We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and informative”

Royal Pump Rooms Museum
Ranked #14 of 82 things to do in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Worth popping along for a visit. Pleased the spa side is no lonher in use having heard a description and the content of the water tasted. Health & Safety would never allow these days and be warned of the strong smell of sulpher. There was also an exhibition of early Harrogate and of synthetic clothes which brought back my youth. I can remember Mam wearing Crimplene dresses.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise2955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    213
    119
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit back in time”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Enjoyed the museum and talk and to go downstairs into the pump room, the guide gave good information all about Harrogate, and the springs and special waters

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Penricev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Small, interesting but could be more”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Not expensive £3.95 each, a vision of time gone by, shame couldn't combine visit with a visit to the Turkish baths. Harrogate is a beautiful City well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cags1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
718 reviews
302 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
“Why visit when we cannot see the waters or sample it? Would prefer seeing local artifacts than Egyptian relics!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Royal Pump Room Museum, sorry to say, was a total let-down in terms of what there was to see, or lack thereof. For £3.85 each admission fee, it was rather expensive.

To our disappointment we could not see any of the famous waters or even sample it!

There are mainly informative boards and displays but nothing to talk about. The closest you’ll get to the baths is seeing the large boards outlining the types of treatments visitors received. There is more information on fashion and Egyptian relics than there is on Harrogate, its famous visitors, history and the functioning of the Pump Room.

The most interesting thing about our museum visit was learning about Agatha Christie's connection to Harrogate, but that's about it. Everything else we saw here, we could have gotten out of a textbook! Sad to say really.

The Pump Room of today is virtually empty and devoid of anything but a desk, bench and a hole covered with Plexiglas down which you peer to see nothing but a shallow tunnel. The Museum would do well to turn it into a place where visitors to Harrogate can once again come to socialise. Tea Rooms or an elegant restaurant would be a great idea, or even a local Tourism office /shop. So much can be done to use and share the building rather than keeping it as a sterile, empty environment!

I could suggest that you save your money, but I guess the admission fee likely goes toward ongoing preservation of this landmark for future generations to enjoy. So, in a sense, it would be money put to useful purpose. But had we taken the advice of others visitors to heart, we would have skipped this sight altogether.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting historic items”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Visited the museum with my 27 year old daughter and my 8 year old granddaughter and we all found the museum fascinating and really interested in the old historic items. My granddaughter loved filling in the fact sheets and spent an enjoyable two hours

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianeBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Pump Rooms Museum also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Royal Pump Rooms Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing