pork pies.)
We were there at the Rotary conference and consider that we made an excellent choice in our accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferryhill
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed at this b&b for 1 night mid week. Found the whole experience very pleasing.
Upon arriving we were greeted by Judy who i can only say made the expereice extra special. She helped us with our car parking needs as well as providing a great knowledge of local eateries. We visited one of her reccomendations and we were not dissapointed. We actually ate there for dinner and tea as it was that good.
The room was spotless and the hotel was warm throughout.
The breakfast on the morning of check out was of 5* standard. A wide selection available, ranging from your traditional breakfast, thru to fresh fruit and youghurts.
I would definantly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is a really great place to stay, Judy and Richard are so welcoming nothing was too much trouble, Ideal location and provided us with a parking permit as soon as we arrived.
Really lovely breakfast, great room and such a warm welcoming feeling in the house.
Looking forward to returning, thanks for a brilliant time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

When I arrived, there was no parking space outside. The lady in charge immediately moved one of her cars so that I could park. I received such a warm welcome, it was more like seeing an old friend again. Nothing was too much trouble. I slept really well, and the room was immaculate. The en-suite was very clean and functional. Breakfast was fabulous, whether you were looking for luxury yoghurts, fresh fruit, beautiful fry-up or freshly made piping hot tea and toast. They had everything, and I was very impressed at what you get for the money. Will definitely recommend to anyone. Well done all!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#5 of 100 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Camberley
The Camberley
#10 of 100 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welford Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welford Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Welford Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Welford Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welford is a small family owned and run guest house in the heart of Harrogate. Our rooms are not enormous but have all been recently re-furbished to a high standard and cleanliness and guests comfort is paramount to us. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts and all our products are locally sourced, our sausages are homemade, our bacon is dry cured and our eggs are free-range from a small local farm. All rooms have hospitality trays, flat screen TVs, Hair-dryers, complimentary toiletries and Towels. We have free Wi-Fi, free parking permits for guests, and we are also pet friendly. 5 Minutes walk from rail and bus station and a 2 minutes walk from the Harrogate International Conference Centre. Judy & Richard take great pride in offering a home from home atmosphere. Please book early to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Welford Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Welford Bed & Breakfast Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing