We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The guest house that thinks it is a 5 star hotel”
Review of Wynnstay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wynnstay House
Ranked #24 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Whilst I hesitate to recommend this guest house, in case it is fully booked when next I want to stay, I must in all fairness state that rarely, if ever, have I come across a guest house which offers such luxury accommodation, combined with friendly service - and, oh, those breakfasts!

You will never find better and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Just leave a room for me! Like the great Arnie - I'll be back.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenalvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Oh Gosh what can we say - thank you for such praise indeed! We are not sure we can claim 5 stars but we are truly delighted that you felt that you had a 5 star experience! Breakfast is certainly always something we aim to ensure is special so we are glad it hit the spot! Thank you again for such very kind words and fear not - there will always be a room available for you!! We really look forward to seeing you both again on your next visit exploring Harrogate and Yorkshire. Our best wishes Andy & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Wynnstay House overnight and were heartened to discover the Tripadvisor reviews posted for it were spot-on. Having been turned down by 2 other establishments because we did not want more than a single night's stay, we were relieved when Wynnstay accepted us willingly and pleasantly. The house was on a quiet street (parking disc needed, happily provided by the B&B owners) and was within a short walk of Harrogate town centre. Our room was large, well equipped and clean, just what's needed on a short visit. Breakfast the next morning was really excellent, served in very friendly fashion by the landlady, who offered a wide variety of food choices. Having such a positive experience on such a short visit really helped make our weekend special and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Wynnstay or indeed to book ourselves in there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and such positive feedback - we are really pleased you enjoyed your large room and especially that you found it well equipped and clean. Yes being centrally located just a short walk to everything does mean you can really explore Harrogate even on a short visit but we do hope that you will return again with a little more time to relax! Thank you too for your kind comments about breakfast - we try to offer a good variety yet still ensure that everything is homemade and locally sourced. We very much hope to see you soon. Best wishes Andy & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at wynnstay house. Andy and Tracey were fantastic hosts creating such a friendly atmosphere. The rooms are furnished to such a high standard and it was really nice to find little touches such as cotton wool balls in the room! My he location is perfect for exploring harrogate. The breakfast was fantastic. We hope to be back soon!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank V_shortperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review - it is always lovely to hear that guests have felt welcome. We are glad you found the rooms to be decorated to a high standard - the paint brush is never away for long! And with regards to the perfect location - we do hope this means that we will see you again soon so that you can explore even more of Harrogate! Our best wishes Andy & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at Wynnstay House for two nights and were very impressed. The owners Tracey and Andy were very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The accommodation was beautifully decorated and very clean. We were very impressed by the lovely breakfast menu which had plenty of choice and was cooked fresh. It is the best B&B we have stayed in and if ever in Harrogate again would try to go back there for all these reasons and the central location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a very kind review. It was lovely to meet you both and following our chat we are glad you enjoyed your well deserved break away! We are glad you liked the décor as we are always trying to update rooms and ensure they stay fresh and original. We hope to see you again if you are visiting Harrogate in the future. Our best wishes Andy & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have just had another few days at the lovely Wynnstay House. The rooms are clean and comfortable, it is close to town but the main attraction is that Tracey and Andy manage to make a business trip feel like staying with friends. I have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We are always delighted to receive such positive reviews but it is especially lovely when guests return year after year and still feel welcome! Thank you for your very kind words - it is always great to see you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay again this year - we hope you have a good year and look forward to seeing you next Springtime. Our best wishes Tracey & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Fantastic B&B - lovely rooms with en-suite. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast is great and Tracey and Andy always willing to meet your requirements. Easy to walk to the Exhibition Centre or the town centre. Will be back next time I am in Harrogate or surrounding area!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

It is really kind of you to take the time to write such a positive review - we are always especially pleased when people have been made to feel at home and "spotlessly clean" is really important to us too! We hope to see you again in Harrogate soon. Our best wishes Andy & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Wynnstay House is full of character, Tracey and Andy, the owners are so friendly, you will feel totally at ease and relaxed when you arrive. The house is beautifully decorated, extremely clean and even has double plug sockets when using those all important straightners for us ladies! They even supply a hairdrier! THE BREAKFAST, well i do love my porride, but have yet to taste one better than Tracey's. The whole menu is fab and tasty, everything homemade including the bread. This lovely B&B is 100% for everything and literally 5mins walk to Harrogate. Parking is easy on the road just outside the house, Tracey ensures you have a parking permit for your stay, so could't be simpler. It's also near Betty's tea rooms which is a must visit.... Wynnstay is great value for money and both Tracey and Alan cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable and memorable - this B&B is highly recommended, amazing.. Gina & Dean from Hertfordsire

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and beautiful but if your tall recommend Tantallon big with a long bed.. we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to compile such a positive review - it is always great to know that our guests have been happy and felt at home. We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast as you are right, we do try to ensure everything is homemade or locally sourced - it is the most important meal of the day, they say! We hope you have the opportunity to visit us in the future and thank you once again for your kind comments. Best wishes Andy & Tracey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#10 of 98 in Harrogate
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 98 in Harrogate
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geminian
Geminian
#18 of 98 in Harrogate
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 98 in Harrogate
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#9 of 98 in Harrogate
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookfield House Hotel
Brookfield House Hotel
#35 of 98 in Harrogate
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay House

Address: 60 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: £89 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynnstay House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wynnstay House is a double fronted Victorian Villa located on a quiet tree lined street in the heat of Harrogate Spa. Just a short walk from the Conference Centre and town amenities, all rooms are ensuite are traditionally furnished to a high standard. Enjoy a relaxing start to the day with our wide choice breakfast menu from our homemade bread and marmalades to delicious Whitby kippers. Parking is free at the front of the B&B with our complimentary parking permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wynnstay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynnstay House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing