We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty good place to eat”

Timberlake's Bistro
Ranked #24 of 442 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$31
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A pretty good place to eat”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We recently visited Timberlakes for the second time in about 6 months. It’s a small place with no more than 8 or 9 tables. Most of the menu was the same as on our first visit and is printed on the place mats. There is though, a specials board and it was from there that we chose our main course – an excellent venison daube served on a bed of mashed potato. The portion size was sensible rather than being overwhelming as quite often happens in Yorkshire. We followed the daube with crème brulée, again excellent. Service was good and the atmosphere very pleasant and friendly. Two minor quibbles – it can be quite difficult to contact Timberlakes by phone to reserve a table and their range of aperitifs was limited with no Martini Rosso available and an American gin being “pushed”.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JanandBrian_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    85
    10
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cracking little restaurant”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Coming from Harrogate i have eaten in most places and fancied somewhere different.

I booked here for a special meal with the trouble and strife.

So glad i failed to book in the first choice as the service, food and selection of wine & beers were 1st class.

I will be going again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Sunday lunch!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Amazing food, fantastic wine and first class service!

I've eaten at Timberlake's a few times before and have always enjoyed the experience. Sometimes, even the simplest dishes can be wonderful, for example, the French onion soup is stunning.

The Sunday lunches are a real treat. The quality of the food is fantastic, a range of meats are offered and the Yorkshire puddings are the size of your head! Finally the gravy is absolutely sensational.

It's reasonably priced and if you're ever in the area, you'll be doing yourself a massive favour by going there.

I hope you enjoy is as much as I do.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ubernic1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The service from the host was first class . It was a treat to be so well looked after and helped with our food choices. Small changes i.e. no bacon with the scallops and no mushrooms with the pigeon were easily accommodated. We could hear the food being freshly cooked. We felt very at home and unrushed. The food was fantastic. A wonderful experience. Well worth a visit. Thank you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicesterDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
470 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“something different”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We visited this place before the theatre and found the service very good. The beer selection and wine were excellent.
There is a regular menu and daily specials. The scallop starter was lovely so was the duck which was smoked and served with a salad. The halloumi starter was served with a lovely salad and had something different about it.
My main was the prawn risotto which was delicious, a vegetarian risotto was good but the beg a little undercooked for my sisters taste.
The best dish of the night was the venison in a rich chocolate gravy. This was done to perfection and certainly something we had never seen before.
The setting is very intimate but not pretentious.
Would recommend this as the price for the four of us was very reasonable with all the beer that we tasted.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timberlake's Bistro also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Timberlake's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing