We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best b and b” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arden House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Arden House
Ranked #5 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“best b and b”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The quality of this establishment is outstanding welcome from start clean and tidy through out comfortable bed excellent honesty bar and the best breakfast tasted in a long time forget budget hotels stay in quality b and b s you won't regret it

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 876david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    105
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
35
184
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stopped for a sat night in room 4 on the top floor. Friendly staff, nice and clean, good breakfast selection with hot and cold options and fantastic location with a bargain price. Our only tiny comment is on the small shower but this is a tiny comment. Will be booking again for any harrogate trips. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkHolidayfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here. Beautifully decorated throughout. The hostess was so charming and friendly. Breakfast was first class. There was an 'honesty' bar which was much cheaper than the pubs! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have stayed at Harrogate for a Trade Show every year for 30 years and wish I had found out about Arden House earlier. Even though the rooms are "compact" , they are fresh and clean and very comfortable and had all that we needed. The welcome was friendly as were the staff. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked to order, and served quickly without having to wait. There were plenty of places to eat and drink in Harrogate, so the "Honesty Bar" was not necessary but added a "nice little touch". It was very hot when we stayed and the rooms are not air conditioned, but Beverley went out and bought a fan for our room. Nothing was too much trouble. It was half the price we are used to paying in Harrogate and such good value. Have re-booked for next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Owner at Arden House, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review. It was a pleasure to meet yourself and your lovely family and we look forward to seeing you again next year! Lets hope its just as sunny next July! Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Had a very enjoyable 4 night stay. Although the bathroom was small it was sufficient for our needs with plenty of hot water etc.The bedroom was very clean and tastefully decorated and the breakfasts were excellent. If you want a small hotel with the personal touch for recommending restaurants and places to visit etc, then this is the place to stay. All the staff are friendly and efficient. Also the hotel is very central for the train station, shops and restaurants. Overall we found it excellent value for money and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Owner at Arden House, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We are glad you enjoyed staying here and it was great to see you at one of the restaurants that I recommend to you. I hope you had a pleasant journey back to Isle of Man and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Was pleasantly surprised to have all of my needs met:-
Clean accommodation
Welcoming host
Delicious breakfast
Comfortable bed
Value for money
Thanks to Bev and her team thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
Hope to see you again soon

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chezDguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Owner at Arden House, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I do not understand the "excellent reviews". We were in a small twin room at the top of the house, the wash basin was in the bedroom, as the toilet / shower room was the smallest I have been in for a long time, just one hook to hand towels, etc. There was no chair, as presumably the wash basin area was to double as a dressing table.
The room was very dark, with all the lights and television on (for light) it was difficult to read.
Breakfasts were very average. Tinned fruit, melon chunks with the peel on and bruised apples, oranges and tangerines.
Rings on the dining tables from previous occupants, as no table cloths.
Did mention there was no room to put suit cases, except under the beds, was told they would have put them in another room, not very acceptable!

Room Tip: Do not have the twin room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 694Lola694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Owner at Arden House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
We are sorry that the lady reviewer was not completely satisfied with her 3 day stay and we wish she had told us her feelings about her room as we would have changed it immediately.

We pride ourselves on the quality of our breakfasts, and our reviews often reflect that fact. On this occasion we remember that the lady concerned had full cooked breakfasts proceeded by more than substantial quantities of fresh fruit each morning and her plates were always left empty. That fact does not seem to support her comments.

In our six years at Arden House no-one else has raised the lack of light in the room, every room here has substantial lighting allowed by the large Victorian sash windows, bed side lamps and main ceiling lights, however on the very rare occasion should this not be enough, we are happy to provide extra lighting.

Finally we would never suggest that suitcases could be put in other rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#3 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Property: Arden House
Address: 69-71 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arden House, a Victorian Harrogate Guest House,offers comfortable accommodation, free WIFI, free parking, friendly staff, lounge bar and the ideal location; with the advantage of being situated in a quiet tree-lined road just a few minutes stroll from the Harrogate Conference and Spa Town Centre. Everything you need for a relaxed comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing