We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“full of interest”

Ripley Castle and Gardens
Ranked #6 of 82 things to do in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“full of interest”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Very interesting tour made better by pat the very knowledgeable guide.The house is full of history and interest.A house that at different times hosted Oliver Cromwell downstairs and King James V1 upstairs is very special.There is a lovely marriage window by the beautiful main staircase. And there is also a delightful spiral staircase.Which leads to the upper room which has a priesthole. I liked the tearoom I had the Yorkshire rarebit. Tasty with a tangy mustard hit.There is a good deli too.I bought Ripley made marmalade and piccalilli. Ripley village is lovely also.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    264
    54
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Guided castle tour is a must.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Ripley castle is steeped in 700 years of the Ingleby family, the best way to find out about it is with a guided tour which will last a good hour. The tour we went on was conducted by Richard and I have to say it is the best tour I have ever been on, he spoke with a clear, concise, paced and friendly voice, the balance of information between the Ingleby family, the castle and various objects in each room was perfect and kept our interest throughout, spot on Richard. In the grounds there is a gift shop and tearoom, there are walled gardens and a lakeside walk which if you get the weather are worth a look.
If you are thinking of staying in the area the Boars Head hotel is on part of the estate virtually next door, we stayed there and is very nice.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Nice Gardens - Tearoom disappointing”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We visited the gardens today and decided initially to stop and have some lunch in the tea rooms. The welcome was OK and we were sat fairly quickly. Choices available again were OK. We didn't check too closely and my wife ordered a fish finger sandwich and I the rarebit. Rarebit was tastey although maybe a little too much mustard (I enjoyed it). The fish finger sandwich was apparently on the children's menu, which we didn't notice but at nearly £4 couldn't believe what turned up. It was one crushed bread cake, covered in butter/margarine and 3 cheap and nasty fish fingers. Not white fish but very very grey. They were foul in taste as well. My wife didn't eat more than a bite. When the waitress came to collect it we advise that it was not pleasant at all. she didn't even ask why,

When paying we again were asked if we enjoyed our meal, and again said that the fish finger sandwich was disappointing and was not eaten. We were then informed it is a chargeable item, not what was wrong or an apology. Very poor customer service. We explained why we felt that it was not good and the cashier was quick to say that she has had one and enjoyed it and what did we expect as it was on the children's menu. Even if it was on the children's menu and if we had children there we would have expected food fit to be eaten and at least not from the value section of a cheap wholesaler. Whoever is in charge of the food you really need to take care of the children as well. Not make it an easy profit maker.

Moving onto the garden - it was a pleasant walk with some lovely viewpoints. Next time we will perhaps look around the castle on one of their tours, but will eat before we arrive!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ywurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colvin, Owner at Ripley Castle and Gardens, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your day out at Ripley Castle and am grateful to you for sharing with us all the things that you enjoyed about your visit to the castle and gardens, in 3.5 lines.

I am, however, very sorry that you didn't enjoy the fish finger butty that you mistakenly ordered from our children's menu, Anyone who devotes 23.5 lines to a disappointing fish cake butty has a serious point to make. We buy the fish fingers from a reputable source and have had no previous (or subsequent) complaints about them. Having just broken several open we didn't find any that were grey. Sadly, fish fingers aren't what they used to be: cod is seldom used nowadays because it's in short supply and expensive, and the fish used instead isn't nearly as flavorsome. The fish fingers of our youth were undoubtedly better quality than the ones sold today. Most children know that in order to enhance the flavor, they need to apply a healthy dollop of ketchup, We will not rest until we have sourced some tastier fish fingers. Please get in touch (enquiries@ripleycastle.co.uk) and we will arrange a fish finger tasting. Our visitors deserve better fish fingers and you can lead the fight back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Castle, excellent guided tour.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Imaculate grounds, very interesting Castle, encompassing a mixture of periods. The lady who guided us around was excellent, witty, to the point and we would have missed so much without you! (Sorry we didn't get your name). Nice place to get married too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice but disappointed”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Spent a pleasant morning in Ripley Castle making our own way around and speaking to the tour guides who were very knowledgeable. If you wanted to do a guided tour I would check in advance. We wanted to do the children's tour but it wasn't on, not told why. Also, had a bit of a disappointing time in the tea rooms, we planned to stop for some lunch, there was no vegan option on the menu so I requested toast and jam but was told they could only serve toast during the breakfast period, so as there wasn't any other choice but tea or coffee we left.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarcraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colvin, Owner at Ripley Castle and Gardens, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Although The Castle Tearoom doesn't offer toast during the lunchtime session, we do offer a wide range of options that are suitable for vegans: you could, for instance, have enjoyed a delicious home-baked fruit scones, cake, baked poatato with or without a filling, a vegan salad or a salad sandiwch or panini.

Our hugely popular Children's tours are operated on weekends and throughout the summer holidays, as advertised in our leaflet and on our website - at 1145 and 1.45.: If anyone needs further information they are always welcome to ring us on 01423 770152 or email enquiries@ripleycastle.co.uk. The normal guided tours of the castle will resume in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripley Castle and Gardens also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Been to Ripley Castle and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing