We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Place To Stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife & I were travelling to Harrogate to stay for one night to attend a party. We we looking for somewhere that was in close proximity to the Town Centre that was good value and included a breakfast.

We found The Welford and from the reviews that it had received we booked.

We were not disappointed. Richard & Judy were great hosts, very welcoming and informative. Our room was lovely, a Queen Size Bed, good quality TV and coffee/tea making services made it homely, even though for just one night.

The bathroom was modern and immaculately clean.

In the morning the breakfast was excellent, a Full English made to order with eggs of your choice, plenty of fruit, cereals and juices etc. All served with a smile.

If you want good quality affordable accommodation without the extras a hotel "may" give you then this B&B is the one to stay in.

Room Tip: We were in room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    28
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
141
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moreton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 22nd November 2013, we were greeted and treated like old friends. The room was spotless, the breakfast had everything you could think of. I can`t praise the owner enough, we would definitely recommend it. It is in an easy walk to station and centre of Harrogate.

Room Tip: Read reviews carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Catching up on my reviews and couldn't miss this B&B out. We stayed at the beginning of October as we were in the area. The guest house does not have parking but we managed to get parked on the road just a little further up the road.
Our twin room was lovely and clean, I had made the mistake of not asking for a double room but that was my fault not the owners. The whole house was just really welcoming. Steady walk into town didn't take more than 10 mins.
Breakfast the next morning was outstanding. Loads to choose from cereals, fresh raspberries,fruit and a choice of hot food. Couldn't have asked for anything else. We would definitely stay there again if we are nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at the Welford with my wife for one night after reading the reviews as we fancied a trip to explore Harrogate. We were not disappointed with either . The Welford is an easy 10 mins walk from the Station in the centre of town. There is an Asda around the corner and the Bus station is also very close. The owners are very friendly with good advice and nothing seems too much trouble. The room had a very large and extremely comfortable bed ( The best nights sleep I have had in a long while ) The room was very clean and modern the shower is large and powerful. The full English breakfast is very good there is also a large choice of cereal and more fresh fruits than I have seen in a hotel or B&B before. You can book direct with the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliveoHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I know it's all been said by your other corresponents but felt I had to add my voice to all the other accolades for this Guest House. We arrived early to be greeted like long lost friends and were told our room was ready and were given a parking permit for on street parking. The room was bright and airy with good coffee making facilities and biscuits.The Guest House was well placed for shops, theatres and restaurants.
The breakfast was excellent with free range bacon, sausage and eggs and everything locally produced.
Judy treated everyone like friends to such an extent that we didn't want to leave. Harrogate is such a great place to stay and now wev'e discovered such a wonderful place to overnight it won't be long before we're back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

stayed last weekend at the welford, and it was lovely,judy and richard could'nt be more friendly or helpful.the whole place was spotless,comfy bed and good shower.breakfast was amazing with lots of choice and cooked to perfection,could not fault the place or the lovely owners!would stay again if in harrogate as its in a good location not far from the centre and on a quiet street.thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Welford last weekend. It was an excellent choice and we were treated very well by hosts Judy and Richard, who are lovely. Our room was spotless, modern, with everything we needed. The breakfast the next morning was outstanding. Richard is an award winning sausage maker so be sure to have the sausages. All local food, excellent coffee and much more food than we could finish. The Welford is ideally situated to walk around town, the Turkish Baths, shops, museums etc. I would definitely stay there again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Welford to anyone wanting a friendly, local experience.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificSandsLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 100 in Harrogate
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#4 of 100 in Harrogate
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welford Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welford Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Welford Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Welford Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welford is a small family owned and run guest house in the heart of Harrogate. Our rooms are not enormous but have all been recently re-furbished to a high standard and cleanliness and guests comfort is paramount to us. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts and all our products are locally sourced, our sausages are homemade, our bacon is dry cured and our eggs are free-range from a small local farm. All rooms have hospitality trays, flat screen TVs, Hair-dryers, complimentary toiletries and Towels. We have free Wi-Fi, free parking permits for guests, and we are also pet friendly. 5 Minutes walk from rail and bus station and a 2 minutes walk from the Harrogate International Conference Centre. Judy & Richard take great pride in offering a home from home atmosphere. Please book early to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Welford Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Welford Bed & Breakfast Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing