We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock On.”
Review of Brimham Rocks

Brimham Rocks
Ranked #3 of 82 things to do in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An amazing collection of weird and wonderful rock formations: a great day out for families, climbers and those who love the outdoors.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rock On.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a great Natural playground. Climbed a few high ones to stunning views. Pity I'd forgot my camera.;-( These rock formations are awesome. We felt like kids exploring the wild west.
Would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HaddingtonBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,190
    439
    71
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic, slightly nerve wracking, cheap day out!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderful scenery, with rock formations of all sizes for kids to climb, squeeze through, and hide behind. Parking is a few pounds, other than this there is no charge. Snack bar, picnic tables, toilets, and a small museum and shop. I visited with a friend, and between us we had four children from six to ten years old, all really enjoyed the day and easily passed a few hours.

A great day out. Although remember it is often easier to climb up than down - fortunately tall helpful people were near enough to assist when one of our party got stuck on top of a rock!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FamilyDal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect picnic spot”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lovely place. We enjoyed rock climbing and the views of Yorkshire are spectacular. We chose to picnic at Brimham Rocks and had such a lovely time. There was a small cafe so we could get a fresh cup of coffee during the day. Great way to spend a sunny afternoon. Would definitely recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unbelievable rock formations”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

These extensive large rock formations are almost unbelievable. Delightful place for children to explore. Interesting and informative displays in the visitors' centre. May be muddy - have appropriate footwear, and it can be cold, catching the wind. Good choice of light refreshments; picnic benches and in adverse weather you can take your picnic into the visitors' centre. Interesting demonstration of dry-stone walling when we visited - you could have a go and chat to the experts.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RussellAS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a wonderful place for children to play. It far exceeded my children's expectations. They are aged 10 and 8 and played happily here for a good few hours. The opportunities for climbing really cool and plentiful rock formations is second to none. Yes, It is a little bit more commercialised than i would ideally like; but my children like many others like the ice cream shop and the gift shop, so i guess there is always a compromise to be made. We always intended our visit to be part of a longer walk and so parked at Pately Bridge and did a 6/7 mile circular walk to pass through Brimham rocks at about the half way point. For all those who want to have some time away from the crowds and avoid the expensive car park this plan may also work well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank b0bbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brimham Rocks also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Brimham Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing