We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average but not 4 stars”
Review of The Kestrel

The Kestrel
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kestrel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 442 Restaurants in Harrogate
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Kestrel in Harrogate is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Better than average but not 4 stars”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The location and building is great, the outside area at the back is a lovely sun trap and the whole place is well designed and clean. Main drawback is the very long trek to the toilets! The food is good and they have some deals on mid week, however the portions reflect the price and when you think you are getting a good deal you may find yourself still hungry afterwards.
Good service and enjoy going.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Oe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    164
    80
    68
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Stopover”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Recommended by son in law, phoned at 1pm if they had a room available for the night which was positive. Arrived at 5pm, the pub was extremely busy with diners from the Harrogate Flower Show but we were dealt with extremely efficiently, shown the room and were told a table would be available for us to dine.
Food was excellent pub food, service by Gemma first class. The room was comfortable and clean, bathroom with all facilities. Breakfast was more than adequate and our scrambled eggs on toast served by the lady cook.
I would certainly stay here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swiscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food & reasonable prices!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here Sat 10th May! Restaurant very busy but staff welcoming & friendly! Table ready after a few minutes. The food we ordered arrived in good time! We both had pies & the food was delicious! This is not fine dining but good pub food! The staff were attentive & our waitress Alison was very friendly & helpful! We will visit this pub again when we are in the area!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Merc350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The best puds!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Great family meal. Disappointed with the fish pie though as not as good as prev visits (some new potatoes hard as bullets!). Kids given veg and new pots not chips & peas but they couldn't have brought replacements faster. Wild boat and chorizo burger excellent. Really lovely staff are their asset.
Amazing apple and plum crumble - you have to share as so big but gorgeous with ice cream and custard. The kids adore the churros. Good pub grub.

Helpful?
Thank CLJ225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good service, OK food”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Called in for lunch today on return from meeting in Harrogate to home in Lincolnshire. Very friendly and helpful staff with good customer service. The menu was varied and the choices we made were a mix from the lunch/light bites and main menu. Main course slightly over priced for the portion - fish pie, but light bites serving size seemed a better choice - Scampi medley.
Environment very pleasant, it was a beautifully sunny afternoon and everywhere looks good in the sunshine, however the furnishings, inside and out, were all clean and well maintained.
Chocolate Brownie pudding was very nice, and coffee served in good sized cups - always a welcome close to a lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickyMWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kestrel also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Kestrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing