We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay with terrific hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 101 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place to stay with terrific hosts.”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Welford last weekend. It was an excellent choice and we were treated very well by hosts Judy and Richard, who are lovely. Our room was spotless, modern, with everything we needed. The breakfast the next morning was outstanding. Richard is an award winning sausage maker so be sure to have the sausages. All local food, excellent coffee and much more food than we could finish. The Welford is ideally situated to walk around town, the Turkish Baths, shops, museums etc. I would definitely stay there again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Welford to anyone wanting a friendly, local experience.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificSandsLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    27
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
140
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Hykeham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We chose to stay for one night on the way home from the Lake District. We should have stayed here instead. The room we had was superb. Breakfast was plentiful with a great selection and well prepared. The parking is by a local permit but this is not an issue as Judy has a supply for visitors to use.
The town centre is only a few minutes walk away and Judy is a great source of local knowledge. She is warm and friendly and makes your stay personal to you.
Will we be back? You bet we will.

Room Tip: Room 2 had the biggest bed I have ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Spent just 1 night here for a friends reunion. For the size of the place it is very comfortable, reasonably priced and near the town centre. Maybe it's not a great place if you need to park a car but if travelling by train it's quite convenient.

The breakfast was excellent and plenty of it. All in all a great weekend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bevandjasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

5 of us spent 4 nights at the Welford. Judy whom we saw most of was welcoming and chatty. The breakfasts were superb with a particularly fine selection of fruits. Rooms, although small were comfortable and warm. The centre of Harrogate is only a few minutes walk away and parking is not too bad Judy has permits which allow you to park all day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Richard and Judy are so warm and welcoming. The rooms are spotless and the beds comfy with lovely soft linens and breakfast was wonderful and hot with lots to choose from. The location is perfect for shops and restaurants and the train and coach stations are within walking distance. We had a lovely stay. Thanks Richard and Judy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at the Welford and it rates as one of the best B & Bs we have stayed at. Not having SatNav we got lost and poor Judy had to stand in the middle of the road waving at us which got the visit off to a great start. The room was really warm, clean and comfortable and the breakfasts amazing, all needs catered for. The Welford is perfectly placed for visiting Harrogate itself and any worry about parking was sorted out by Judy who also recommended eating places.
Altogether, it's the only place we would consider staying at when we return to Harrogate. The only snag about recommending it so highly is that there might not be room for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piglet539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Overnight stay with my partner. Greeted very warmly by Judy, made us feel very welcome, very helpful advice about the area. Room excellent, very clean and the breakfast was perfect. Permit for parking was ideal and was renewed the next day so we could spend another day in Harrogate. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 657Christine657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.1 mi away
The Camberley
The Camberley
#10 of 101 in Harrogate
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 101 in Harrogate
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welford Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welford Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Welford Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Welford Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welford is a small family owned and run guest house in the heart of Harrogate. Our rooms are not enormous but have all been recently re-furbished to a high standard and cleanliness and guests comfort is paramount to us. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts and all our products are locally sourced, our sausages are homemade, our bacon is dry cured and our eggs are free-range from a small local farm. All rooms have hospitality trays, flat screen TVs, Hair-dryers, complimentary toiletries and Towels. We have free Wi-Fi, free parking permits for guests, and we are also pet friendly. 5 Minutes walk from rail and bus station and a 2 minutes walk from the Harrogate International Conference Centre. Judy & Richard take great pride in offering a home from home atmosphere. Please book early to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Welford Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Welford Bed & Breakfast Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing