We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B I've seen in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arden House
Ranked #5 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best B&B I've seen in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Myself and some colleagues stayed here for a recent exhibition in Harrogate. The owner I knew to be helpful since she'd already been patient with some changes to our reservation, and she was just as friendly during our stay too.

I saw 3 of the rooms as I checked in my colleagues and all of them were delightful. Any reviewers mention of small bathrooms should be discounted - they were perfectly big enough - and a large, lovely bedroom is the most important thing. The whole building was beautifully preserved and maintained.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious, hot and fresh, and we all said we'd miss it when returning home. Parking was a breeze, and the location is a 4 minute walk to the exhibition centre and the first main bars / restaurants.

Really fantastic business, very well run - we will be back. Thanks Beverley.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Owner at Arden House, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and hope that you return again in the future. Many thanks for your positive comments. Bev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    106
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
37
189
25
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was a lovely guest house within walking distance near to the town centre and our conference venue (International Centre). Even though we messed up our booking by reserving the wrong night (!) the staff were very understanding and luckily could still accommodate us.

My single room was very small but very clean and quiet with TV, bathroom, and coffee making facilities.

There is a great little honesty bar downstairs which is a fab idea.

Breakfast was delicious! I had the full english but a wide variety of options was available.

I woud recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Owner at Arden House, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
I am so glad we could accommodate you as it was a pleasure to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Good points: Good breakfast. Freindly staff. Bad points: Internal walls are very thin so very noisey at night. Twin room was the size of a medium closet. En suite bathroom was the size of a large suitcase. Bathroom had no where to hang towels, when wet, or shelf to put washing kit. Sink coming away fromwall. Mold around shower. Folding door didn't fit frame so large gaps. Floor boards were loose and made an inordinate amount of noise. Very expensive for what it was. Wouldn'tstay again.

Room Tip: Book elswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Owner at Arden House, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
The twin room mentioned in this review is of a standard size, it consists of two standard sized single beds, two bed side cabinets, a double wardrobe, chair, tv etc, therefore I think your comment that it is the size of a medium closet is simply not the case at all. The floor boards are not at all loose, but perhaps some may make a slight creaking noise which I think is only to be expected of an early Victorian building such as Arden House. However we take your comments on board and we hope you had a pleasant drive back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner came away for one night for his 30th birthday. When we arrived we were greeted checked in and shown around, we were also provided with a map and some recommendations of nice eateries. We were shown to our room (the one with the 4 poster bed, room 10), id asked for a bottle of champagne, which was in the room as requested, with 2 flutes. The room was nicely decorated and inkeeping with the rest of the hotel. The room was a nice size and had everything we needed. Its a short walk from the hotel to the town centre, which was great as we didnt need to get taxis or drive. Breakfast was fabulous, freshly cooked and hot! The staff were friendly and welcoming. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be coming back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryony-anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrogateTraveller, Owner at Arden House, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We needed a one-night stay in Harrogate and booked this on line. It is within walking distance of the town centre and has parking at the side and rear. We called in about 2pm, expecting just to leave our bags, but the accommodating owner was happy to check us in and give as the key to the room (which doubles as a front door key). The en-suite twin room was on the small side and up a quite steep staircase, but was spotlessly clean and warm. The TV was mounted on the wall instead of taking up the limited space on a flat surface. Beds were comfortable.
Breakfast in one of the spacious ground floor rooms was fabulous - part help yourself, part cooked to order. Actually did not manage to finish all the mountain of scrambled egg with my full English. You can order smaller things if you wish.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miketap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed a weekend here as birthday present for my husband, very good choice. The position is perfect, we parked the car on arrival on Friday lunch and never moved it until we left on Sunday. We had the four poster room but I think any would be just a good. The lighting in the room was rather dim but if that is the worst that I can say you can see that this place is great. The decor downstairs is bright and modern but very cosy. The breakfasts were lovely with a good choice. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely return if we went back to Harrogate. Go for it, what have you to lose.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chrisontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have just spent a relaxing 2 day stay as this lovely accommodating guest house. Arden House is located less than a 5 minute stroll into town. We arrived early and parking was no problem at all. We were promptly checked in and shown to our room on the first floor which was quiet, comfortable and warm. Breakfast was excellent! We will be returning to Arden House later in the Summer, excellent service and value for money made this a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#6 of 100 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Property: Arden House
Address: 69-71 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arden House, a Victorian Harrogate Guest House,offers comfortable accommodation, free WIFI, free parking, friendly staff, lounge bar and the ideal location; with the advantage of being situated in a quiet tree-lined road just a few minutes stroll from the Harrogate Conference and Spa Town Centre. Everything you need for a relaxed comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing