We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ripley and the Boars Head”

Ripley Castle and Gardens
Ranked #5 of 81 things to do in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ripley and the Boars Head”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Loved the village, Castle and it's grounds. Didn't care for the Boars Head - tired rooms and poor food. But if you do decide to stay, make sure a wedding party is not booked in at the same time. We were kept awake until after 3.00 am with very rowdy revelers under our window (which we could not close as it was so hot) who then moved on to another part of the hotel but could still be heard. Thought the duty manager might have had a word to be mindful of other guests....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    252
    50
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easy to visit on the bus”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We visited by bus from Leeds and had a great day out. The 36 bus dropped us off at the castle and we enjoyed a lovely light lunch in the tea room before a walk through the grounds. Then we had a castle tour - very good value and interesting with just the right level of detail. The guide took trouble to interest each member of the group over a very wide age range. We finished with a stroll in the walled gardens and a drink and a cake in the tea room before crossing the road for the bus home. All very easy and relaxed with plenty that we'd like to enjoy again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sezziebeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quaint and beautiful”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

On Saturday afternoon, we visited the lovely Ripely castle and grounds.
Having treated ourselves to the famous ice cream , we went to a smashing little art gallery and then on to an antique fair.

Walking around this beautiful village in the sun , we were amazed by the number of visitors from all over the world.
It really is a gem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We attended a friends wedding at Ripley Castle, which was fabulous from start to finish.

We stayed at The Boars Head which is situated within the castle grounds, we were given a free pass to access the castle and tour.

We all enjoyed the tour, it was interesting and not too long! The grounds are beautiful and worth a walk round!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebrob1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ripley Castle Gardens”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A nice sunny afternoon looking around Ripley Castle Gardens. Free if you are a member of RHS.
Great car parking nearby and plenty of places to get refreshments and a tourist type shop.
There is a nice walled garden, but would have been better a month ago when the roses were in bloom. Also a nice wooded area to walk around and a lake. There is small children's playground and also an events area,I think you would have to pre book the adventure events area.
We didn't tour the house, but from what we could see it looked nice. A nice venue for a wedding which there was one to-day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 112rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripley Castle and Gardens also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Been to Ripley Castle and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing