We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A broad spectrum”
Review of Mercer Gallery

Mercer Gallery
Ranked #20 of 82 things to do in Harrogate
Attraction details
Bangor
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A broad spectrum”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The current exhibition is really good. There is a broad range of styles including some Hockneys which were good to see close up as well as some exceptional works by a local artist. Really worth going.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank danielsgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    63
    24
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“excellent little gallery”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We picked a good time to visit as there was an exhibition on Yorkshire art which was very varied and included works by Turner and Hockney. They was also an exhibition of WW1 posters by Brangwyn mainly used to encourage donations to the war effort. Very realistic and relevant to the current celebrations. Would strongly recommend a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise2955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Discovered Grimshaw”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

What a treat. Although a donation is requested, and I would encourage making one to enable the gallery to maintain such a high profile, this is optional so this gallery becomes available for anyone to visit. There are just enough exhibits to enjoy a half hour without being overwhelmed. Some big names too. We discovered Grimshaw and are now on the lookout for a print to buy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaCob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
280 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Turner to Hockney”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My second visit to the Mercer Gallery and very impressed. The exhibition at the moment has a variety of artists ranging from Turner, Atkinson Grimshaw and Hockney. I like the setting of the paintings in the gallery, the seating and the lighting.

Well worth a vist.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chandrah874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Ever changing”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We tend to visit here when we have visitors and it always offers something new. Sculpture this time. It is only 30 mins and there are staff on hand to answer any questions.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercer Gallery also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mercer Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing