We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch 2nd Feb 2014” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chequers inn

Chequers inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chequers inn
Ranked #55 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch 2nd Feb 2014”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We drove to thus establishment with our 17 yr ok'd daughter and 2 grandsons aged 9 and 2 looking fwd to a nice family lunch! Both boys were holding our hands and as usual behaving beautifully.
On arrival we thought it looked shabby but thought it would be better inside... It wasn't!
As we entered the bar area a surly looking barman called to his female colleague who promptly told us to leave as under 12's were not allowed on the premises by law!
They call themselves an 'Hotel and Restaurant' .... That's a joke! It's nothing more than a shabby little eatery with a dislike of young people! I would advise to stay well clear!! In this day and age most pubs/ hotels and restaurants welcome family's and those that don't are dying.... Thank The Lord!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank YorkshireHolidayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    26
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
20
32
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Otley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I had been told about the Chequers from friends who had stayed there previously so we formed a party of 6 and booked to stay at the Chequers on New Years Eve. We were given four ground floor rooms which were warm and comfortable and we were even allowed to bring our dog . Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming . The food served on New Years Eve was absolutely EXCELLENT as was the breakfast the next morning. We will definitely return to the Chequers in the future and recommend it to more friends.

Helen and Ian plus friends

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

a table was booked and we sat in a lovely booth we went on Wednesday midweek deal £10 the service was good and 4 of us ordered 1 fillet 2 sirloin and 1 rib eye all cooked perfect stilton sauce was gorgeous good helping of salad and chips the onion rings were gorgeous but only got 3 and 4 on our portions so not good! toilets were tidy and clean up to arm height above bit dusty but only nit picking as it was a lovely tasty enjoying evening and WOULD definitely return and try the puddings next time !!! only problem location have to drive but worth it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife, 2 year old daughter, and I, called in last Sunday to try and get some lunch having been told it was a good choice. Upon arrival, we noticed the dated appearance and shabby entrance but thought it would be better on the inside. We walked in (daughter in hand being very well behaved)and not knowing where to go, turned right into the lounge bar. Whilst we were getting our bearings, the obnoxious bar man saw us, and simply pointed at our daughter and basically shouted"no, get out". We were obviously taken back but thought he had meant get out of the bar. However, we were actually being asked to leave the pub, as they have a no children policy.
We were astounded by the rudeness of the staff, having eaten at many places, and never been spoken to like this before.
We will never go back, and would recommend anybody else passing this place avoids it at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lovely quiet site, little walk for the dogs, it's a carvery pub and the food is gorgeous, and the staff are lovely. The shower/toilet block needs updating and there is only one shower. I found it strange that this you have to walk through the static caravans to get to it, rather than being on the actual camp site, also the only bin we found was a big skip next to the hotel, again not near the camp site. The elsan waste is hidden behind the ladies toilets. It was lovely and centrally located for us and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kandidandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Visited on a Wednesday for the steak night and so glad we did.

So often, when you go for a 'value' meal, the quality is compromised. Its certainly not the case here. Six diners wen't in - six very happy diners came out.

For a Wednesday, the place was buzzing, and rightly so.

We all skipped starters and concentrated on the steaks which arrived with chips and salad. Onion rings and pepper sauce were extras, but well worth it. A nice touch was the little flag on the steak to signify rare/medium etc. All six were cooked to perfection and it was clean plates all round.

Puddings were excellent - generous portions with a wide range of choice.

Can't wait to go back to sample the carvery - heard excellent reports, so watch this space!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonr932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were recommended to this hotel and it certainly lived up to what we had been told about it. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The room we had was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was excellent and overall it was good value for money. Unfortunately we were not around in the evenings to eat in the restaurant of the hotel. We have relatives in the area so would definitely use this accommodation again in the future. Its situation makes it easy to get to all the local places of interest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hils12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
The George
The George
#36 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Wellington Inn
The Wellington Inn
#29 of 104 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#56 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sophie's B&B
Sophie's B&B
#59 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Market Tavern
The Market Tavern
#13 of 17 in Knaresborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers inn

Property: Chequers inn
Address: Fountains Abbey Rd. | Bishop Thornton, Harrogate, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chequers inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chequers inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing