We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turner to Hockney”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercer Gallery

Mercer Gallery
Ranked #19 of 81 things to do in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
504 reviews
274 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Turner to Hockney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My second visit to the Mercer Gallery and very impressed. The exhibition at the moment has a variety of artists ranging from Turner, Atkinson Grimshaw and Hockney. I like the setting of the paintings in the gallery, the seating and the lighting.

Well worth a vist.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    61
    24
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ever changing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We tend to visit here when we have visitors and it always offers something new. Sculpture this time. It is only 30 mins and there are staff on hand to answer any questions.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Art and Yorkshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

From April to October they have art inspired by Yorkshire,from Turner to Hockney.Wonderful watercolours,drawings,photographs and sculpture.Loved this gallery in the old promenade building..Also have an exhibition of Frank Brangwyn:...Posters of the First World War..If you are in Harrogate go and enjoy,its Free!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SimplyYours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yorkshire painters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We spent a wonderful couple of hours in the gallery enjoying the Yorkshire Painters Exhibition. What a well planned & informative exhibition we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PennyBLythamStAnnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
333 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,418 helpful votes
“Small but fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Fine examples of British sculpture. Paintings by Hockney and Turner among others. Drawings by Turner. The entrance is free.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanPaulBelmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercer Gallery also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mercer Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing