We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grafton
Ranked #5 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Great location, short walk from town centre. Room was great, tastefully designed & bed was very comfy. Great nights sleep. Shower was also great. Breakfast was also fantastic, good selection & all very tasty. I particularly liked the date & walnut loaf available! Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Actual_Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    99
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
27
361
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
170 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here on Saturday 1st February and a really enjoyable hotel. Ran by a husband and wife team. Bedroom was very comfortable especially the bed. Shower a proper power affair. They have a small bar with really smart big sofas, we had a couple of drinks after afternoon shopping then again after we had eaten out on the evening. Highly recommended........

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Having selecting the Grafton from the many on the internet we where not disappointed, we chose it because of the convenience to the city centre and restaurants. We found the rooms clean, warm, and well decorated to a high standard, the on suite again had been done to a high standard and the shower was excellent. With regard to the breakfast we found it more than enough with regard to both choice and amount and well cooked and presented. We would certainly stay there again..

Room Tip: Chose a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyhorseLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and i decided very last minute to have a night away, just us no kids. We didnt want to go to far from home nor break the bank. I myself have been to Harrogate many times and decided that was our location. After searching trip advisor we came across a handfull of bnb/hotels that fitted the bill And The Grafton was the one that we thought out weighed the others. I had read many reviews.
I rang on the saturday and booked over the phone and was offered a last minute deal. We arrived this tuesday about lunch time and although i believe the lady said check in was 3pm, our room was ready when we arrived. Perfect!!. Was very clean. Very nicely decorated and furnished. Was more than happy with the ensuit. The finishing touches in the room/ensuit was done to a high standard. Facilities to make hot drinks. Enough room and storage for belongings. Towels were provided.
10mins walk, if that, from the center. We parked right outside the bnb and was given a pass to park on arrival and even offered another for the next day if we so wished to leave the car there after checking out. The bnb as a whole is decorated very well.
Breakfast was brilliant. Dinning room very bright and spacious. There were pastries, cereal , freshley squeezed juice, fresh fruit with yogurts to choose from then a cooked breakfast on request. Stuffed and satisfied for a day out in harrogate. Will definately stay here again. Thank you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bella31812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

The grafton is a nice B and B the room was nice just a bit on the small side and one of our bottles of water had been opened and half drank.the bed was very comfy and everything you need is available in the room.its in about 10-15 min walking distance to the town centre.the breakfast was lovely but a bit on the small side I don't think we would stay again and I'm not sure the 250 quid we paid for two nights was worth the money, also the internet is really slow it's not super fast as advertised no where near.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank donnamorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraftonHarrogate, Manager at The Grafton, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and pleased to hear you found the Grafton a "nice B&B". On the points you raised we are puzzled how you can describe the superior double bedroom as slightly on the small size, when many of our previous guests have commented on how large it is. We apologise for missing the opened bottled water and will endeavour to ensure this doesn't happen again. Please remember we would be more than happy to replace it at the time. Our wi-fi is normally high speed, and will look into why this wasn't the case for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Top standard, large rooms, very clean, warm, comfy beds and a fantastic breakfast. Walking distance from shops, bars and restaurants. Clase to theatre and many cafes.
Friendly staff and good parking availibility

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sasha3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Good location - close to town. Room was great (7) large comfy bed, front of the building but so quiet at night. En suite was good although pressure on the shower could have been better, but it did not detract from the experience.
Breakfast was just perfect - i would highly recommend and will be back when next in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ribs160379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grafton

Property: The Grafton
Address: 1-3 Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grafton 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton is one of Harrogate's most elegant boutique b&b's. Our chic townhouse setting is just a few minutes' walk from the town centre - close to Harrogate International Centre, restaurants and shops, but far enough away to offer peace and tranquility to our guests. With recently modernised rooms and a warm, friendly atmosphere, we provide the perfect blend of style and intimacy. Enjoy luxurious decor, flat-screen television and complimentary high speed wi-fi access - features designed to enhance your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grafton Hotel Harrogate
The Grafton Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing