We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quintessential Yorkshire hospitality at the Shannon.”

Shannon Court Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shannon Court Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“Quintessential Yorkshire hospitality at the Shannon.”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A lovely welcoming place to stay and relax in beautiful Yorkshire. Very friendly, helpful, engaging staff and owners. Comfortable clean room with a lovely breakfast. A picture box looking hotel built in good 'ole' Yorkshire stone. I often go back home to Harrogate visiting family and must say i wish i'd come across the Shannon a long time back. I will definitely be staying again . Highly recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonCourt, Owner at Shannon Court Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi Andrew
Thanks for your lovely review, and I wish that you'd found us earlier too!
I look forward to meeting you again when you're next up this way, and to get the best deal on price, either give me a call or book directly via the Shannon Court web site.
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    31
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
81
16
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Best guest house I have stayed in for a long time, excellent and friendly service, knowledgeable about Harrogate, I know because I was born there and have family there which was the reason for my stay. Well appointed clean room with en suite, comfortable bed, coffee.tea making facilities and TV. Breakfast was very good indeed full english at its best despite the lack of that Lancastrian delicacy Black Pudding!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMackown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonCourt, Owner at Shannon Court Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi
Thanks for your lovely review, and very accurate comment about that Lancashire rubbish, black pudding. Most definitely not served here! We do however offer some other alternatives to a full English that can be chosen from our breakfast menu at no extra charge.
Hope to see you again when you're next up here visiting.
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the first night of which was my first night being in Britain in a long time. Tony & team were wonderfully welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms have an old fashioned British, slightly funky charm, which greatly appealed to me since I didn't want to feel like I was in a generic hotel room that could be anywhere.

On street parking was no problem, fine internet connectivity, easy walk to ASDA(Wal-Mart) to get whatever I needed, easy walk through pretty residential neighborhood to town center and excellent restaurants, as well as being on the Stray (albeit the NE extension, but still very close for athletic guests interested in Harrogate's Park Run.) There is even a sneaky way to get over to the HIC conference center with just a 15 minute walk and a pedestrian railway crossing. Oh, and the train and bus station are easy walks, too.

Car access is equally fine, and though it is more or less on an A road (the A59/Skipton Road through town), I never heard traffic noise inside the house. Lovely, quiet sunny (well it is Yorkshire so even if it's raining, hold on a minute and you're bound to see the sun and probably a rainbow, too) breakfast room.

Finally, if you're a car restoration enthusiast, here you will find a kindred soul.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MrPCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonCourt, Owner at Shannon Court Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking time to leave a lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your first day in the England for a long while. We're actually a little nearer to the conference centre than the 15 minutes that you quoted, it's more like 7 to 10 mins depending on how fast you walk.
If you get any visitors please send them this way and I'll make sure that they have a great time.
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Just spent two nights here and what a fantastic guesthouse, we were treated like family, the staff were very friendly and helpful telling us the best places to visit and how to get to them. The breakfast was exactly what you would ask for, great selection of items, the room was one of the best I have stayed in, I wish my own bed was as comfy,,, ten out of ten

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo1954Merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonCourt, Owner at Shannon Court Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi Jim
Thanks for your lovely review and I'm glad that you had a comfortable stay. You were in an already refurbished super king room, and I'm glad the bed was comfortable as it's quite new and wasn't cheap! Money well spent.
Give me a call or book directly from the Shannon Court web site to get the best prices if you want to come again.
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had a lovely stay, very welcoming with fantastic breakfast. Our room number 5 was clean and comfortable, but in need of a revamp, which I believe is scheduled for Feb 2014. No problem with car parking and only a few minutes walk into town or for eating places. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonCourt, Owner at Shannon Court Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi Lynne
I'm glad that you had a lovely stay at Shannon Court. You're right about the renovation, three more rooms are to be done in February 2014, new double glazing in sash window style, furniture, decor, carpet, etc. etc.
Hope to see you again.
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Shannon Court will take a lot of beating for some where to say in Harrogate, its warm friendly comfortable guesthouse great for the town center & the show ground , you always have a 1st glass breakfast the rooms are warm & clean , good parking it is the first place I try to book when I have to go to Harrogate
Malcolm Stephenson

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonCourt, Owner at Shannon Court Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi Malcolm
Thanks for taking time to write a review. I'm glad that you enjoy your stays here, and you and your Bonsai trees are welcome any time! See you at the next show, and first prize again for you.
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A warm and friendly welcome and and clean bedding and the bathroom(albeit a bit small). The bed was comfortable and the we had a first class breakfast. Good parking facilities and only a few minutes walk into the town centre. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShannonCourt, Owner at Shannon Court Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi Denise
Thanks for your review.
You're right, the bathrooms are not massive, but they have all the facilities, and are quite usable. Shannon Court is always competitively priced, and you could say this reflect the fact we haven't got the largest bathrooms in Harrogate! Whilst we are undertaking an ongoing renovation programme, I'm afraid the sizes of the rooms will not be changing.
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 mi away
Ash Grove Guest House
Ash Grove Guest House
#38 of 99 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#6 of 99 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#13 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spring Lodge Guest House
Spring Lodge Guest House
#55 of 99 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#4 of 99 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannon Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannon Court Guesthouse

Property: Shannon Court Guesthouse
Address: 65 Dragon Avenue, Harrogate HG1 5DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shannon Court Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannon Court Guesthouse - AA 4 Star - Shannon Court is a beautiful Victorian guest house. Situated in High Harrogate, we are well positioned for exploring the town and the surrounding area. For business or pleasure we are in an excellent location for the Harrogate International Conference Centre, just a 10 minute stroll and a few minutes by car to the Great Yorkshire Showground and Pavilions Exhibition Halls. - Harrogate, North Yorkshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Shannon Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shannon Court Guesthouse Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing