We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at The Grafton.”
Review of The Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grafton
Ranked #8 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at The Grafton for our 29th Wedding Anniversary at the beginning of October. The room was beautiful and very large with a comfortable sofa and a huge Queen sized bed. The walk into the centre was about 10 mins. The breakfasts were nicely presented and the staff very helpful. The Romanian waitress was lovely and most obliging. I would recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Susan & John Norwich.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueNCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

A lovely hotel with the personal touch.
Our company stayed here whilst exhibiting at the HIC, which is really close (5 mins walk).
Breakfast was really good and rooms were beautifully presented. Duvets were feather filled and sheets are really good quality.
The white company supplied the toiletries in the room I stayed in, which was a lovely touch.
Staff very friendly and room was excellent.
Free parking which was also a bonus as parking at the HIC was very expensive.
Overall, very highly recommended for a couples trip, tourist visit or work trip. Beats holiday inn down the road!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Recently stayed at The Grafton in a Superior room.
Lovely hotel booked quickly as the day before we were supposed to stay at a place in Blackpool which had closed down so we moved onto Harrogate thankfully!
The room was spotless and very well decorated and had everything you could need even sweeties!
The bathrobes were great as you don't seem to get them in too many places now.
Very central location so only 10 minutes walk into town and very close to the conference centre if you are ever working in there.
Breakfast was very good and had a good choice so something to suit everyone really.
Only met two members of staff but they were both charming and helpful.
Can't really think of any drawbacks of staying here - just no bath only a shower in the room but that's being picky!

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank munchkin021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in a Superior room (7) for one night and wished it could have been longer. Lovely room with plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits provided. Also a hairdryer and robes. Well decorated room, very clean and comfortable, and lovely bathroom with great shower and such soft water! Perfect location to quickly get into town for restaurants and shopping. On arrival, given a parking permit and found a space directly over the road. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Really looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs which may not suit everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PixieDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Decided to break journey from Suffolk to Lake District at Harrogate, and booked the Grafton for one night. Really lovely welcome, super room (10) and a really great breakfast, what more could one want. Also only a short walk into town! Free local parking discs provided by the owner.
Would stay there anytime. As others have said its more a hotel than a B&B.

Room Tip: No 10 was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJSIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Looking for a nice one night venue en route to a short break in Whitby, Harrogate & The Grafton, really excellent. As other reviewers have pointed out room was spotless, nice decor & good breakfast too. This is definitely more of a hotel than a B&B , parking is easy and fuss free, 5-10 minutes into Town centre and great places to eat, Harrogate is a lovely place! thorughly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great small hotel in the centre of lovely Harrogate. Stayed in a superior double for 3 days, whilst we explored the Yorkshire Dales and delights of Harrogate. room well appointed with an excellent ensuite shower room. Breakfast was delicious,with plenty to see us through to lunch and beyond.Good choice of cereals, fruit and pastries, followed by a lovely full english breakfast.
Town centre offers a wide and varied selection of places to eat and drink during the evening.
Tannin Level restaurant highly recommended.

Room Tip: higher rooms involve quite a few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank owek20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
1,748 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grafton

Address: 1-3 Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: £81 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grafton 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton is one of Harrogate's most elegant boutique b&b's. Our chic townhouse setting is just a few minutes' walk from the town centre - close to Harrogate International Centre, restaurants and shops, but far enough away to offer peace and tranquility to our guests. With recently modernised rooms and a warm, friendly atmosphere, we provide the perfect blend of style and intimacy. Enjoy luxurious decor, flat-screen television and complimentary high speed wi-fi access - features designed to enhance your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grafton Hotel Harrogate
The Grafton Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing