We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly guest house”
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arden House
Ranked #3 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Arrived on a cold frosty day to a lovely warm welcome, we were shown to our room, which had a for poster bed. The room was lovely and clean with an ensuite shower room. The shower room was small but fine, the shower was excellent. We left to explore harrogate which was literally 5 minutes away until the start of the Christmas lights. We stayed out all day returning at 9.30, we relaxed in our room making use of the tea and coffee making facilities. Next morning we enjoyed the breakfast in the dining room, there was a great selection including cooked to order full English if wanted. I'd book this guest house again when I revisit Harrogate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

Had a great stay at Arden House hotel, very convenient for the town centre and more importantly for us, the conference centre.
Rooms were very comfortable with good provision of Tea, coffee, hot chocolate(always a bonus) and biscuits! Free wifi with good service.
There is also a reasonably priced lounge bar ideal for pre- dinner drinks.
The staff were very helpful and approachable and provided an excellent breakfast, with plenty of choice.
Only minor negative point the en- suite was a little compact but was adequate for our needs!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandKMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I booked this through hotwire, so was a little surprised at this B&B was sold as a hotel. Having said that, for the price I paid, I felt I got good value. The room was very small and was only a single, I struggled to hang clothes in the wardrobe and there was limited space for my luggage but I had everything I needed. There was tea and coffee, the bedding was good and wifi was provided. The breakfast was tasty and I was able to park, although I seemed to get the last spot on the road when I came back a little late. The location is very convenient being only a short distance from Harrogate town centre. Given the price I think I got great value. If I would have paid more I might have been disappointed. It is really a B&B, not a hotel. The staff and / or owners are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ru558ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Me and my husband went for a weekend break, we arrived to a warm welcome, room was spotless clean,spacious and homely. En suite is not huge but has everything you would need,clean towels daily along with top ups of coffee, tea, biscuits etc.
Food- excellent, good portions. Bev(owner)was lovely, nothing was too much for her.
The hotel is situated about one minutes walk from the town,very handy for local amenities,restaurants etc.
Very enjoyable stay would return without a doubt!

Room Tip: room 9 on the front, but very quiet street so nothing to bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doll1Stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed two nights at Arden House. Lovely staff, very polite and welcoming. Comfy bed, delicious breakfast. Honesty bar good idea, reasonable prices. Short stroll into the centre of town and ample parking. In short, everything you need for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollipop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

my husband treated me to a surprise break this weekend, firstly staying in Harrogate then to Wetherby races. We have stayed at the Arden previously and once again not disappointed, our room was number 10 with the 4 poster bed and it was beautiful, fantastic nights sleep, very good choice for breakfast and the honesty bar was well stocked up. Thanks for the hospitality Bev, will definately return.

Room Tip: well worth the stay at the Arden especially number 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincent444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I booked three nights stay at the Arden House, after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor.

I was away on business and had booked a single room here through Beverley, which included a full English breakfast.

Beverley was brilliant from the moment I booked............reassuring me of a very pleasant stay.......to phoning me whilst I was on my way there, to check that I was alright and to ask what time I would be arriving...........to waiting for me on my arrival after directing me there on phone (lol)... to then passing me my keys, giving me parking permit passes for each day to put on the windscreen , followed by showing me to my room, and then giving me a leaflet showing a plan of Harrogate with various vouchers to use...........nothing was too much trouble.

The room was a single, with a small wardrobe and drawers.....tea/coffee making facilities......a nice size bathroom with bath and shower....and had a tv on the wall..

The bed was a single pine bed with slats, and it was a lot more comfortable than I thought it was going to be.....hence I nearly missed breakfast one day!!lol..

The breakfast was superb...........I went into the dining room and everything you wanted was there............. Cereals..............juices..........yogurts etc.. etc..... And then Beverley was there to welcome me and everyone else.......with a "good morning" and a lovely smile............followed by "what can I get you "?

There was something for everyone.............the full English breakfast won me over each day, with tea/coffee, then plenty of toast..... I went for what I called the " Olympic" breakfast on day one... Fried egg, beaked beans, mushrooms, bacon, sausage, fried bread, tomato, and I was popping.........well and truly..........so the next two days it was above but with no fried bread or tomato for me.

But there were many things that you could choose from:- Like scrambled egg and smoked salmon...to a beans on toast or poached egg on toast and other choices....

And the location to the Conference center is excellent.............just five mins away (if that)...........

So all in all would I recommend the Arden House to you? Yes most definately!

Well done Beverley and the lady in the kitchen(sorry I don't know your name) who prepared the excellent food for everyone each morning.

MANCHESTER-GOLFER

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3-12-2015kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,783 reviews
0 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 83 in Harrogate
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#4 of 83 in Harrogate
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Address: 69-71 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: £64 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arden House, a Victorian Harrogate Guest House,offers comfortable accommodation, free WIFI, free parking, friendly staff, lounge bar and the ideal location; with the advantage of being situated in a quiet tree-lined road just a few minutes stroll from the Harrogate Conference and Spa Town Centre. Everything you need for a relaxed comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing