We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful”
Review of Wynnstay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wynnstay House
Ranked #23 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife and I had a lovely visit to Wynnstay House. The en-suite bedroom was fresh, spacious, and attractively presented, and the breakfast was delicious. Our hosts Andy and Tracey were really friendly, offering great service throughout our stay, and on-street parking was no problem. The B &B is less than 5 minutes walk from the conference centre, yet the street is leafy and quiet, leading to a great night's sleep! We definitely intend to return in future years - it comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
113
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I stayed here whilst on a course at the hospital (approx 30mins walk away) and was really impressed. Because I was arriving early the owner arranged to leave me a parking permit so I could leave my car during the day before I checked in in the evening. Harrogate town centre is just a short 10-15min walk and very pleasant.

The kerb appeal of the B&B is impressive - a gorgeous period property. When I arrived in the evening the welcome was warm, and my room was beautiful (I'm going to steal some of the design ideas for my own house!). The ensuite bathroom was clean and large. The bed was comfy and the room really felt cosy. Unfortunately I wasn't feeling up to the full English breakfast but it looked lovely.

If anything I was disappointed I couldn't spend more time there! I would definitely return if I was coming to Harrogate again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends or family. Very good value and no complaints whatsoever!

Room Tip: I had the red room on the 2nd floor and would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle/Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

A double-fronted stone-built Edwardian or Victorian villa with a flowery garden welcomes you. Within a minute of ringing the bell to enter, we were greeted by the lady co-owner (Tracey) who showed us to the room we'd booked for 2 nights.
The room was furnished in a period style and was clean and cosy. The ensuite shower/toilet was bright white and spotless. Everything worked: no fused bulbs or broken locks, and the double glazed window could be opened to provide ventilation (or in our case to put our wine on the rooftop outside to cool).That evening we had a fab meal at Orchid.
Breakfast next morning was comprehensive, tasty and quickly served in the Kenilworth Room on the ground floor. There was a lot of choice, my wife chose corflakes followed by haddock with poached eggs, I had homemade muesli with the cooked Yorkshire breakfast next.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the conference centre, and 2 mins further is the start of main shopping streets, so an easy stroll to town.
After shopping and doing touristy things all day we planned to go to b.e.d. restaurant and we had printed out a voucher for a discount. We'd left the voucher so asked if the owner could print us another. Even though we'd interurupted their family meal they did so with a smile. Very good meal, then a 5 minute walk back. Each room has a small tin filled with different tea, coffee, sugar, sweetener and milk sachets. The bed was comfortable with a quality down-filled duvet and pillows.
Our last breakfast was melon and raspberries then cheese omelette for my wife and I went for the delicious muesli again followed by sausage, bacon and egg. They deserve the plaudits for the quality of their breakfasts!
Tip: if you struggle with stairs you'd need a ground-floor room.
The only way it could be improved would be by having a quiet radio programme on in the background at breakfast, to make things a little more relaxed. Other than that, this is a seriously good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffMarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have just returned from my 5th or 6th business visit to Harrogate – and again stayed at Wynnstay House. Why? Because it is like ‘returning home’ each time; fantastic hosts, great service (breakfasts to die for!!) & house and a lovely room. In a lovely part of town, minutes from the centre, shops and conference centre ... but quite, leafy and green. I would defy anyone not to return to this B&B if they visit once.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The b and b was full so we stayed here with our son. It's a small terrace house pleasantly furnished with a well equipped dining kitchen at the back and small but comfy lounge at the front. There are steep stairs to two double/ twin rooms with the bathroom downstairs behind the kitchen.
We were left the makings of a lovely breakfast including bread, butter, homemade yogurt, granola, milk and orange juice as well as the usual tea and coffee. So helpful as we had to travel up late after work - enough to keep us in breakfast all weekend as well- no half measures here. As with the b and b, there was good linen, hot water and everything was spotless. Really handy for town - easy enough to walk in. Parking free and we managed to find a space outside the house although it does get busy in the evenings as with all the terrace streets around Harrogate. Booking and key collection stress free - all credit to the owners who provide a faultless service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horacesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Lakes
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Attentive hosts, great breakfasts and a comfortable bedroom make this one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. If you need somewhere for a couple of days in Harrogate then look no further. The free parking and wi-fi were the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NowtFancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales U.K.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

A great advert for how a British B&B should be - warm homely welcome, tastefully furnished, a really good nights sleep and then a really tasty beakfast with some less common menu options.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerCrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#14 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay House

Property: Wynnstay House
Address: 60 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynnstay House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wynnstay House is a double fronted Victorian Villa located on a quiet tree lined street in the heat of Harrogate Spa. Just a short walk from the Conference Centre and town amenities, all rooms are ensuite are traditionally furnished to a high standard. Enjoy a relaxing start to the day with our wide choice breakfast menu from our homemade bread and marmalades to delicious Whitby kippers. Parking is free at the front of the B&B with our complimentary parking permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wynnstay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynnstay House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing