We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pickles and pickle tray condiments stored in the corridor on the way to the toilet” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaipur Spice - CLOSED

Jaipur Spice
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pickles and pickle tray condiments stored in the corridor on the way to the toilet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

So the title says a lot really. I spotted it after I had been to the toilet. The relishes were in sealed containers but the onion chutney was open to all with a spoon left in there. You can imagine what some people who are drunk could get up to on their way to & from the toilet.

Instant downgrade on the rating because no matter what anything else was like this is surely a hygiene issue. I just wish I had spotted this at the start of the meal rather than afterwards.

The pickles and poppadums were OK, nothing special and a bit runny.

Of the starters my wife had onion bhajis and I had a mixed kebab. The bhajis were very nice, not too soggy as some places seem to serve them up. The meat part of my starter was OK, just a little bland.

For the mains my wife had a chicken korma which was as you would expect and she said it was OK. I had a spicy lamb dish but to be honest found it rather bland and very chewy, it was nice enough but nothing special.

We both had a mushroom pilau and this was a decent dish with plenty of mushroom.
The naans were a nice size and doughy too although the cheese hadn't melted properly on the cheese one but was still nice enough.

Overall the food is nice but as I mentioned above it is also rather bland and I wouldn't be in a hurry to go back but obviously seeing where they store the pickles etc then there is no chance of us returning anyway. If they store the pickles like that then what else is going on?

To be fair the staff are pretty good, very friendly and I have no issues with them at all.

They asked us to leave a review if we enjoyed it, well I would like to leave a review whether I enjoyed it or not. Without the hygiene concern I would've rated them at 3 stars.

Oh and I should have looked at scoresonthedoors first rather than as I have just done.

http://www.scoresonthedoors.org.uk/business/jaipur-spice--452609.html#

Nuff said.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JR-Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    11
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fine example of poor quality cooking and ingredients”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Firstly, i would like to ask, where the dinners who applauded this restaurant have eaten before? They reLly need to get out more... Went with my partner mid week and took the advice of the young waiter as to what was highly recommended... ALL the dishes including the mushroom rice were made from cut price ingredientsand cooked no better. The meal was appalling, vey small and totally missing any flavour. DO NOT go here if you want a decent Indian meal. Would never ever come here again unless paid a lot of money. Verdict, the only thing good was the Kingfisher, but then that was not prepared by them!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“After 6 years is still great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Visited Harrogate 6 years ago with my wife and we found a great little Indian so when we visited again the other week we went there again. The name has changed from Bengal Spice to Jaipur Spice but no worries it was as good as we remembered, if not better. The menu is very comprehensive abd the waiters will guide you as there was lots of dishes we hadn't heard of before. Add to this a very drinkable bottle of red for a very reasonable price and it all added up to a great evening.
There are loads of restaurants in Harrogate to choose from but we are glad we chose this one!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutchy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb contemporary Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Not your typical Indian restaurant. Very high quality, imaginative food. Pleasant light and comfortable dining room. Excellent attentive, polite and friendly staff. Good value especially for this quality.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Chich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely modern Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Visited recently was recommended by a friend. Lovely modern restaurant with a very extensive menu. The salmon shashlik starter was cooked to perfection, presented very well too. Main course was also superb. The atmosphere was very nice and cosy, very friendly and attentive service. A good addition to Harrogate which is in need of a good quality Indian establishment. Good luck

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaipur Spice also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing