We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Ripley Castle and Gardens
Ranked #6 of 83 things to do in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cheshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We attended a friends wedding at Ripley Castle, which was fabulous from start to finish.

We stayed at The Boars Head which is situated within the castle grounds, we were given a free pass to access the castle and tour.

We all enjoyed the tour, it was interesting and not too long! The grounds are beautiful and worth a walk round!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebrob1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    254
    51
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ripley Castle Gardens”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A nice sunny afternoon looking around Ripley Castle Gardens. Free if you are a member of RHS.
Great car parking nearby and plenty of places to get refreshments and a tourist type shop.
There is a nice walled garden, but would have been better a month ago when the roses were in bloom. Also a nice wooded area to walk around and a lake. There is small children's playground and also an events area,I think you would have to pre book the adventure events area.
We didn't tour the house, but from what we could see it looked nice. A nice venue for a wedding which there was one to-day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 112rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most interesting Castle”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We enjoyed the very informative and interesting tour led by an enthusiastic guide. The castle has many treasures espaecially relics from the English Civil War.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bill1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Not only historic it is a home too. Beautifully kept and very interesting,also visit the little church which is also historic. The grounds are magnificent,deer roaming about, lovely leisurely walks in full Yorkshire splendour. In the grounds there are various shops,a deli and a gift shop plus good cafes. Enjoy a walk around Ripley where you will see a variety of shops ,including an excellent butchers and of course the famous ice cream outlet. On the whole a very pleasant day out with plenty of parking space. It is also on a very good bus route. Try the Boars Head ,great food and cool drinks on a warm day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paulineworrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Cumbria
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Idilc”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I filmed a wedding at Ripley Castle earlier this month. I just wanted to say what a perfect wedding venue it is. Beautiful surroundings, incredibly helpful staff, and great indoor space. Hope to visit again soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cathandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripley Castle and Gardens also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Been to Ripley Castle and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing