We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, pub & restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #23 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel, pub & restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the The Station Hotel. The service was top notch and the staff were friendly and helpful. The pub is nicely decorated, with an open fire and good quality local real ales. The meal in the restaurant was very good, with a good choice. We ate in the conservatory which was comfy and attractive. The newly refurbished bedrooms are lovely, very nicely decorated with excellent bathrooms. There are some nice little touches, such as coat-hooks in the pub and a good outdoor smoking area with a timed heater and an attractive shelter. There was a wide choice for breakfast and they were very obliging when catering for specific requests. Apparently they are building a disabled access holiday flat for next year which is a great idea. Overall, we were very impressed and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazreema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
51
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We have enjoyed three short breaks at The Station this year. The newly-refurbished bedrooms are attractively furnished with high-quality oak furniture and the bathrooms are very stylish. The restaurant has just been extended and is again an impressive place to be. The menu will accommodate most tastes and the food is of a high standard. The wine list features an excellent choice at very realistic prices - hence the reason we like to stay overnight when we visit for a meal!

We are returning shortly with a party of friends from Cumbria.

Room Tip: The Station is located in a village, so all rooms are relatively quiet. Each room is named after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed over in newly refurbished room, bathroom and furniture all to a very high standard and immaculately clean. Good range of beers in the bar and the food in the restaurant was of superb quality, and was excellent value. Overall a really enjoyable stay. Ideal base for visiting Harrogate/Ripon or walking in the Dales.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliffy191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I booked an evening meal and stay overnight to meet with friends, having last eaten here a couple of years ago. Since then the pub has undergone an expensive transformation, with all public rooms updated and extended. The accommodation was also newly refurbished and is high quality.

The food was excellent and very good value. Service was efficient but not rushed. The locally sourced beer was superb and probably helped me have a good nights sleep - although the village seemed very quiet at night so that would have helped too.

It's probably worth booking a table if you plan to eat on an evening, as all tables were fully occupied on the Friday evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P373R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Wellington Inn
The Wellington Inn
#28 of 104 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
4.2 mi away
North Dockenbush B&B
North Dockenbush B&B
#14 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sophie's B&B
Sophie's B&B
#51 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Fountains Guesthouse
The Fountains Guesthouse
#12 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hazel Manor
Hazel Manor
#1 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Station Road | Birstwith, Harrogate HG3 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Station Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional country village pub serving cask ales, fine wines and excellent home cooked traditional and modern cuisine. We have a beautiful beer garden, 2 log fires and 4 en-suite guest bedrooms. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing