We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, good value hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Pleasantly surprised, as compared to other hotels in Harrogate, it is not too pricey. It could do with a makeover, but it is clean and in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Chich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,811)
There are newer reviews for The Yorkshire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,649 - 1,655 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed for five nights in April and can sum up our stay in two words..
JUST WONDERFUL. absolutely no negative comments to make..from
parking our car in the private car park in front of the hotel to paying our bill on leaving
this was a truly superb break. Great room, good bed and quiet corridors..we were
amazed at the three star rating..nothing was too much trouble, service was impeccable
and the restaurant was just perfect. We live twenty minutes from the Gleneagles Hotel
and visit often..the YORKSHIRE reminded us so much of there.
Cant recommend this Hotel highly enough..and cant wait to return!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waverley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Ray and the reception team were absolutely excellent in immediately making me feel welcome and at home as well as helping me gain parking - this is central Harrogate and parking is limited or chargeable every two hours at the meter

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynBechelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Liked:
• The location right in the centre of Harrogate – lovely views and almost next door to the world famous Bettys tea rooms.
• Friendly staff
• Grandeur of the Victorian building
• Bathroom was great – shower was fantastic
• Free Wi-Fi
• Free, no-hassle car parking for guests
Disliked:
• The stained carpet in the bedroom
• The furniture in the room I stayed in was very tired and old – had an almost ‘junk shop’ feel to it
• The cracked mirror in the bathroom
• The hole in the floorboards!
• No fridge or mini-bar in the room

Room Tip: Room at the front of the hotel have stunning views
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonbase599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We went to Harrogate on the spur of the moment and went str8 to the Yorkshire hotel booked a room and was made very welcome by Katie on reception. Then we went around the town on Monday looking for a wedding outfit for the wife as our daughter is getting married soon and she was spoilt for choice so over all a great night and day was had by us both. thanks Katie.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oddjobLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We held our wedding ceremony and reception at the Yorkshire Hotel on 16th April 2011.
From the very beginning of our wedding planning, Emma Thompson and ultimately Katie McFerran were fantastic. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Emails were always answered promptly and they always had time to speak to me about all aspects of our day and answer any questions I might have. As our wedding day loomed Katie kindly introduced us to Simon Wilkinson who would oversee the event - he was highly professional and immediately put our minds at ease ! Throughout our big day Simon (and also Chris, Chris and "Neil") were fantastic - discreet, courteous and super-efficient.
The wedding breakfast was gorgeous. We had a child with special dietary requirements who was catered for without question, the vegetarian options were very good (I am vegetarian) and one guest on the day asked if the chef could do her something different as she was newly allergic to the meat in the main course - she was promptly given a tasty alternative.
"Rooftops" is a brilliant venue for a wedding - set at the very top of the hotel you have your very own celebration space with comfortable seating and a bar outside of the main room. We had a number of children at our wedding and we felt safe knowing the venue was enclosed and not open to other hotel guests.
I asked most of our guests if they were happy with their bedrooms and everyone said how lovely they were. Our bridal suite was lovely, clean and spacious.
All in all I cannot recommend enough the Yorkshire Hotel. We were able to enjoy our wedding day knowing we were in safe hands. Every single member of staff we came into contact with from the Receptionists to the bar staff was absolutely professional, friendly, helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble.
Thank you Yorkshire Hotel. You have helped make some wonderful memories !

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feebieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

we have returned to the Yorkshire for a second time. last time we had a lovely spacious room overlooking the front and had got a good deal. this weekend we paid a little more and i booked our friends in for the saturday night too and they paid £110 for room only which wasnt value for money. we changed rooms 3 times as we were initially allocated twin rooms at the rear. one in particuar had black mold all ove the bathroom ceiling. the staff did change our room with no problem and we stayed in room 212 in the centre of the hotel. the plumbing which was the same as i have seen in caravans like saniflow which made a horrendous noise as did all the adjacent rooms. it woke me all through the night which takes some doing as i am a heavy sleeper and it did spoil our stay. the bathroom while large was so dark i had to keep bringing my toilet bag out to the bedroom window to se anything. the soap dispenser fell off in the bath everytime you used it and the towel rail fell off all the time which, this makes you start looking at every detail in the rooms and realising it is a slap dash refurb with lots of corners missed and no attendtion to detail. . i agree with other reviews it was very noisy on the floorboards and as a couple who normally never bother about hotels with pub/nightclub noise etc...and sleep like logs we were disturbed everynight with the plumbing and floorboard noise. the staff were all lovely and it is a perfect location which is definately the hottels main feature. car parking is limited but you are made aware of that in the hotels details and if you are prepared to walk bit there is plenty of parking 10mins walk away. after our last visit we were keen to rebook but i felt embarrased about booking our friends in at such cost and the rooms varying so much in standard. i am not sure i would be so keen to go back now as the plumbing was so bad and if we had one of the unrefurbished rooms it is a gamble i am not sure we would take as there are lots of other central hotels. if the rooms were pulled up to scratch and they didnt book out some of the poor rooms and sort the plumbing out it could be a cracker!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen1587763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
624 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,863 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: £57 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing