We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location”
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arden House
Ranked #5 of 101 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great location”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay at Arden House, the owner Beverley was very friendly and the Breakfast was a good start to the day. On one occasion we had to wait for a table in the morning and as compensation for this we had extra bits with our breakfast (which was very welcome). The bed was absolutely huge and our one concern was the kettle being next to the hand basin and below the TV, but it really didn't matter in the grand scheme of things.
The open bar is also a nice touch although we didn't use it on this visit.
The location is fantastic, you are very close to all manner of pubs & restaurants and there is also a corner shop across the road that was open at 9pm on a Sunday night.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warwick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    110
    25
    13
    4
See reviews for
39
200
29
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Arden House and cannot fault it. Very friendly, breakfast fab, will definitely return. Staff very knowledgable and recommended various restaurants. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybbridge
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Room very small, and charcterless. Hand-basin in bedroom as no room in ensuite for it, shower not very good, (very low flow) and shower head wouldn,n't stay in place. Room clean apart from cobwebs on the ceiling (over by the window above the bedside table if owners reading this) and mucky skirting boards - radiators could also do with a good clean. One bedside light not working.. Breakfast so so, typical B & B fare, toast stone cold and hard.
V puzzled by the good reviews, worst place I've stayed in for ages, not 4 star in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Manager at Arden House, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
We are very sorry you were disappointed. If you had mentioned these comments at the time of your stay we would have been able to check the points you made and move you to a larger room. We always ask guests of their opinions on departure and we do not recall any negative feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Accomodation was warm, nicely presented and spotlessly clean.
Real,friendly Yorkshire welcome from Beverley on arrival.
Deserving of 4 star award.
Easy access to town centre, restaurants, conference centre etc.
No parking problems or noise at night.
Honesty Bar was well stocked and reasonably priced.
Over achieved in every respect
Understanding and obliging staff.
Superb breakfast selection in very clean and pleasant dining room.
Exceptionally comfortable king size bed, with lovely soft bedding together with TV and en-suite.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Manager at Arden House, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We work very hard to make sure all our guests have a relaxed and comfortable stay and hope we see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Very warm welcome on arrival. They serve up a fantastic breakfast. The location looks to be perfect for anyone wanting to be in easy reach of Harrogate's attractions. Sadly, for me, a short overnight stop between business meetings meant I couldn't make full use of this, but I will certainly return if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I only stayed here for 48 hours, but this was a treat - everything an hotel should be, at least, for me. It was quiet, breakfast very good, the hotel spotless and a most cordial reception when I arrived. Extremely good value and much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Arrived to a friendly welcome.Had a front double room with large bay window.The room was clean warm and welcoming.Shower and toilet small but adequate.The breakfasts were excellent freshly prepared and well cooked.Short walk to the centre of Harrogate.Enjoyed the whole visit.Would definately go again and use the same accommodation.

Room Tip: First floor room 9.Had a lovely comfortable quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,259 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.0 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 101 in Harrogate
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#4 of 101 in Harrogate
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Property: Arden House
Address: 69-71 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arden House, a Victorian Harrogate Guest House,offers comfortable accommodation, free WIFI, free parking, friendly staff, lounge bar and the ideal location; with the advantage of being situated in a quiet tree-lined road just a few minutes stroll from the Harrogate Conference and Spa Town Centre. Everything you need for a relaxed comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing