We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Little B&B”
Review of Sophie's B&B

Sophie's B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sophie's B&B
Ranked #46 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Spent two nights at this friendly little B&B & coffeeshop just outside Harrogate. Rooms are modern, simple, comfortable and clean. Great breakfast - fresh, good quality produce & efficient service with a smile. Located in the small village of Hampsthwaite, the surrounding countryside is perfect for walkers and there is also an hourly bus service into Harrogate (less than 20 minutes). Local pub and corner shop a few yards down the road make this an ideal base for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I booked 2 nights at Sophie's B&B for my partners birthday in September. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome.
We were not able to have breakfast in the excellent adjoining deli on the first morning as we had planned to be up early to go walking. Stephen arranged for us to have a packed lunch instead of our breakfast which was a lovely touch!
The room was spotlessly clean and well equipped. We had toiletries, a hair dryer and tea and coffee facilities in our room. Our room was cleaned and the beds made during our stay.

Breakfast in the deli was amazing- full English, toast, cereals and fruit. The cakes looked amazing and we bought some tasty treats to take home!
We left behind some belongings and Sophie and Stephen very kindly posted them back to us.
Exceptional service in fabulous surroundings. I couldn't recommend more!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank PeanutRevell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We found Sophie and Stephen to be very accommodating and friendly and the room was clean and new. Hampsthwaite is a quiet little town close to Harrogate so eating dinner is easy as long as you are prepared to drive the English way. The English breakfast was excellent but their scones are the best. Thanks for making our stay so good!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ritzyroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We have just had a great weekend at Sophie's. The rooms are lovely, the views are lovely and Sophie is especially lovely. We have already booked for a return visit later in the year.

Breakfast was great too as were the homemade cakes.

Sophie even offered to babysit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlltheCarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Martha T T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Sophies, very warm welcome, the room exceeded our expectations, the views were great, followed by a really good quality breakfast, we will be back with our family, Thank you for making our weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My mother and I stayed at Sophie's for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding nearby. There was a little confusion with the booking, but nothing that wasn't sorted out. After travelling 7hrs, and driving through breath taking fields, we ended up in a quaint little village with a costcutter and a pub right next door! We were chuffed!

We were welcomed by Sophie's daughter (I think) as it was after 7pm who showed us to our room upstairs. The twin room was spotless, very well presented with everything matching in white and teal, had a modern bathroom with a shower over bath and had a lovely view.

Breakfast timings were flexible as it was downstairs in their boutique style coffee shop (which was absolutely immaculately clean) there was plenty of choice, including a full english which was cooked fresh and tasted delicious! The coffee was very tasty! Sophie and her mother were delightful and couldn't do enough to help.

We both had a fantastic time in Yorkshire, and Sophie's b & b made it extra special. We would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend away. Thanks x :)

Jade & Mandy Blackburn

Room Tip: The twin room was not massive, but perfect just to get some rest and get ready to go out. Had a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamp_jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
3.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.3 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#3 of 83 in Harrogate
618 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 83 in Harrogate
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The George
The George
#26 of 83 in Harrogate
66 reviews
3.3 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#1 of 83 in Harrogate
468 reviews
3 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#4 of 83 in Harrogate
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophie's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophie's B&B

Address: High Street | Hampsthwaite, Harrogate HG3 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: £80 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sophie's B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sophie's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophie's B&B Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing